We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to Standard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Keegan's Beachside Hotel,Apartments & Cottage
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lower Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall, England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Not up to Standard”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

My wife and I stayed 5 nights in the hotel section and although the owner was very helpful and did his best to rectify the problems with the air conditioning and shower unit. the room which was approximately 16 foot by 12 foot with a six foot high block built wall behind which was a toilet and shower with a curtain to close between the bedroom and toilet. this did not give any privacy so someone had to leave the room when the other wanted to use the toilet. We don't consider this to be acceptable standards in todays market. We paid US$ 100 per night which we also consider to be expensive but other than that Keegans Beach Resort was O.K.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gbysea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    40
    17
    7
    0
See reviews for
11
58
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

First time back since 2008. But was still great, stayed a month, Messenjah looked after us. Glad we brought our own beach chairs from Canada, even tho had to pay $20 as extra baggage on Air Canada, will leave there, ready for next year. Booked already! So relaxing, had books to read on my IPad, wifi all over the island, so great!

Room Tip: Rooms all booked in Feb. rooms upstairs the best, but who wants to spend time in the rooms? When t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tuppence60438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We have just returned to an ice-locked Toronto, from our beloved Bequia, and beloved Keegan's. We have been staying at this little gem for over 20 years, and are part of what I think of as the Keeganites. I know there are many others like us, who have been going to Keegan's regularly for decades - we tend not to meet each other because we go at different times of year. I have posted before about Keegan's, and am happy to reaffirm my love of the place. Everyone makes you feel welcome, and looks after, and out for, you. Other reviews have mentioned many points - yes, the rooms are simple, but clean and very comfortable. It is true that the beach is about 10 metres away, and the sound of the sea is always there. The food is simply and wholesomely cooked, and Kalene's soups are amazing. But what really stands out for me is the gentle rhythm of the place, the rhythm that doesn't quicken despite Messanjah's constant little improvements. Keegan's is going back into a Caribbean of long ago, and please, please, may it never change.

Room Tip: Stay upstair, in Rooms 7, 8 or 9.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Crossroader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from our fourth stay with Messenjah and Kalene. As always everything was perfect and tranquil.
We always try to book apartment 7, it's simply furnished but with everything you need and you couldn't be closer to the waters edge and can fall asleep to the sound of the waves lapping onto the rocks.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank andantrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Keegans is in a super location on one of the best beaches in Bequia - Lower Bay Beach - and about 10 minutes walk from probably the best - Princess Margaret Beach

We stayed in Beach facing room - simple rooms - clean and with air condition. This is not a luxury hotel- but met all our key needs without problems

We slept well - the rooms were kept clean and sheets changed - Breakfast was excellent

I woke up every morning - and walked 15 steps to the beach- unspoilt and empty - beautiful view - warm water gently lapping into classic yellow sand

We went to Saturday night BBQ at Keegans - which was good food - well cooked -

The staff are warm, supportive and friendly - helped us get to other restaurants - to sight seeing - taxis etc

We will go to Bequia again - and would happily stay at Keegans again

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PhilW3101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We used to stay here for a weekend getaway when we were Peace Corps volunteers in St. Vincent. Lovely authentic food if you want it, quiet clean room, relaxing walk to the hotel from the boat, the quietest and most intimate beach. We have been to almost all the Caribbean and Hawaiian islands and this is the place. It's like going to visit family. We're going back May 2014- hope they still have some Don Williams music!! If you can't relax here, forget it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mayandollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed here for many years, have not been back since 2008, but booked for next Feb. and looking foreward to a month back in Paradise. Lower Bay is the best beach, and nice walk into town. Love having breakfast and supper included. Would not let me say Feb. 2008.....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tuppence60438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Bay
2.7 mi away
Sugar Reef Bequia
Sugar Reef Bequia
#2 of 10 in Bequia
174 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bequia Beach Hotel
Bequia Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Friendship
253 reviews
21.8 mi away
Richmond Vale Diving & Hiking Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Frangipani Hotel
Frangipani Hotel
#1 of 1 in Belmont
72 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Old Fort, Boutique Hotel & Estate
1.9 mi away
Spring House Bequia
Spring House Bequia
#1 of 1 in Port Elizabeth
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keegan's Beachside Hotel,Apartments & Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keegan's Beachside Hotel,Apartments & Cottage

Property: Keegan's Beachside Hotel,Apartments & Cottage
Address: Lower Bay Road, Lower Bay, Bequia
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Bequia > Lower Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lower Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Keegan's Beachside Hotel,Apartments & Cottage 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Keegan's on Lower Bay, Bequia, St Vincent and The Grenadines, right by the beach with a choice of Hotel rooms, apartments and a cottage. Situated on beautiful Lower Bay, a near mile long stretch of golden sand lapped by the turquoise waters of the Caribbean Sea. Swim before a leisurely breakfast served on the terrace overlooking the beach and sea. Enjoy our home cooked meals and the hospitality our family has been providing since 1978 in Lower Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Keegan's Beachside Hotel,Apartments & Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keegan`s Beach Hotel Bequia
Keegan's Beachside Hotel,Apartments & Cottage Bequia/Lower Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing