We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over 20 years at Keegan's”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Keegan's Beachside Hotel,Apartments & Cottage
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lower Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We have just returned to an ice-locked Toronto, from our beloved Bequia, and beloved Keegan's. We have been staying at this little gem for over 20 years, and are part of what I think of as the Keeganites. I know there are many others like us, who have been going to Keegan's regularly for decades - we tend not to meet each other because we go at different times of year. I have posted before about Keegan's, and am happy to reaffirm my love of the place. Everyone makes you feel welcome, and looks after, and out for, you. Other reviews have mentioned many points - yes, the rooms are simple, but clean and very comfortable. It is true that the beach is about 10 metres away, and the sound of the sea is always there. The food is simply and wholesomely cooked, and Kalene's soups are amazing. But what really stands out for me is the gentle rhythm of the place, the rhythm that doesn't quicken despite Messanjah's constant little improvements. Keegan's is going back into a Caribbean of long ago, and please, please, may it never change.

Room Tip: Stay upstair, in Rooms 7, 8 or 9.
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
5  Thank Crossroader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 102 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2013

Just returned from our fourth stay with Messenjah and Kalene. As always everything was perfect and tranquil.
We always try to book apartment 7, it's simply furnished but with everything you need and you couldn't be closer to the waters edge and can fall asleep to the sound of the waves lapping onto the rocks.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank andantrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Keegans is in a super location on one of the best beaches in Bequia - Lower Bay Beach - and about 10 minutes walk from probably the best - Princess Margaret Beach

We stayed in Beach facing room - simple rooms - clean and with air condition. This is not a luxury hotel- but met all our key needs without problems

We slept well - the rooms were kept clean and sheets changed - Breakfast was excellent

I woke up every morning - and walked 15 steps to the beach- unspoilt and empty - beautiful view - warm water gently lapping into classic yellow sand

We went to Saturday night BBQ at Keegans - which was good food - well cooked -

The staff are warm, supportive and friendly - helped us get to other restaurants - to sight seeing - taxis etc

We will go to Bequia again - and would happily stay at Keegans again

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PhilW3101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We used to stay here for a weekend getaway when we were Peace Corps volunteers in St. Vincent. Lovely authentic food if you want it, quiet clean room, relaxing walk to the hotel from the boat, the quietest and most intimate beach. We have been to almost all the Caribbean and Hawaiian islands and this is the place. It's like going to visit family. We're going back May 2014- hope they still have some Don Williams music!! If you can't relax here, forget it.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mayandollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed here for many years, have not been back since 2008, but booked for next Feb. and looking foreward to a month back in Paradise. Lower Bay is the best beach, and nice walk into town. Love having breakfast and supper included. Would not let me say Feb. 2008.....

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tuppence60438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

It's more than a stretch to refer to Keegan's as a resort. It's really a two story motel. Our room would be considered small by US standards. The room had a full size refrigerator and a small flat screen tv. The bathroom wall didn't fully extend to the ceiling so if you're sharing a room, be prepared to be intimately acquainted with the other party's bathroom habits.

The best thing about Keegan's is the beach which is located just across the street. It's spectacular. If you walk down the beach to the left, you'll find a couple of restaurants including De Reef. Princess Margaret Beach can be reached in about ten minutes.

Customer service was inconsistent at best. Some of the staff just ignored me when I asked questions while others were a little more informative.

We had breakfast at Keegan's during our stay mainly because nothing else was open. It was remarkably unspectacular.

If your looking to enjoy Bequia and won't be spending much time in your room, this no frills motel provides good value.

Room Tip: You have to specifically request a room with air conditioning which costs extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ccesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

As well as being a Guest House, Keegan's also has a nice bar/restaurant with pleasant staff and a friendly owner (Messenjah - or at least, that's the way it's spelled on his car). We drank there most nights for over 3 weeks and ate there a couple of times. During the winter they do evening meals which include a starter and dessert which is fine if you're hungry but there was too much for us. I preferred the lunch menu which was a bit lighter.

Beware the beer battered fish which, if you're British, is nothing like the battered fish you might be expecting. Think of a fish steak in pancake batter and you won't be far off it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank BrianRelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Bay
0.6 mi away
Bequia Beach Hotel Luxury Boutique Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Sugar Reef Bequia
Sugar Reef Bequia
#2 of 10 in Bequia
182 reviews
1.9 mi away
Spring Hotel Bequia
Spring Hotel Bequia
#1 of 1 in Port Elizabeth
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
#2 of 16 in St. Vincent
166 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bequia Beachfront Villas
Bequia Beachfront Villas
#2 of 2 in Friendship
14 reviews
9.9 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Arnos Vale
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keegan's Beachside Hotel,Apartments & Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keegan's Beachside Hotel,Apartments & Cottage

Address: Lower Bay Road, Lower Bay, Bequia
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Bequia > Lower Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lower Bay
Price Range: $59 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Keegan's Beachside Hotel,Apartments & Cottage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Keegan's on Lower Bay, Bequia, St Vincent and The Grenadines, right by the beach with a choice of Hotel rooms, apartments and a cottage. Situated on beautiful Lower Bay, a near mile long stretch of golden sand lapped by the turquoise waters of the Caribbean Sea. Swim before a leisurely breakfast served on the terrace overlooking the beach and sea. Enjoy our home cooked meals and the hospitality our family has been providing since 1978 in Lower Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Keegan's Beachside Hotel,Apartments & Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keegan`s Beach Hotel Bequia
Keegan's Beachside Hotel,Apartments & Cottage Bequia/Lower Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing