We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad food and bad service and not sure about cleanliness”

Ponderosa Restaurant and Brass Rail
Ranked #13 of 15 Restaurants in Orofino
Restaurant details
Orofino
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bad food and bad service and not sure about cleanliness”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We ate here several times when we first came to town two years ago. We had good hamburgers but otherwise, my husband had prime rib like shoe leather, a sandwich with disgusting sandwich meat and the bread edges were dry and dinner where the drinks were not mixed properly and the servers tried to add to the drink not start fresh and were even more terrible. We have not been back to this restaurant even though we hear that the Sunday brunch is wonderful: however, nothing else is open on Sunday in Orofino!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    13
    17
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Huckleberry Ice Cream”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The desk clerk at the Best Western recommended the huckleberry ice cream at the Ponderosa. YUM!!! The restaurant itself is old-timey and dated. But the ice cream was great (even served in a Styrofoam bowl) and my husband liked the German chocolate cake. We only ate the desserts so I can't comment on anything else on the menu.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Idaho, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Woodgrain, nasty paneling-horrible decor. Food is fried, overcooked, salad? It's iceburg lettuce! My husband got a bit of food poisoning after we went. Food was expensive, ceiling tiles were gross. Avoid at all costs!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sayra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Not friendly, food was costly for the quality (which was poor) . Very dated. Went to sit down at a larger table as there were 8 of us, and was told we had to move as it was reserved for our people, there was no reserved sign on the table, food took a long time to come out of kitchen, there was hardly anyone in the resturant. Very out dated and smelled musty, missing ceiling tiles with dust above eating area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland CA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Eat here when The Edge restaurant is closed on Sunday night”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

On one side is a café and on the other side is a restaurant/bar. The food is good. The place is populated with locals which gives it a nice vibe.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank dunndeals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ponderosa Restaurant and Brass Rail also viewed

 

Been to Ponderosa Restaurant and Brass Rail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing