We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid at all costs”

Ponderosa Restaurant and Brass Rail
Ranked #13 of 15 Restaurants in Orofino
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Lewiston, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Woodgrain, nasty paneling-horrible decor. Food is fried, overcooked, salad? It's iceburg lettuce! My husband got a bit of food poisoning after we went. Food was expensive, ceiling tiles were gross. Avoid at all costs!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sayra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    12
    17
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thornton, Colorado
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Not friendly, food was costly for the quality (which was poor) . Very dated. Went to sit down at a larger table as there were 8 of us, and was told we had to move as it was reserved for our people, there was no reserved sign on the table, food took a long time to come out of kitchen, there was hardly anyone in the resturant. Very out dated and smelled musty, missing ceiling tiles with dust above eating area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Eat here when The Edge restaurant is closed on Sunday night”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

On one side is a café and on the other side is a restaurant/bar. The food is good. The place is populated with locals which gives it a nice vibe.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank dunndeals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“American Diner and Dinner Food”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Have eaten at the Ponderosa 2 times while in town on business.

Dinner
Rib Eye Steak well seasoned, very tender, cooked as orderred, nicely baked potato and decent salad bar with "fresh" crisp vegies. Service was very good

Lunch
Salad Bar with "fresh" crisp vegies and bowl of homemade Potato and Ham Soup - Very Good!
They were training a new young male server at the time and being new, he did make a few service mistakes in addressing me as a customer but he seemed a bit nervous. He was very friendly and just a little shy - He will improve I am sure as he genuinely attempted to make my dining experience enjoyable.

Decore is older and could be updated and lighting improved in restrooms but over all it was clean.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NearAndFarTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McCall, Idaho
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Decent Diner Food, Nice people”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Decent breakfast, fair prices, nothing to write home about, but good walking distance from the motel.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank VandalCoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ponderosa Restaurant and Brass Rail also viewed

 

Been to Ponderosa Restaurant and Brass Rail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing