We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food...but...!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pendle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pendle Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Barley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
blackburn uk
Level Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lovely food...but...!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Arrived at the Pendle Inn after a lovely walk over Pendle hill. We were certainly looking forward to our lunch. I opted for the lamb hotpot and my partner the mushroom stroganoff. The food was lovely and tasty although the portions were minute. It wouldnt have filled my 5 year old. If you want vegetables with your meal you have to pay extra. Never heard of this before with a pub lunch? It wasnt exactly cheap either paying around £10 each. The real ale and coffee were lovely as was the apple pie and custard which i decided on as i was still hungry. The atmosphere and fire were very nice. Probably one of the best menus i have ever seen and im an ex chef....real pity about the portion size which was my only gripe. Otherwise a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leeguapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    33
    11
    3
    5
See reviews for
16
49
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Arrived just as the snow started to fall and headed straight into the pub for a refresher. Wonderful old fashioned proper pub with roaring log fires and very dog friendly. The cottages at the back are perfect for 2 + dog and it's like you're in your own little house (be careful though in room 8 as the fridge if on high actually freezes anything you put in it). Meals both on Friday & Saturday evening were excellent and good choice of wine and beers. The staff are a joy and cannot do enough for you. Woke up to lots and lots of snow and set off walking up through the surrounding fields (Weller our Patterdale Terrier especially enjoyed this) with the intent of going up Pendle HIll, however the snow made it hard going and you couldn't actually see the top of the hill through mist so thought better of it. Back to pub just in time for opening and a well needed coffee. All in all had a truly wonderful time (the snow makes it even better) and we will definately return .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tamtod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Just had a lovely 3 course meal with my family and friends.the food was delicious home cooked and presented beautifully. Our waiter was extremely good and couldn't do enough for us all.i would recommended a visit.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Leemoz71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirton in Lindsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

A lucky find via Wowcher.
Pendle is a bit of the beaten track, along narrow roads, but well worth the trip.
The staff were very polite & friendly. We ate in the large conservatory. The 3 course lunch was very good, chosen from the variety on offer. A range of cask ales were available, so I took my pick as I wasn't driving (a good tip!).
Certainly, this was a trip worth repeating.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BurgmanRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We used a Groupon voucher. Invited the parents. What a lovely stay we had. Great pub with excellent cuisine - one meal included in the deal and enjoyed it so much returned the next night. Relatively dear food but worth it. Excellent cask ale, well kept.
The cottages were small but perfect for our needs. We took our little boy and he slept on the bed settee for small extra cost. Very small and basic kitchenette in lounge and bathroom (not suitable for cooking a full meal). Pendle Hill is in touching distance and we had a great walk up and down. The Pendle Heritage centre is in nearby Roughlee and is well worth a visit and the chap in charge was very friendly and helpful.
All in all, a great stay, but if you want luxury and need space, this might not be for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrowford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Cracking pub, cosy relaxing atmosphere, decent range of reasonably priced local ales and staff are friendly and efficient. We took my 3 year old son and he was welcomed, even by the regulars at the bar. The food in the restaurant I couldn’t fault and I’d go as far as to say it was the best steak I’ve ever eaten and it was well priced and the portions were more than enough. We will re-visit whether to eat or just to have a drink and relax near the open fire. I see from advertisements within that they occasionally offer live entertainment, this we will be sampling.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave_Rebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

We visited on a Friday evening. There was a lovely log fire and the atmosphere was very welcoming.

There was a good variety of food on the menu and a good choice of local beers.

Service was friendly and quick despite the pub being very busy and the food was lovely, well cooked food. Portions were a good size and the prices were reasonable.

We will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRFLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barley
4.9 mi away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Burnley Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
7.9 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Barley Mow
The Barley Mow
#1 of 5 in Burnley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pendle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pendle Inn

Property: The Pendle Inn
Address: bb12 9jx | Burnley, Barley BB12 9JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Barley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Barley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pendle Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Pendle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing