We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shiok for sure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shiok Singapore Restaurant

Shiok Singapore Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Singaporean, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: SHIOK! Treats our guests to an unique dining experience through great tasting food, a clean and beautiful ambience, relaxing music and excellent service. When you stepped into the restaurant, you will be awed by the decor, which is Contemporary yet retaining the Asian Old World Charm. Shiok! Serves authentic Chinese and Singaporean cuisines. Shiok can host your parties here or we can prepare party trays for that special event at home. Please call to make your reservations. Shiok! Is conveniently located 1 mile north of the Mountain Home AFB Main Gate. Shiok! Has numerous promotions in stall for you. Shiok offers daily lunch specials with complimentary soup at $8.50. Have you tried our best selling Bubble Milk Tea and delicious Cheese Rangoons? Not forgeting the Singaporean favorite Seafood Noodle with XO Sauce, Singapore Golden Fried Rice, Char Kway Teow and Laksa Curry Noodle. Please note that we are closed on Thanksgiving Nov 25 and Friday Nov 25.
Yorktown, Virginia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Shiok for sure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

This is the second time we've eaten here and again blown away by the timeliness, quality, and hospitality we experienced. Asian food is a favorite and this menu by far is the best I've ever had. From the heavenly pot stickers to the hearty house fried rice and sensational sesame chicken there simply is nothing but 5-star food to choose from. My advice: Bring at least five friends to order different starters and dishes and make your own buffet! Otherwise it would take a year to enjoy all these fantastic creations!!! I'll be back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SD L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    11
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mountain Home, Idaho
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nothing like we expected”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

This place was recommended by a coworker so we tried it. The atmosphere is hard to describe. Plastic chairs at plastic tables in a cold unfriendly room.
We got the calamari appetizer. It looked great but was so salty it was inedible. The chopped vegetables on the plate we even saltier than the calamari!
We tried the mixed fried rice that the waiter claimed was their best fried rice. It was a huge plate of scrambled eggs with rice thrown in. No flavor, no meat to be found, no vegetables, nothing worth eating or paying $9.95 for.
My husband got half a duck. I ordered a curry hot pot.
The duck was a decent flavor but the way it was cut made it difficult, almost dangerous, to eat. There were bone slivers in every bite so we ate less than a third of it.
The curry hot pot was so hot I had to wait until after my husband finished eating to even begin eating mine. Talk about a disappointing curry! It was flavorless. I love curry and was so disappointed by the lack of flavor in this hot pot. I ate a piece of cabbage and found out why the rest of the curry had no flavor, all of the curry paste/powder was stuck to this one piece of cabbage. It wasn't a spicy curry but a mouthful of it all in one bite was unforgivable.
The food at Shiok is so overpriced it was shocking. $70 for this meal is just outrageous.
The only thing we completely enjoyed was the blooming hot tea. A dried jasmine flower that opens in the hot water as it steeps to create a tea.
We won't go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jepp98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

The food was amazing, service epic, and the food absolutely delicious. It was a tad on the spendy side but well worth it. :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank foodieteamd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenham, TX
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing! Worth the drive!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Mgr of good Sam RV highly recommended it and quoted that everyone he sends there raves a out it. It was about 9 miles, after being on road all day but so worth it. If not leaving today we would return tonight. As good as any Asian restaurant we have dined at in Houston, tx. Robin, the owner, could not be more gracious. Prices very reasonable and large portions.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tecateBrenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic food & service. Super friendly to kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Food is individually prepared and all 6 dishes my party ordered, as well as shared appetizer sampler were excellent. They have toys & books for the children to keep them occupied while waiting. Each employee went the extra mile to ensure we were satisfied with the food and service. Highly recommend!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank USmeanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shiok Singapore Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Shiok Singapore Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing