We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great learning experience!”

National Oregon / California Trail Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The National Oregon/California Trail Center is at the junction of US 89 at 320 North 4th Street. The Trail Center Depicts the 2000-mile trek on the Oregon Trail in "Living History Tours." A wagon master guides visitors through an interactive tour that includes a ride in a simulated covered wagon ride. The rails and trails museum within the center displays artifacts, diaries, relics and pioneer memorabilia of Bear Lake Valley.Living history tours 10-5, May-September or by appointment in groups of 15 or more.
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

I beg to differ with the previous review as I think this Center offered a great learning experience and was well worth the money. If they had listened carefully, they would realize there is no government subsidy and this was truly an effort on the part of local citizens to preserve the heritage of the pioneer era in their area. A wagon master takes you through the thought process of the early settlers in deciding to head out across the west to Oregon and all that was involved in preparing their wagons for the arduous journey. You actually sit in a wagon replica and get jostled as though on the trail. Great experience and we have a much better appreciation of all these early settlers went through.

2  Thank 2seniorcitizens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luv2TravelOften1, Public Relations Manager at National Oregon / California Trail Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you for the kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 154 of 198 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

My family and I went to see this museum a bit ago and WOW these people know NOTHING about the Oregon trail. I have NEVER been to a worse Oregon trail museum anywhere. No other Oregon trail museum even compares to how pathetic this one is. There was NOTHING about the most famous Oregon trail guides, nothing about the most famous Oregon trail pioneers, nothing about the hardships they faced. The only thing they knew was how much it cost. This is a TOTAL waste of federal dollars. And then you only got to HALF the trip at best. They wanted to make this stop out as some great thing. Big WOOP. They stopped for supplies. AND........ In addition to that they wanted everyone to think all the Oregon trail pioneers came from Missouri. Dumbest bunch of idiots ever. Not worth a penny. They know nothing! Complete waste of time and money. WOW.

Thank red2ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luv2TravelOften1, Public Relations Manager at National Oregon / California Trail Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

We are so sorry you feel you had a bad experience. Your catastrophic review is the first of its kind and something we take seriously so we will consider your suggestions to see if there is some validity that we can take to heart. Your review is not indicative of thousands upon thousands of patrons since 1997 who have thoroughly enjoyed their experience with us.

As you can see, even on TripAdvisor we are almost unanimously decreed to be a success. The other two negative comments came at a time when we were closed for the season.

We would also like to let you know that we are a community non-profit organizations with no connection to the federal government. We depend on donations and grants from many people, foundations and some government grants. The actors are local citizens that bring their love of history and family to the Oregon Trail Center living history experience.

If you would like to provide some positive feedback with details, please feel free to contact our Executive Director Becky Smith at (208) 847-3800. Again, we are sorry you feel this way and hope this opportunity to provide suggestions will help us understand your concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

While on a Tauck Tour covering the National Parks, Grand Tetons and Salt Lake City, we stopped for lunch at the Trail Center. We were treated to a performance of how the pioneers struggled on their trip to the West for free land. The adorable "actors" walked us thru the hardships of their journey with great scenery and sets. We were then treated to an outstanding lunch consisting of delicious meat, potatoes and veggies....and yummy dessert. The best part is that we ate in covered wagons. The people (and teens and a 9 y/o) couldn't have been nicer. The bathrooms were very well maintained. If you're in the area, it's a don't miss.

Thank keneri1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luv2TravelOften1, Public Relations Manager at National Oregon / California Trail Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Glad you enjoyed your time spent with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The informative guided tour takes you through 4 segments of travel on the Oregon Trail, including a simulated wagon ride. The center is built over an original Oregon Trail campsite. You will be walking on a dirt floor that was part of the trail. We have been to several historic sites along the Oregon Trail, and this is the best interpretive center we have seen. We highly recommend your taking an hour to visit this site.

Thank Anita729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luv2TravelOften1, Public Relations Manager at National Oregon / California Trail Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you for coming to visit us! We appreciate your supportive comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Center was easy to find with plenty of free parking. The concept of being part of a wagon train and talking with pioneers was unique and fun. The time went by very quickly. Everything was wheelchair accessible. Kids in our "wagon train" loved it.

1  Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Oregon / California Trail Center also viewed

Been to National Oregon / California Trail Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing