We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent breakfast here, if you don't mind the wait.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Steve's Cafe

Steve's Cafe
Ranked #9 of 226 Restaurants in Meridian
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Meridian, Idaho
Level Contributor
75 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast here, if you don't mind the wait.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is the second time I've been here and both times we both had a very good meal here. Yesterday I had scrambled eggs with hash browns, while my wife had the shrimp and cheese omelette, and both meals were excellent with fairly good sized portions. It's just that we had to wait for almost 40 minutes for the meal when there wasn't that many people there. It shouldn't take that long for the cooks to cook a meal; I've gone to restaurants before whereby it only took about 10 minutes to cook a meal when there wasn't very many people there. The cooks here are doing a good job in preparing a meal, they just need to learn to cook something a little faster or they won't have customers coming back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nativeidahoan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    32
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wouldn't recommend for breakfast anyway”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Food was not good at all and the price was a bit high for breakfast.....and especially for a poor one! I've only eaten here once, but won't bother again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank hd_ride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldwell, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great service, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We went to Steve's for breakfast for the second time. They were very busy but the food and service were still great. Even though we were sitting in the middle of the room, we didn't feel out in the open. I had scrambled eggs with their homemade sausage, mushrooms, and spinach. It was perfect portion of eggs to sausage to mushrooms. My husband had biscuits and gravy and said they were perfect. As busy as they were we didn't feel rushed or ignored which can happen in some places. we will be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spoons1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Consistent food and service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We have been going to Steve's for breakfast since they opened. What a great addition to this little community. The food is always delicious and of high quality. Elk and Buffalo steaks or patties for breakfast? Yep! Huckleberry stuffed French toast..yep again. They are creative in the menu choices which is nice. The prices are a little higher than an average breakfast place, but the quality is what you pay for and they don't seem to skimp. The service is wonderful and ALWAYS friendly. Apparently no grumps allowed. Love Steve's and look forward to breakfast here again soon.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marione M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
66 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“too long a wait for average breakfast food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Recently went there with friends. Reminded me of a cafeteria. Average prices and decent hot food. Just don't get why it is so popular.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Steve's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing