We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Milkshakes Magnific!”
Review of My Father's Place

My Father's Place
Ranked #2 of 63 Restaurants in McCall
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Takeout
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Milkshakes Magnific!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great location right off main drag! They mixed two flavors together to make a magnificent milkshake!! very creamy! There is always a line, but that's the nature of a very popular 'order-at-the-counter' type of eatery! The line goes fast and the food is worth it! We were there for 4th of July weekend and the line was huge, but oddly enough there were plenty of tables inside and out to choose from. I'm glad we stopped here!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GreyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    75
    20
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sirmione, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Late Night Snack”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

After a concert this appeared to be the only non-bar establishment open for a post-concert meal. The strawberry-lemonade is wonderful and the food was great (for a burger joint)! The place is very busy on Saturday nights, but worth the wait if you are hungry.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chitarrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Habra, California
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Top notch hamburgers, secret sauce, and shakes...but there is ALWAYS a line”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My Fathers Place is a family tradition every time we visit McCall, ID. Hamburgers are top notch with secret sauce and many flavorful options...adding bacon is a favorite of ours.

The shakes are delicious - with many flavor options. REMEMBER, if are coming just for the shakes then use the side window to order "Fountain Only" to avoid the long line that never ends...doesnt matter what time it is.

The only reason I give this place a 4 stars is due to service. The line to order is always 8+ deep and with 1 person taking orders it is bad customer service. On the positive the food delivered very shortly after we ordered.

The kids meal is a great value with ice cream cone included for the kids and toy.

We will be back and recommend others to try it as well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ALinCA5512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“fabulous burgers & shakes!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The entire family enjoyed our meal at My Father's Place. The burgers were excellent, as were the onion rings! Our family favorite were the homemade shakes! SO good. We tried oreo & mint chip, and both were fabulous! We also loved the wood stove in the eating area, it made for a nice cozy meal. There is very limited seating here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Family0fTravelers_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Don't miss this McCall tradition”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Fast food is fast food, but This burger stop is different! When we have visitors in Boise we drive to McCall for the mountain beauty and we insist on lunch at My Fathers Place, and it is memorable for everyone ALWAYS. My 100 year old dad still talks about the strawberry shake they made Just for him!!!! This place has been in the family for generations and the family is still behind the scenes, making the burgers and serving them with a smile. Thank you Colette and Tabatha for your wonderful smiles and delicious grass fed local beef burgers and fluffy buns that taste like you just took them out of the oven. It is hard not to get the famous nut burger. It too is fabulous. Try the yummy shakes and leave happy!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Funtraveller62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to My Father's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing