We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic sushi - Great beer.”
Review of The Sushi Bar

The Sushi Bar
Ranked #8 of 63 Restaurants in McCall
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Vietnamese
Description: At The Sushi Bar, our primary focus is on your overall dining experience. Along with our comfortable dining room with a lake view, we've paired our vast experience in sushi with other asian specialties such as Snake River Farms Kobe Beef soba noodle bowls, Korean BBQ and Vietnamese Pho Soup. To highlight your meal, try it with any of our rotating selection of microbrews, McCall's largest. Or ask our Certified Sake Professional to pair your meal with a sake, we have the largest list in Idaho. And be guilt-free in dining because we have been verified by the Green Restaurant Association as the Greenest Sushi Bar in the country.
Restaurant details
Description: At The Sushi Bar, our primary focus is on your overall dining experience. Along with our comfortable dining room with a lake view, we've paired our vast experience in sushi with other asian specialties such as Snake River Farms Kobe Beef soba noodle bowls, Korean BBQ and Vietnamese Pho Soup. To highlight your meal, try it with any of our rotating selection of microbrews, McCall's largest. Or ask our Certified Sake Professional to pair your meal with a sake, we have the largest list in Idaho. And be guilt-free in dining because we have been verified by the Green Restaurant Association as the Greenest Sushi Bar in the country.
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
144 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Fantastic sushi - Great beer.”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Went there with family and friends. Even though it was early there was a short wait but there was room at the bar. The beer selection was extensive. The sushi came promptly and was wonderful. What more can you ask from a restaurant...great view, excellent food, top flight service, and an outstanding beer selection.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hayduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    26
    6
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Donnelly, Idaho
Level Contributor
78 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Sushi is Long Valley, this is where you go.”
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Located in a spot with a great lake view. This not so hidden treasure is well worth seeking out. Great menu - excellent spirits - all rolled into great sushi.

Helpful?
Thank DillonPayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Already planning our next trip”
Reviewed November 18, 2011

If you're in McCall you can't miss this place. So warm and inviting. It has a whole wall of windows overlooking the beautiful lake. The food is always fresh. Amazing sushi with a beautiful presentation. My new favorite is the Pho. It's prefect for a cool mountain night. They have a great beer menu. Always something new and so many choices. Family friendly. My kids always have to get the unari pockets and ask when we get to go back the second we leave. There really is something for everyone. I was just reading through their website for this review and saw that they are "the greenest sushi bar in the country." It's always nice to support those who go above and beyond for our planet.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EricH688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLR
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Overpriced and Horrible Service”
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Overpriced and Horrible Service. That says it all. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank blr86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SushiMcCall, Owner at The Sushi Bar, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Hello blr86. We have reached out to you personally and have never heard back from you. We are quite puzzled by your "review." It is very vague. We wish you would let us know what exactly made your experience so "horrible." Are you sure you came to our restaurant? As far as being overpriced; we are known for having very reasonable prices (we even have items for $1.) We stand by the quality of our food and our fair prices, most of our other reviews back this up. If you wish, please contact us at sushi bar mccall at gmail dot com so that we can discuss this further. Given that you signed up to review only two establishments, one raving and ours quite defamatory, which is suspect, we doubt this will happen. We hope you prove us wrong.
Sincerely,
The Sushi Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Surprisingly good sushi. Great location, walking distance from downtown McCall. Very "green" in their efforts. Small fun bar and great outdoor seating facing Lake McCall. Highly recommend this one if you like Japanese food!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PGA4651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sushi Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing