We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“When the Snow's Good, Can't be Beat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brundage Mountain

Brundage Mountain
Ranked #3 of 21 things to do in McCall
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located high in the mountains of Central Idaho, Brundage Mountain is best known for its powder-packed glades and luxuriously wide groomed runs. Blessed with over 320 inches of snowfall annually, Brundage has an undisputed reputation for the Best Snow in Idaho™. 1,500 acres of terrain and 1,800 feet of vertical make Brundage Mountain a mid-sized resort that 'skis big'.
Nampa, Idaho
Level Contributor
127 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“When the Snow's Good, Can't be Beat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We caught a couple of powder days, kept us smiling for two days! But what's up in the lodge? The third level food service was closed on two BIG CROWD days. The only place to get any food was the bar $6 for a little thing of fries? Shame on you! Darned good thing the beer was cold and waitresses were pretty.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    25
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McCall, Idaho
Level Contributor
95 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“ski hill”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

brundage has always claimed to be a "family mountain" with the "best snow in idaho" which is all fine and dandy. they have fine, wide, well groomed runs. the pub faire is better now than it has been. the restaurant is ok, always has been. the septic system could use an upgrade, on a warm day the lower lot can be a bit smelly. the lift tickets are too expensive for what the hill has to offer, at least for us, and the staff doesn't particularly make up for the cost.
it is still fun to go ski there, but we don't expect the same smiling faces and affordable weekend visits we used to enjoy.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank lostintheamazon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not much snow but a great resort regardless”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We spent 2 days here earlier this week and I've got no hesitation saying this is a great resort. I know there's no snow but despite this I'd recommend this mountain. Why, even in the car park other guests say hi and wish you a good day, the mountain staff are all very helpful and friendly, unfortunately only groomers were available but these were well groomed and a great consistent pitch. We'll definitely be back for more as we could easily see this mountain would have some great glade skiing if only there was more snow

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Weekends_away_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Family Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Brundage Mountain's primary attraction is its proximity to Boise. I wouldn't get on a plane to ski there, but the snow is almost always substantially better than the other local getaways Bogus Basin and Tamarack.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sisters, Oregon
Level Contributor
74 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Snow lacking but runs were still fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Last year we spent a few days skiing a Schweitzer near Sandpoint, Idaho. We decided to give Brundage Mountain a try this year in celebration of the Christmas holidays and my husband's birthday. We really appreciated the mountain's close location to McCall, Idaho. It was an easy, quick commute to the mountain in our own car. There was only about 20 inches of snow at the base and 3 feet at the summit. The mountain staff had done a good job of grooming to manage the small amount of snow that was being enjoyed by so many people on December 27th. There was a sizable line for the main lift by the lodge, so we headed to Lakeview chair on the town side of the mountain. The lines were short, but the chairs were slow. A long ride on the chair gave us time to rest as we were not yet in good shape for ski season! There are no long runs, but what is offered overall provides interest and fun to medium level skiiers. The ticket pricing was appropriate for the mountain amenities. I just wish that the toilets were located on the first floor of the lodge, not the second! We'd planned to ski for 2 days but didn't feel there was enough snow to justify the expense. We plan to return some day when there's lots of snow on the mountain.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank pancakeprincess1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brundage Mountain also viewed

 

Been to Brundage Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing