We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy restraunt with excellent service and amazing dining experience”
Review of Narrows

Narrows
Reserve with OpenTable
Narrows is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 63 Restaurants in McCall
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Narrows offers fine dining with unrivaled Pacific-Northwest fare served in an unforgettable setting.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Classy restraunt with excellent service and amazing dining experience”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We've stayed at Shore Lodge for over fifteen years, and considered it one of the nicest hotel's, and resort in the state of Idaho. The dining experience provided at the narrows grill, not only has an amazing panoramic view of Payette lake, but also features an elaborate menu with many dishes that will not disapoint. I am shocked to see a few negative reviews of one of McCall's finest restraunts. The food, service and stunning view at The Narrow's is worth every dime.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    19
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
117 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Chain Food Quality With Nosebleed HighPricing”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We've been visiting the Shore Lodge since the first Whitetail days for about 20 years. The lodge itself is one of our favorite places in the U.S. and as innkeepers they do very well.

We've never had a great meal there under any ownership, plenty of average meals, and a few that were terrible, like ours last week. To their credit they took everything off the bill.

I ordered the "fresh" Alaskan Halibut for $28, and my wife had a salad for $8. I'd expect to pay up to the $28 in a fine dining place elsewhere IF it was truly fresh (it wasn't) and IF it was truly Alaskan which either it wasn't or the gross overcooking masked any flavor and texture the fish once had. My wife's salad was wilted. Both dishes were inedible.

The server dropped off the plates and never came back. We had to wait for the bussers to come to tell them the food was unacceptable. No argument, but a waste of time.

We usually go to The Mill in McCall. I don't know if it's reviewed here but it's a very good local steakhouse with decent prices and very good service. Embrace the Shore Lodge for a stay but avoid anything other than a basic breakfast for dining.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LCnSac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great views and good food but the worst customer service I have ever had at fine dining.”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had a table of seven and it took our waitress, Odessa, almost 15 mins to come to our table. She was incredibly rude throughout the meal, could not crack a smile to save her life and huffed and threw a fit when we asked her to remove the gratuity she had put on our checks. At one point, the experience was just surreal with five staff doting on the two other tables while we were essentially ignored. With customer service like that, no wonder the restaurant was nearly empty.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jbiery72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan S, General Manager at Narrows, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Hi there –

We are disappointed to hear about your experience and appreciate you bringing it to our attention. We will address this with the team in order to prevent this type of disservice to our future guests. Your experience was an exception to our normally excellent service and we hope you’ll visit again and give us the opportunity to show you that we can do much better.

Thanks,
Dan Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great appetizers”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Enjoyed the bar and appetizers. Great views of the lake and excellent service. One could eat dinner here with just the appetizers. Can also order from the Lake Grill restaurant.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sadec1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Idaho
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dining experience Oct. 26, 2012”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

With out of town guests from Michigan, we were looking for a special dining experience. We were not disappointed! The fresh seafood appetizers were excellent and surpassed many restaurants on the Coast, they offered a great wine selection including wines made in Idaho, and the beef dishes were cooked to perfection!! The service was attentive and unobtrusive. It was one of our best dining experiences, and our guests were so pleasantly surprised! When spending money on a nice dinner out, this went beyond our expectations! Shauna Shaltry, Eagle, Idaho

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shauna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Narrows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing