We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Effie's Burger is a must when you visit the LC Valley”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Effie's Tavern

Effie's Tavern
Ranked #7 of 104 Restaurants in Lewiston
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Effie's is a Lewiston icon for burgers and has been there for decades. Has to be on the list.
Lewiston, Idaho
Level Contributor
156 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Effie's Burger is a must when you visit the LC Valley”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Effie's is a must to get a huge burger and it's good too. The building looks tacky but only adds to the fun of Lewiston, Idaho. 1 burger is great to split but big guys get one for themselves. Small place and can be crowded. Have fun

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank retiredinidaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    31
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“More than a mouthful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

This is a must when in Lewiston... "hole-in-the-wall" grill serving a 1 lb burger with all the trimmings... the damn thing was good too... you have to experience it

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank philip h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great burger!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

The Effie Burger was a full 1-lb, shared between my wife & I. Very tasty. The tavern is casual & comfortable. Service was a tad slow but understandable as the place was crowded.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim2430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
111 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Wow that is a big burger...and it was tastey!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

We cautiously took advice from a travel book and stopped in at Effie's last weekend. We are so glad we did! We are also very glad we shared the burger because a one pound burger with bun is HUGE. Oh and when they say a single serving of french fries this is not a small portion. It was enough for the both of us.

Our waitress was great! She was very helpful and kept checking to see if we needed anything else. I have to say that we had not expectations of good service and we were surprised at what we received.

If you are in the area I would check it out.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielleDurham_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grande, Oregon
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Biggest Burgers I ever saw!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We were in Lewiston August 7th & 8th visiting our kids. We had eaten out the night before, so I suggested we have hamburgers or sandwiches. Our daughter said she could place an order at Effie's a little before she got off work and pick up the food on the way home. This is what we did. Biggest burgers I ever saw! Two of these would feed and family of four with more than enough. I don't know just what all was on these burgers, but they were super good! I can't say what the restaurant was like, because I didn't see it, but from other reviews it sounds like my kind of place. I can say the hamburgers were very, very good. Next time we visit Lewiston, I'm going to suggest we either eat there or get take home again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Arby-205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Effie's Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Effie's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing