We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Review Highlights
Once in a Lifetime Experience!

This once in a lifetime experience rafting the Tatshenshini/Alsek Rivers was phenomenal! The guides... read more

Reviewed January 22, 2024
Sharon A
Sign up and think about it later

I have guided and enjoyed the Idaho outdoors for 50 years. There is no better Western outfitter... read more

Reviewed January 9, 2024
362buckd
Read all 205 reviews
  
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveler rating
203
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
203
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main salmon middle fork of the salmon open fire lower salmon grand canyon pineapple upside down cake food was amazing day trip excellent cooks incredible experience share their knowledge trip leader tents and sleeping bags late june every meal gourmet food fajitas
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
181 - 186 of 205 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2020

Middle Fork of the Salmon was amazing! This is the 3rd trip I have done on the Salmon in three years with three different outfitters and this team with Seth as trip leader and and the rest of the incredible crew simply put...was Extra-Ordinary! All outfitters these days seem to provide great meals and take care of details well. WRO brought soul and experience to the trip. They provided a true Wilderness experience and the chill vibe in the way they conducted the trip permeated our entire group ages of 11 - 50. Thats not easy, this was Awesome!

Date of experience: July 2020
Thank 410eddied
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 7, 2020

Take care of you, that's what the guides at WRO do (and enjoy doing!). If you're looking for an off-the-grid adventure that includes sweeping sandy beaches, wildlife, sun (lots of sun) and delicious eats, a multi-day trip down the Lower Salmon River with Wilderness River Outfitters has it all.

The crew (shout-out to Seth, Dove, Tessa and Matthew) have the entire experience dialed. They expertly balance the thrill of running rapids with safety and will gladly cater the experience to your level of thrill-seeking. From rafts to duckies to SUPs, you can customize your on-water experience. At night, pitch your tent and relax, as the river runners turn into camp chef masters. From salmon to fajitas, pork chops to made-to-order steaks, every meal is delicious and every dinner is capped with a dutch oven delicacy (think chocolate chip cookies, upside down pineapple cake, brownies...).

On top of everything, the guides have a great mix of personalities, from stoytellers to jokesters, amateur historians to geologists, their individual backgrounds makes the entire experience that more unique.

WRO has been taking people down rivers for more than 40 years. To say river running and the guest experience is in their genes isn't even hyperbole! Book a trip with them, you won't be disappointed.

Date of experience: August 2020
Thank Ashley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 6, 2020

This was hands down one of the best guided adventures we’ve done. Seth and his crew have all the right equipment for everything. Food is delicious. Campsites amazing and the guides skilled, professional and fun to be around. They took extra safety precautions with food handling and social distancing because they are the best at what they do.

Don’t hesitate to bring your whole family on the Lower Canyon Salmon Trip it’s perfect for all ages.

We will be back ever year! ❤️

Date of experience: August 2020
1  Thank supkentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 3, 2020

Incredible group of guides! Best outfitter we have used. Seth set our famliy with a trip down the middle fork of the salmon and then set up us with a horseback pack trip in to the middle fork of the flathead in Montana. Great service and professionalism.

Date of experience: July 2020
Thank hokeecoyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 31, 2020

I loved the last day of paddling with the guide from Steamboat (his name escapes me...senior moment!).....his guiding was spot on through some pretty big rapids and I felt safe, excited, and part of a paddling team. It was super fun and beautiful too. Also, I loved the food and the attention to quality and detail the guides provided with the meals. I'm so used to helping out on river trips with meals, but with Covid, there was none of that and maybe they don't allow it anyways, but it helped me relax and enjoy the campsite and scenery after a day of paddling.......I loved that on WRO river trips, the guides cook most of their meals over an open wood fire, and that they used a lot of fresh produce from their garden in Salmon.....again, amazing food all the way around! I would make sure to bring clothing that keeps you warm if you get wet, because you will get wet! Top notch river company and very accommodating to our group.

Date of experience: July 2020
Thank alicerJ3965SJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews