We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where the locals go”
Review of Chuckwagon Cafe

Chuckwagon Cafe
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Layton, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Where the locals go”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We ate breakfast here and it was very good. The portions were healthy and the food was good and the prices were reasonable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank dknighto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    99
    38
    16
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised at the taste, value, and portions!”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We ate both lunch and dinner here and were amazed at the size of the entrees. We split at both meals and still couldn't eat it all. The fried cod was excellent and what a great value! Be sure to save room for the homemade pie, or at least take a slice with you.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank sleepy2l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food in Lava”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We had a great lunch at the Chuckwagon. We had sandwiches (pulled pork, Avocado Burger, and Cordon Bleu) all were tasty, fresh, and cooked well. The home cut fries were a delight. Service was great even though the restaurant was busy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wfredflw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Valley, Ca
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good menu”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We enjoyed our dinner here. Had a good menu, good prices. Cute westernish decor. Located on the main drag.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroleires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stansbury park, utah
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
“Homestyle”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

A very average place with generous helpings that just don't quite hit the mark. We went there for lunch and breakfast with anywhere from 8 to 20 people. They did well handling the large groups. Lava just doesn't have any restaurants that score high, Chuckwagon is better choice.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kingofsling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chuckwagon Cafe also viewed

 
Lava Hot Springs, ID
 
Lava Hot Springs, ID
 

Been to Chuckwagon Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing