We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay Great Location”
Review of Aura Soma Lava

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aura Soma Lava
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Lava Hot Springs is just a fun little village and the Aura Soma is a special treat. The property has several different accommodations from single rooms to a spacious conference center with sleeping accommodations. We spent one night in Unit #12 which includes a Jacuzzi tub and one night in what is called the cottage. Very nice king size bed in bedroom, separate day bed with trundle in the living room. Full Bath and full kitchen. All freshly painted and nicely decorated with a rustic deck overlooking a 2 acre lawn backed by huge trees. Deck includes private hot tub. Not far from the cottage is a warm water pool exclusively for guests. Really great first thing in the morning. You may have it all to yourself. All the staff were efficient, friendly and very helpful. Save 10% by booking directly with Aura Soma. There is even a grass and rock labyrinth to walk and meditate. The Aura Soma is a three block walk from the State operated hot springs. These hot springs pools very in temperature with the hottest being beyond my comfort zone. However the others are comfortable and there is absolutely no typical hot spring smell. We have already booked our next stay.

Room Tip: Some rooms are on the main street. Good for people watching but not sure about how quiet. You migh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelee H, Guest Relations Manager at Aura Soma Lava, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank you for your review! We always appreciate the feedback!
We are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us, and in our facilities.
We will see you soon, thanks for booking with us again!
Tim F - Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 262 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

Aura Soma Lava is a very pleasant surprise for us. The cottage we stayed in is very idyllic. It has everything a road traveller can wish for. For my husband and I, the cleanliness of the bathroom is very important - Aura gets 5 stars, even its toiletries are organic!! It is very comforting to see families - young families - in the other cottages. The young ones can bike all around its premises. What surprised me is that it has a labyrinth in its grounds. Another good way to shake off the tiredness from a long journey. And it also helps that it is just a walking distance from the big hot springs, which closes at 11 pm. But for us, the biggest bonus is being able to chat for awhile with the owner, Evelee, who radiates wisdom, serenity and peace. In our journey, we meet people that do leave a mark in our hearts. We are indeed thankful to find this place.

Room Tip: If you can, stay in one of the cottages,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmystique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelee H, Guest Relations Manager at Aura Soma Lava, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thanks for the great review.
The cottage is one of our favorite properties, the location and the size make it ideal for a small family or a couple to get away.
Here at ASL we try to provide a relaxing atmosphere, through the labyrinth and the healing waters of out natural hot springs pool.
We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you again in the future!

Tim F. - Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at Aura Soma Lava two nights following the 4th of July, and even though the town of Lava Hot Springs was full of wild partiers, our stay was very quiet and pleasant. The location is just a couple of blocks from the State Lava Hot Springs facility, so the walk back and forth is short...but frankly you may not even go. Aura has a hot water fed swimming pool that is quiet, secluded and very nice. There had been a mix-up with the booking service we used, but Aura made it all good and were more than fair with us in our accommodations. On the second night we were moved to the Cottage, and it was great, with a full kitchen and beds for three or four people. It also had its own little hot springs-fed hot tub. I feel very safe in recommending it for your travels.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelee H, Guest Relations Manager at Aura Soma Lava, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thank you for the review!
Our location is very important to us, and we're happy that you enjoyed it!
The ASL team is always happy to make accommodations to make your stay more convenient.
We hope to see you again soon!

Thanks again,
Tim F - Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed one night in The Chalet with a large group and we all slept comfortably! There are five large beds to sleep in and three bathrooms. The house really has that small town vibe and it is right off Main Street, a PERFECT LOCATION for floating the river, going to the pool and hot springs and right by the restaurants and shops! There is a BBQ and nicely shaded front yard with picnic tables - a great place to hang out with everyone and cook dinner at the same time! We arrived in lava at noon and check in wasn't until three but we walked over to the office (two blocks or so from house) to let them know that we were here and they let us check in EARLY, FREE of charge! All the linens were clean and there were plenty of towels for our large group. The kitchen had every thing you needed to cook a meal and the grocery store is a block away! Large house, and was great for a weekend getaway!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evyclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelee H, Guest Relations Manager at Aura Soma Lava, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thanks for the review!
We're always happy to hear feedback from our guests.
We take great pride in the location of our Vacation Rental homes, and we're so happy that it worked out for you!
Come back and stay with us again sometime!

Tim F. Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

I love this place. It is a charming spot w its own pool and tubs in a funky hot springs town that brings in all different kinds of people. But we rented one of the houses and it reeked of intense chemical fragrance. We searched and found one of those "air fresheners" that are so toxic. Bummer.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My wife and I wanted a quick close getaway to camp and Lava Hot Springs was our destination. We wanted full hookups, convenient location, close walking distance to most everything. Aura Soma Lava came thru on everything. They are located in the heart of Lava and minutes walking distance to everything Lava has to offer. Our hostess was very friendly and helpful when we checked in. She told us about the zip line that she would reserve for us and gave me directions to the local golf course which I played 9 holes. Their maintenance guy was also helpful at check-in as our trailer was a little to long for the site they had reserved for us. He called our hostess and they put us into a spot that fit our trailer perfectly. The bonus for us was Aura Soma Lava had their own hot springs pool surrounded by trees, next to the river, and also surrounded by a big beautiful grassy area. The downsides to this property is they only have four RV spots (book early) and they advertise cable TV which was not very good reception. But who goes camping at Lava to watch cable TV anyway. Great time and a great get-away for us. We didn't see any of the hotel rooms but we like our camping so much that we reserved another weekend later this summer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jazzman32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelee H, Guest Relations Manager at Aura Soma Lava, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thanks for the great review!
The ASL team greatly appreciates your feedback.
We apologize for the bad cable reception, and will be working on that as soon as we can. We are definitely looking forward to your next stay with us this summer.
Let us know if there is anything we can do for you.
Thanks again,
Tim F - Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I have stayed at a few places in Lava Hot Springs, and the Aura Soma is one of my favorites. I love that they have bathtubs in their rooms, and full kitchens. Some of their kitchens only have one pan (which is, obviously, hard to cook with if more than 1 person), but have had not others problems.
If you are looking to stay at a Hilton, this isn't the place, nor should you be in Lava Hot Springs (unless you find a house to rent).
I would recommend staying here to anyone asking.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimharding1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lava Hot Springs
0.1 mi away
Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs
Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs
#1 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
407 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa
Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa
#3 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
198 reviews
20.2 mi away
Cobblestone Inn & Suites - Soda Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lava Hot Springs Inn
Lava Hot Springs Inn
#7 of 7 in Lava Hot Springs
216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lava Spa Motel & RV Park
Lava Spa Motel & RV Park
#5 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
75 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lions Gate Manor
Lions Gate Manor
#2 of 7 in Lava Hot Springs
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aura Soma Lava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aura Soma Lava

Address: 196 E Main Street, Lava Hot Springs, ID 83246
Location: United States > Idaho > Lava Hot Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Lava Hot Springs
Price Range: $97 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aura Soma Lava 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your comfort, our desire. Newly appointed rooms. Hot Spring Mineral Pool on Riverfront. Spa rooms. Five vacation rental homes, two with private hot spring soaking tubs. Central city location, private south facing deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Aura Soma Lava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aura Soma Lava Hotel Lava Hot Springs
Aura Soma Lava Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing