We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OVERFLOW IS HORRID. DO NOT STAY.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lava Hot Springs Inn
Romeo, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“OVERFLOW IS HORRID. DO NOT STAY.”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

When staying at Lava Hot Springs be warned, the Lava Hot Springs Inn is a mixed hotel. The main inn part is alright and decent but the overflow hotel the "Aladdin" is a travelers worst nightmare. We were unlucky and stayed at the separate building the Aladdin, that was the worst hotel room we stayed in for a long time and was extremely over priced. We got no sleep, the room smelled, a train line ran near the hotel, the room was a total dump.

The pools are so so, yes they're hot springs water and healing...But the place is slightly run down and the pools at times can be crowded and at night some people tend to get drunk and rowdy.

The staff is very nice and friendly however.

Overall: If you stay here, make sure you get a nice room in the main building. DO NOT stay in the overflow buildings as they are total dumps. Also do not pay more than $60 a night or you will feel disappointed with the quality of the hotel.

Room Tip: DO NOT stay in the overflow building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AXTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    50
    16
    29
    59
See reviews for
52
90
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stumbled on this place after noticing the name of the town on the map as we drove toward Pocatello, and really enjoyed our night there. The room (with private bathroom) was quaint and comfortable. There are a series of clean hot pools ranging in temperature from the unbearable to comfortable, offering everybody their choice. Friendly staff, relaxing experience!

Room Tip: Take one of the rooms with private bath. The additional cost is worth it.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

This is a great place to stay. Friendly staff, comfy rooms, fresh air and quiet. The Inn has the best atmoshere. I will come back again and stay here. Thankyou Lava hot springs Inn for a great vacation.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lavabasset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2012

me and my wife have come here 3 years in a row now and love it every year the first time we walked in and thought what the eff. Rooms with just a bed dresser and a few end tables, community bathrooms across the hall amd a homemade breakfast but our friends had rooms to so we decided to stay and two days later didnt want to leave

If your a prude looking for 5 stars go somewhere else but if you want a unique experience this is the place

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kodybreakssht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Not only did it STINK and the beds sunken and unsanitary, the pools where open to the public with kids doing cannon balls from one pool to another. There is nothing relaxing about the Inn and I toured all of their delapitated rooms available hoping to see somehting better than the one i had reserved.

DONT MAKE RESERVATIONS- the cancellation policy which involves 48 or 72 hours notice or a 50% charge....so if you call and reserve the night before you are S.O.L. as soon as the request is out of your mouth, they are charging you, period. The only helpful staff member was the lady washing sheets! I only got the excuses from management, if you can call them that, when questioned about the cancellation policy, room and pool cleaning. The maid should be promotted to head of customer service, oops, they have to have customer service first, my bad.

As for their prices - it is soooo over priced. It is nothing but a sick joke on the unaware tourist!

If you want to truly relax and not have the feeling of bugs crawling all over you while you sleep GO TO THE THE ALPCA INN - they saved me from one of the worse mistakes I ever made when I made reservations at Lava Springs Inn!

There is one positive thingIi can say and that is the lady who did my massage, Gretchin, she is wondonderful!


PS - I PAID TO LEAVE and go stay somewhere else and came back for the massage the next day and it was worth the money to get away from the inn and the staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FritzandGiggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

The Inn is just what it claims to be. Down home, rustic and wonderful. Yes they have a dog, yes he is sometimes in the kitchen. Do these people put their animals outside every time they eat? B&Bs have animals. If you want antiseptic, stay at a hospital. The whole reason you go to Lava is to relax. It is not the Bellagio, and it doesnt claim to be. I have stayed in the Inn every year for the last 10 years with my gal friends for our girls weekends once a year. I have never had a problem, the staff has always been kind and helpfull. The rooms are clean and comfy and believe me when I say the Inn doesnt smell bad. If people don't like it here it is because they expect a big city hotel in a small town. I would never stay anywhere else. Just setting the record straight folks the Inn is the place in Lava.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lavabasset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

This is not the Ritz, not the most glamorous of locations, but if you want a peaceful, friendly, and inviting environment, this is the place for you. It's location is easy to find, parking is adequate, but not very inviting. Hotel is old, but homey. There are 6 hot pools, two are too hot for comfortable use, but the four in front are pleasant and inviting. The 46 degree dipping pool is perfect for closing pores and pools were clean as they were cleaned out during our 2 day stay. The town is quaint with ample eating establishments, but we, as a family, just ate breakfast and had lunch and dinner in the 'conservatory' room on our floor. Baths are shared 2 bathrooms for 3 rooms, and are spacious, but no fans. We asked for a hair dryer and received one. Rooms are clean but rustic. There are books, movies, and TV for use by all guests, but suites have their own TV. We did not care. We were out enjoying the pools most of the day and relaxing. I am not a fan of ghost stories and the beds could have been more comfortable for the price, which is why the lower rating, but I would recommend for families or couples in a heartbeat! Loved it!

Room Tip: Suites are for those who want their own TV and bath. Not for families. Bathroom is not private in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dasman91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lava Hot Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa
Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa
#3 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs
Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs
#1 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
394 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aura Soma Lava
Aura Soma Lava
#4 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Suites of Lava Hot Springs
Suites of Lava Hot Springs
#4 of 7 in Lava Hot Springs
12 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lava Spa Motel & RV Park
Lava Spa Motel & RV Park
#5 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
70 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lava Hot Springs KOA
Lava Hot Springs KOA
#1 of 9 in Lava Hot Springs
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lava Hot Springs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lava Hot Springs Inn

Property: Lava Hot Springs Inn
Address: 94 E. Portneuf Rd, Lava Hot Springs, ID 83246
Location: United States > Idaho > Lava Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Lava Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lava Hot Springs Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lava Hot Springs Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lava Hot Springs Hotel Lava Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing