We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Christmas in July”
Review of Greystone Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lava Hot Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Greystone Manor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2012

My now husband and I on a whim decided to go to Lava Hot Springs for a quick get away from South Jordan Utah. He found Greystone Manor and we enjoyed our time and the hospitality so much we later came again and brought some friends. The experience was so great both times that I decided we would have a family vacation there. Christmas of 2011 I made up cards for each of our 5 kids announcing that we would be having Christmas in July. We told them what to bring, and where to meet for the drive to Lava. Vicky began working with me around November of 2011 and helped be plan an amazing and memorable family vacation. She planned meals for us, we did a fancy dinner on Friday eve and a more casual BBQ Saturday eve. She set up us all having wrist bands which allowed all our kids access to Lava Hot Springs, the Waterpark, and tubing down the river. Our childern were 20 or older so they could go do what they wanted to when they wanted to. We decided we would all go ziplining as well and she set this up and had the jeep come pick us all up right from The Greystone and take us out to zip line Saturday morning (here is the kicker!, we had a grandboy that was too young to go ziplining so Vicky's wonderful husband took him fishing).
That is not all. It was founders day weekend in Lava and Vicky reserved the lawn of one of her other homes along the main street so we would have an area to sit and watch the parade.
All of this was discussed back and forth and Vicky made a package deal based on what we wanted as we booked her entire bed and breakfast to accomodate our kids and their guest of choice. Amazing place, great history and great hospitality.
Know that some rooms have to share a bathroom and that bathroom only has a bathtub. Not great when you are sharing the bed and breakfast with strangers but it is workable and all the other pluses far outweigh this disadvantage.

Vicky, thank you greatly for the hard work you put into the planning and execution of being a gracious host. The food was amazing and my family will not forget this vacation ever. We have done others including a cruise and I believe all prefered the one we shared and The Greystone!! A big shout out to your husband as well!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlygirlJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
There are newer reviews for Greystone Manor
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 263 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

Looked for somewhere between Yellowstone and SLC to chill for a couple of days, and what a wonderful place we found. We'd read reviews, so shouldn't have been surprised.
All aspects of the accommodation and food were excellent.
The owner, Vicky, and indeed her husband and kids, made us very welcome, were very hospitable and ensured we had all we wanted for a lovely stay.
Well sized comfortable room and bed (we had the King room), with interesting and unique decoration, and great attention to detail.
We'd booked ahead for an evening meal and weren't disappointed, best meal of our 16 nights in US. Vicky is an exceptional cook.
We're not likely to pass this way again, but if you are, don't waste effort checking others, this is the place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartynPrescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is an intriguing B&B in a nicely-converted former church. Our room was large and comfortable, in the daylight basement. Vicky, the owner, is very welcoming and an awesome cook. We had the best breakfast of our 6-week road trip while here; we were sorry that we couldn't stay over and enjoy a dinner, too. While at Lava, be sure to try out the hot springs - clean and well-maintained as a state park.

We would sure consider Greystone for family functions when we are next in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJMJonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We had the chance to take a last minute trip to Lava Hot Springs this weekend, and were delighted to stumble upon this amazing Bed and Breakfast. From the time I called to make the reservation, to the moment we drove away the service was perfect. My husband has never Bed and Breakfast-ed before, and Vicki could not have given us a better experience. We didn't take the opportunity to have dinner or a massage, but the breakfast was amazing, the room was well appointed and extremely comfortable (if I could've taken the comforter and feather pillow home with us, I would have!). Most of all, the service was perfect. Vicki and her staff were absolutely on the ball, and knew exactly how to make us feel welcomed without being smothered.

We will definitely be back! And soon!! Thanks Vicki!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nerissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We found the Greystone Manor online after deciding to have our Wedding in Lava (half our family is in SLC and the other half in Idaho). The reviews for The Greystone were so positive we just had to check it and really couldn't believe when our very high expectations were surpassed... Vicky, the owner, was there ever step of the way to help us with planning our rehearsal, wedding ceremony and after-party. She helped us plan menus and even created a special dish for us when we couldn't decide between her amazing asparagus chicken and her Ginger Salmon (we served 1/2 portions of both, of course!) Our guests raved about the food at the wedding. My husband's uncle called it the best meal of his life!

We rented all the rooms in the Greystone and both rental houses for our families and wedding party. Our wedding party could not believe how cute the rooms were. The decor and attention to detail were over the top fantastic! Vicky and her staff were so accommodating. Everything we needed was taken care of. The night of the wedding I was busy getting ready only to walk by and see one of the darling staff girls getting my kids a special snack and I later found out my flower girl tripped and tore her dress and the same girl helped to fix the torn dress... talk about above and beyond!

Vicky found and arranged for the band (who were fantastic by the way), a hair stylist and make-up gal (also great) and even helped us with decor issues when some of the things we brought didn't quite work perfectly. Any and everything that we needed was taken care of. They even volunteered to leave the left-over food from the rehearsal dinner in the fridge for us to snack on in case we got hungry in the night ...not joking!!!

I am so incredibly thankful we found the Greystone. Our small-ish wedding (70 guests) was simply perfect. A huge thank-you goes out to Vicky and everyone for making our wedding weekend in Lava amazing!!!

We will be back every year and will stay no where other than the Greystone~! That's a promise!

Thank you, thank you, thank you!

Room Tip: Every single room is darling! You can't go wrong!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aubrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Extremely friendly service of an outstanding meal. With the end of Labor Day and almost all the visitors in town on their way home my wife and I were treated to an exceptional meal for two...and we were the only two there.

Our hostess was most gracious in opening her kitchen to us. I had a melt in your mouth filet and my wife had ginger salmon she said was excellent.

Would highly recommend a dinner here if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Northrider3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This is one well-kept charmer! Vicky, the owner, is AMAZING. Clean and beautiful, so quiet and quaint and nicely done rooms. All the amenities you might need and if not, we felt we could just have asked her. A nice glass of wine upon arriving in our room, too. As for the food - well, don't think about going anywhere out - Vicky will cook a gourmet meal that can't be beat for the price and quality. Her food easily matched any 5 star restaurant in Park City! Really! Dinner was romantic and absolutely deliciously prepared- filet mignon, salmon, a salad to die for, appetizers, dessert, coffee and more. Breakfast was totally yummy and healthy, too. Thank you Vicky for your love and attention to detail. You really have your heart in this most special B & B.
(PS- Don't miss dipping into the hot spring pools just down the street, before cocktail hour).

Room Tip: Opt for the King's room or Peacock room if you desire a private bath.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lava Hot Springs
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa
Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa
#3 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
184 reviews
0.4 mi away
Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs
Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs
#1 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
400 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aura Soma Lava
Aura Soma Lava
#4 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lava Hot Springs Inn
Lava Hot Springs Inn
#6 of 7 in Lava Hot Springs
213 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Harkness Hotel
The Harkness Hotel
#1 of 1 in McCammon
226 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lions Gate Manor
Lions Gate Manor
#2 of 7 in Lava Hot Springs
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greystone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greystone Manor

Address: 187 S. 2nd Ave West, Box 432, Lava Hot Springs, ID 83246
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Lava Hot Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Lava Hot Springs
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful bed and breakfast inn with conference facilities, wedding chapel and reception center. Located right in the heart of the quaint resort town of Lava Hot Springs, Idaho. Soak in the world famous hot pools. Enjoy a couples massage on site at the Greystone. Shop, eat, float the river... all within walking distance of the Greystone Manor. Call us to book the Greystone Experience! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Greystone Manor Hotel Lava Hot Springs
Greystone Manor Lava Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing