We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (436)
Filter reviews
436 results
Traveler rating
278
122
21
5
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
278
122
21
5
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mineral water soaking tub huge tub picasso room georgia o'keefe room was clean in town hot pools short walk remodeled rooms stay there again flat screen tv enjoyed our stay main street great place to stay within walking distance the main hotel
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 436 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2018

Definitely recommend room 112. It's an end unit, on the ground level, with a small private patio, and its own mineral water hot tub. The tub technically seats 4, although I'd say it fits 2 comfortably. You can see the mountains on either side, and listen to the river while you soak. You get to control the temp of the water, too. There's a small table and chairs for relaxing on the patio, if you want.

The room has 2 queen beds. There's a mini fridge and microwave inside. Room smelled good, too. The room was spotless- exceptionally clean. We were so impressed. Please note there is no tub in the room, just a shower, since there's the tub outside.

Easy parking. The lobby in the hotel is pretty. Both employees we talked to were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Free tea, coffee, and hot chocolate, too.

The hotel is a 2 minute walk to the city's public hot pools, and just a bit of a longer walk to the restaurants in town.

Room Tip: 112 has a private 4 person mineral springs fed hot tub. It's constantly cycling, so it's always fresh, hot mineral water.
  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank excitedforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2018

When traveling with young children finding the right sleeping situation is rare! The Home Hotel had the perfect 2 bedroom suite (frida- 440) that made for a great overnight family vacation! The kids loved their room plus it didn't have a door to the outside which is comforting! There was a refrigerator in the room and a microwave down the hall. It was clean, comfortable and we were actually pleasantly surprised how quiet it was for the entire hotel being booked! The ladies at the front could not have been sweeter or more accommodating!

It was awesome to put on swim suits, throw a robe over and walk 2 minutes across the bridge to the soaking pools! We walked back to the hotel after and didn't even use the pools changing rooms! (a nice thing when you have 2 kids under 3!)

Woke up to sun rising on the rocks to the north! What a lovely little hotel in a cute little town!

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank blushingcrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home-Hotel-Manager, Owner at Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2018

We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to Lava Hot Springs and to the Home Hotel, and we are excited the newly remodeled Frida Kahlo room (440) is working out so well for our guests! Come back and see us again sometime soon. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2018 via mobile

We had such a lovely romantic holiday in Lava Hot Springs Idaho at the Home Hotel. The 100 year old building is amazing from the minuite you enter its lobby you feel like you have stepped back in time. The holiday decorations were elegently displayed, and you are immediately greeted by their friendly staff. Our room was beautifully decorated with amazing artwork, had a comfortable king size bed and grand bath with natural hot spring water pumped right into our room.
We will be back soon to visit this Spring.

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank EPRailroadMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home-Hotel-Manager, Owner at Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2018

Thank you for the wonderful review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your visit this spring!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2017

I don't really understand all the rave reviews here. This room is pretty bland and basic, no cute decorations, but clean and comfortable bed. The tub was very large and deep, but the room was very small which we kinda knew going into it. What we didn't know was there was no way to control the heat!!! We were told only the maint. man could do that and he had left town for the weekend. So we slept with 2 windows open and the air cond. running all night in order to cool it down to 80 degrees. This whole town looks old and run down to me. Will not be back to this Hotel/Motel.

Room Tip: we had room #104 and while it had a great tub the room was way to hot!
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home-Hotel-Manager, Owner at Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate hearing from our guests and are always looking for ways to improve our rooms. I apologize that your room was too hot. The radiators do put out a lot of geothermal heat and they can sometimes overwhelm the space. We have been working to address the issue and hope that you will try us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2017

We've stayed at the Home Hotel many times and enjoyed the experience. Just know, that if you book a room through the official web page and need to cancel shortly thereafter and well before the dates reserved, you LOSE your full 10% deposit. It's in the fine print and is not a customary practice, in my experience. It's a big chunk of change to lose and one that has us very unhappy today.

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews