We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (436)
Filter reviews
436 results
Traveler rating
278
122
21
5
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
278
122
21
5
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mineral water soaking tub huge tub picasso room georgia o'keefe room was clean in town hot pools short walk remodeled rooms stay there again flat screen tv enjoyed our stay main street great place to stay within walking distance the main hotel
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 436 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2018 via mobile

We had such a lovely romantic holiday in Lava Hot Springs Idaho at the Home Hotel. The 100 year old building is amazing from the minuite you enter its lobby you feel like you have stepped back in time. The holiday decorations were elegently displayed, and you are immediately greeted by their friendly staff. Our room was beautifully decorated with amazing artwork, had a comfortable king size bed and grand bath with natural hot spring water pumped right into our room.
We will be back soon to visit this Spring.

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank EPRailroadMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home-Hotel-Manager, Owner at Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2018

Thank you for the wonderful review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your visit this spring!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2017

I don't really understand all the rave reviews here. This room is pretty bland and basic, no cute decorations, but clean and comfortable bed. The tub was very large and deep, but the room was very small which we kinda knew going into it. What we didn't know was there was no way to control the heat!!! We were told only the maint. man could do that and he had left town for the weekend. So we slept with 2 windows open and the air cond. running all night in order to cool it down to 80 degrees. This whole town looks old and run down to me. Will not be back to this Hotel/Motel.

Room Tip: we had room #104 and while it had a great tub the room was way to hot!
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home-Hotel-Manager, Owner at Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate hearing from our guests and are always looking for ways to improve our rooms. I apologize that your room was too hot. The radiators do put out a lot of geothermal heat and they can sometimes overwhelm the space. We have been working to address the issue and hope that you will try us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2017

We've stayed at the Home Hotel many times and enjoyed the experience. Just know, that if you book a room through the official web page and need to cancel shortly thereafter and well before the dates reserved, you LOSE your full 10% deposit. It's in the fine print and is not a customary practice, in my experience. It's a big chunk of change to lose and one that has us very unhappy today.

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2017 via mobile

We've stayed here many times and it's always clean. Scott the owner is a super nice guy. Hot spring water in your room! Room 112 has your own outdoor private tub! Stay in the remodeled rooms in back. Right beside the city hot spring pools if you need more soaking then what your room has to offer.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank powderslut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home-Hotel-Manager, Owner at Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2017

Thanks for the review, Jessica! We are glad you enjoyed your visit with us and we hope we can see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2017 via mobile

This is an old building, but clean and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable and sheets super soft. The room was a good size for an old building. And the fridge in the room was a nice benefit! The coffee and tea in the lobby is also a nice hospitable touch! The best part of the hotel is the location. It’s just a block from the hot pools and right on main street for walking to restaurants. The only downside was thin walls, as one would expect for an old building.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Trimanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home-Hotel-Manager, Manager at Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2017

Thank you so much for your review and for staying with us here at The Home Hotel. We appreciate your feedback. We are happy to know that all of the hard work and renovations that we are doing to our historic hotel offer the finishing touch to accompany the cleanliness of our establishment. We invite you to come back soon, and again, thank you for your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews