We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge a book by its cover - the Home Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My husband and I visited the lovely little town of Lava Hot Springs, ID recently with our nephew. We generally stay in chain hotels, so we were a bit disappointed to see the plain exterior of the Home Hotel. The lobby was small, but included a free coffee setup. Check in was prompt and courteous. I spoke with the desk clerk about the hot springs and he recommended we consider a massage in conjunction with the hot spring -- a great tip that we took advantage of and really enjoyed. Our room was actually more of a "motel" feel, with a front door next to the parking lot. We were nervous because our room was the only one that did not include a deadbolt lock. Unfortunately, the single lock was loose and there was no chain on the interior door. The decore was a bit old fashioned, but quite clean with working AC. The room was small, but included two beds and a nicely redone bathroom. The bath provided water from the hot springs, and the tub was oversized -- a nice way to end the day. The location was ideal - we were able to rent tubes nearby, enter the river, and relax in the public hot springs. We had dinner and breakfast at the restaurant across the street and enjoyed a shaved ice as well. Good location, friendly staff, and clean room - we enjoyed our stay a the Home Hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DonnaStram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (402)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 402 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

I've been to Lava a half dozen times. Home Hotel is my favorite place to stay. Small, boutique hotel. Simply, but beautifully redone. Each room has its own artist with lovely prints in the room. We stayed in the Mary Cassett room. Close to the pools. You couldn't ask for anything more! Even the price is great.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

we had the Charles McKenzie room - decorated to reflect his tastes and artistic contributions. it was perfect for a two-night stay. the staff was highly accommodating, the room was fresh, and the bath tub doubled as a hot springs - as the water was from the hot springs.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy Beale P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed the week end the room was clean and cool not stuffy and hot. Was remodeled and surprised how big the room was. The staff were very nice and helpful loved the location and my family and I Cant wait to stay again

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happygoluckygirlie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The room was clean; the hot tub/bath was roomy with good temperature control. The refrigerator areas was very nice. The decor was pleasant and the staff were very friendly.Parking was very accessible and the location was excellent for walking to the hot springs. Only one minor issue: The drapes can either cover the air conditioning unit if you want totally privacy, or come to the top of the air conditioning unit if you want a cool room.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main hotel. The room had plenty of space and had very easy access to parking at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manwithbluegoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home_Hotel_Manager, Owner at Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you for the great review -- we are glad you enjoyed your stay! We'll get right on the window drape issue. We appreciate the excellent feedback. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Scott Pearhill, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Clean, pretty and well-located with respect to the hot springs and the few shops and restaurants in town. That the bathtubs in the main hotel building fill with hot spring water was a blessing as unfortunately there were storms around the afternoon I arrived. I also loved that the artwork was global in its origin and content rather than another display of western USA themed work. Unfortunately, I found the beds too soft and so did not sleep well there. I mentioned this to the manager and he told me they were planning to replace these new beds they had recently gotten as a number of guests had the same issue. If they did that, I would give them all five stars!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janetpackard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Excellent customer service. Such a charming town and clean hotel in the best location! Definitely worth the little money for a fun adventure. Newly remodeled with my own soaking tub! Slept like a baby.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lava Hot Springs hotels
0.0 mi away
Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa
Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa
#3 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aura Soma Lava
Aura Soma Lava
#4 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lava Hot Springs Inn
Lava Hot Springs Inn
#7 of 7 in Lava Hot Springs
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lions Gate Manor
Lions Gate Manor
#2 of 7 in Lava Hot Springs
88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lava Spa Motel & RV Park
Lava Spa Motel & RV Park
#5 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
75 reviews
0.2 mi away
Suites of Lava Hot Springs
Suites of Lava Hot Springs
#4 of 7 in Lava Hot Springs
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs

Address: 306 East Main Street, P.O. Box 67, Lava Hot Springs, ID 83246
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Lava Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Lava Hot Springs
Price Range: $100 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Home Hotel in beautiful Lava Hot Springs, Idaho! We provide real, natural hot springs water in the privacy of your room! Our lodgings also include free WIFI, a Samsung flat panel tv with expanded cable, mini-fridge and more! You can walk to the famous State of Idaho Hot Pools in under two minutes. The Home Hotel is centrally located in downtown Lava Hot Springs, so dining, shopping and outdoor activities are nearby. Since 1918, the Home Hotel is your home in Lava Hot Springs, Idaho! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing