We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
“Happy Anniversary”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was are first time to Lava Hot Springs. It was our 10 year anniversary and our first time leaving the kids behind, thankfully a family member was visiting and willing to watch them. We had a great time. Our stay at the Home Hotel was great, it has a wonderful atmosphere! It is close to everything! Thank you so much!

Room Tip: Rooms have varying sizes of tubs. The bigger the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigBartone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    106
    19
    4
    8
See reviews for
93
193
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Wyoming
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This was my first time staying in Lava. Picked the Home Hotel because it had good reviews. Stayed in room 444. The front desk staff was super friendly. Fresh coffee all day. Upgraded to a room with a soaking tub (they use the hot spring water), but didn't use it because it was a bit grungy. I can be a bit of a snob though. The cleaning staff forgot to leave me shampoo/lotion so I had to go downstairs to get some from the front desk. I thought it was weird that there were no hooks to hang your bath towel in the bathroom or in the room itself. The bed was soft, but I had a good nights sleep. It is walking distance to the hot pools and restaurants in town. Had a massage at the hot springs spa and it was awesome. I don't think there are many options for hotels in Lava. This hotel is okay, but I wasn't blown away. It is old, so it has lots of character.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brewog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home_Hotel_Manager, Owner at Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thanks for the great review! We appreciate your feedback. I apologize that we missed your soaps and shampoos on your second day. That is not usual for us and we will correct the problem immediately. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Scott Pearhill, Innkeeper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We usually stay at another hotel when we visit Lava, but when we called to make a reservation, it was booked. However, their phones are forwarded in the evenings to the HOME HOTEL and we were pleasantly surprised to learn that they had 2 rooms still available. The staff suggested 1 of the rooms over the other as it was at the end of the hall away from the main lobby. That alone was very thoughtful. Upon check in, we were given a savory chocolate treat as they learned it was our wedding anniversary weekend! Our room was nice & clean and appeared to be newly renovated. We learned they had just purchased new mattresses & let us tell you, we wanted to strap it to the roof of our car! Amazingly comfortable! So much so, that we inquired from the owner of the hotel the brand they purchased & told him how impressed we were. The staff was very friendly, helpful & personable so we have decided the HOME HOTEL is now our favorite lodging in Lava =)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRMonroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocatello, Idaho
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2013

we stayed Saturday, May 18, 2013 rented the house that is available on property. loved the fact that it was an actual "House." parking available right in front of the house street side as well as in front of the adjoining garage. it had all the amenities needed in the full kitchen. "big plus" also a huge hot tub in the bathroom that could easily hold 4-5 people (if you are in to that sort of thing. haha.) the beds were comfy and the house was very clean and inviting. flat screen tv and dvd player, complimentary wifi and a roll a way bed. living room area was large with nice furniture. could probably use an additional love seat for more seating.
the only thing i would have to say that could use improvement would be to drain those hot tubs behind the house and bleach, scrub, sandblast.. whatever you can to get those stains off the tubs. and get the jets working. we couldn't find any switches to turn those on. the tubs looked kind of questionable.
also the house had a sort of wet carpet smell, to be expected i guess because of the amenities near by. luckily we brought our own room spray which cleared it up while we stayed. the walk way to the entry was a bit narrow, hard not to step in the dirt/mud. didn't want to track it inside.
extremely close to the local hot pools and a nice get a way. will definitely be back again soon. hopefully we will be able to stay longer next time. staff that helped us were very nice and welcoming! couldn't have picked a better place for our first overnight visit to lava!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mameah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukie, OR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I've stayed in several placs in Lava and this was the best. My sister and I go for a little get away. Our room was ideal. There was a separate livingroom/kitchen, a bedroom and bath. The soaking tub is big enough for two. We parked on the street right in front of the room so packing in and our was very easy. There was everything we needed to use the kitchen. When we asked for more towels there was no problem. Plenty of privacy and easy walking in the downtown. We'll be back next year!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My family continues to stay in Lava Hot Springs 2-3 times a year for at least 10 years, despite the AWFUL selection in lodging. Starting last year, we finally resorted to renting a home for the weekend, except when it is just me, my wife, and kid; then we book a room. This time we booked with Home Hotel, and we were very surprised to find actual doors for bathrooms, rather than curtains, and comfortable queen beds rather than horrible twin beds with evidence of something funky on them. The tv worked, the heat worked, the a/c worked, the bathtub in our room was quite impressive actually (it was a fancy and deep whirlpool built right into the main room, rather than in the bathroom or some community location). We spent a little more on this room than the shacks we have experienced before, however the clerk gave us a discount that wasn't available online when I booked. Now we know of a spot that is very habitable and pleasant when there are only 3 of us.

Room Tip: The spacier room with 2 queens is the same price as the tighter room with 1 king.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We (five siblings with some spouses) stayed in four rooms at the Home Hotel while visiting the nearby family homestead, settled by our grandparents over a century ago. The location is ideal, prices are reasonable, and the hotel quickly immersed us in the spirit of Lava. The service was excellent. We enjoyed walking along the Portneuf River, a stone's throw away, visiting the charming local museum which has compiled quite a bit of information about our forefathers, and attending Church on Sunday.

Room Tip: Stay in a room not immediately adjacent to Main Street which is quite noisy in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank van s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lava Hot Springs
0.0 mi away
Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa
Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa
#3 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aura Soma Lava
Aura Soma Lava
#4 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lava Hot Springs Inn
Lava Hot Springs Inn
#6 of 7 in Lava Hot Springs
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lava Spa Motel & RV Park
Lava Spa Motel & RV Park
#5 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
70 reviews
0.2 mi away
Suites of Lava Hot Springs
Suites of Lava Hot Springs
#4 of 7 in Lava Hot Springs
12 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Harkness Hotel
The Harkness Hotel
#1 of 1 in McCammon
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs

Property: Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs
Address: 306 East Main Street, P.O. Box 67, Lava Hot Springs, ID 83246
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Lava Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Lava Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Home Hotel in beautiful Lava Hot Springs, Idaho! We provide real, natural hot springs water in the privacy of your room! Our lodgings also include free WIFI, a Samsung flat panel tv with expanded cable, mini-fridge and more! You can walk to the famous State of Idaho Hot Pools in under two minutes. The Home Hotel is centrally located in downtown Lava Hot Springs, so dining, shopping and outdoor activities are nearby. Since 1918, the Home Hotel is your home in Lava Hot Springs, Idaho! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing