We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look elsewhere!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Kingman, Arizona
1 review
“Look elsewhere!”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This hotel had a dead cockroach on the ground. Tiny rooms with No TV. Shared bathrooms. I wondered if this place ever gets cleaned. Old, horrible beds. I liked the old building, privet hot pots and the location but I wouldn't stay there again. The restaurant in this hotel is pretty good but with the dead cockroach you just never know what's cooking.....

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricRiversideInn, General Manager at Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Irina,

We are happy that you did like the historical feel of the hotel and the hot springs. We are sorry that the room you reserved was not adequate for your needs. The guest room you described is one of only four rooms in the hotel that are classified as " economy rooms" that share a bath with one other guest room. The other 14 rooms in the hotel are larger and all have private baths and televisions. Just to note, we do have regular maintenance for any type of insects and can assure you that cockroaches are not roaming the interior of our property and that our restaurant has received very good inspections from the health department.

Needless to say, we would like to personally respond to you and invite you to call us so that we can resolve any issues.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    57
    19
    19
    12
See reviews for
30
85
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southern, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

We love the high ceilings, the warm feel of wood everywhere and the history of an old building. You have to be able to close your eyes and try to remember this hotel as it was and all those who stayed here. If you can do that you will enjoy your stay. We had a lot of fun here, from our hike to the top of the Centennial trail, which starts across the street, to reading our books at night in the 3rd floor reading room. The hot mineral baths needed a little cooling down for us. We enjoyed sitting outside in the hot bath and viewing the mountains. I definitely recommend having your dinner at the Riverside. We ate there both nights and were very impressed with our meals. The hotel definitely needs some upgrades, but she still is a Grand Old Lady.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BSCSkiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricRiversideInn, General Manager at Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your review! It is great to see guests that love history, the outdoors and the entire Lava Hot Springs experience. We are continuously working to update and improve the "Grand Old Lady" and sincerely appreciate your business. We look forward to having you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We booked two nights in the large family apartment. After 5 minutes in the room I went to the front desk and said the room was far, far below expectations and we would not stay. We were told we would be charged for both night regardless. In short, I was very adament and so the released us from the second night. Specifically the room smelled like years cigarettes were smoked in the room...old and stale. While the room had several kitchen appliances, nearly ALL we broken and unusable. Beds were horribly uncomfortable and covered in old tattered blankets. The robes we were given for the spa were so used and unseemly that we were hesitant to use them. The owners of this hotel should be ashamed. They have a wonderful old property that they have allowed to fall into disrepair and filth. The owners are either lazy or bankrupt, either way, the hotel is in despicable condition. If you choose to stay here you WILL regret it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricRiversideInn, General Manager at Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Budha of Snow,

We are sorry that our Inn was not what you expected and in reviewing your comments, we will make as many improvements as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I stayed here this summer for a ski patrol event and was impressed. It is an old hotel that is actually having it's 100th anniversary this year. It was nice and clean with some quirks, mainly due to the age of the structure. No elevator (but it only had three floors), no central a/c (definitely needed in Lava Hot Springs in early August) but with individual a/c units in each room, no phones in the room, no desks in the room (but several large tables on the main floor and one medium library on the second floor), and an odd water heating scheme (they use heat from the hot springs to heat their bath water and if the hotel is full, you might have a cold shower). There are full bathrooms in each room, and the beds are very good. There is also nor real front entryway as the old entryway is now the bar and a back door serving as the front entrance. The front desk people were very nice (except for the time we asked for a second room key; the front desk guy acted a bit put of place by our normal request). The bar was cozy but comfortable and had great service. Each morning we got a seven dollar chit for the restaurant for breakfast and it was a proper sit-down breakfast with good hot food, not the normal cold cereal, crap coffee, and oatmeal that passes for "complementary continental breakfast" at most hotels. The restaurant was excellent where I had the best New York Strip steak I have ever had: perfectly cooked, lightly seasoned, and super tender. I would actually drive back to this hotel for another steak like that (and I live three hours away). The one bad thing about the dinner was the wine was served too warm, like coffee-cup-out-of-the-dishwasher warm. It made the wine almost undrinkable, and really cut down on the niceness of the meal. A refrigerator for wine is a must for this place. The exterior of the hotel and the surrounding grounds also need some attention. The hotel is right next to the Portneuf River and could really use this to it's advantage with outdoor seating in the summer if they could somehow spruce the old entryway area up. As of now it is more of a back alley. Despite all of the minuses this is an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricRiversideInn, Owner at Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you Bill for your detailed review of our hotel, restaurant and service. All of your comments are greatly appreciated and are important to us! We are continuously striving to make improve our fondly named "Quirky Hotel", that is celebrating her 100th birthday in 2014.

As you mentioned, both the building and the bath water is heated with hot geothermal water. We are really proud of taking every step we can in “staying green”. Our hot water system is complex, and interesting to say the least. Our thanks to our consulting engineer who has skillfully assisted us with resolving the hot water issue that we incurred. It is not always easy to be green, but we are proud of our efforts.

Thank you to all of our loyal customers for your understanding and support.
We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago area
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We were driving from Boise to Grand Teton National Park and were looking for a place to stay about halfway in between. We checked Trip Advisor and based on the reviews called for a reservation. Gail was very friendly and helpful. Our room was ready when we got there and it was absolutely charming. The bed was extremely comfortable and everything was spotless. It is really like a lovely B&B. We went downstairs to the restaurant and had an amazing dinner! After dinner we found fluffy robes and towels on the bed, ready for us to use for our mineral soak. The private soaking rooms are downstairs. Some of the rooms are undergoing renovation, but ours was perfect. We had a delicious breakfast by the river in the morning, followed by another soak before we headed on our way. We highly recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank childsvoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2013

the hotel is right at the middle point of Grand Tetons National Park and Salt Lack City. It's about the same price as staying in campsite of the park (electrical site + shower) but with much more to offer.

It's more like a bed and breakfast than a motel, really friendly environment.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emilyyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I just stayed at Riverside Hot Springs Inn and I thought it was the cutest place ever! The historic building is amazing and in wonderful condition. the little quirks of a historic building are there but with modern fixings so that you are always comfortable. the private mineral bath is wonderful! i felt like heaven afterwards. but what will really make me come back to this hotel is the people. Kristine, the guest specialist, was so sweet and inviting. the servers were wonderful and full of knowledge about the location. and even when i saw the staff on the streets in town, they remembered me and told me things to do in the cute little town. what a pleasant stay. i will def be coming back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 438Benji27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lava Hot Springs
0.0 mi away
Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs
Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs
#1 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
393 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aura Soma Lava
Aura Soma Lava
#4 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lava Hot Springs Inn
Lava Hot Springs Inn
#7 of 7 in Lava Hot Springs
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lava Spa Motel & RV Park
Lava Spa Motel & RV Park
#5 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suites of Lava Hot Springs
Suites of Lava Hot Springs
#4 of 7 in Lava Hot Springs
12 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Harkness Hotel
The Harkness Hotel
#1 of 1 in McCammon
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa

Property: Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa
Address: 255 East Portneuf, Lava Hot Springs, ID 83246
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Lava Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lava Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa is a historic, full service adult boutique hotel, spa, restaurant & lounge located in downtown Lava Hot Springs. Featuring 18 guest rooms, onsite hot mineral springs & massage therapy, the acclaimed Portneuf Grille & Lounge which is open nightly for dinner, meeting facilities, free wifi & complimentary Continental breakfast. The Riverside features 24 hour staffing and service. The hotel is located within 2 blocks of the Foundation hot mineral soaking facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing