We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs(Lava Hot Springs)
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tumbling Waters Inn(Lava Hot Springs)
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Lava Hot Springs KOA(Lava Hot Springs)
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lions Gate Manor(Lava Hot Springs)
$179
$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lava Hot Springs Inn(Lava Hot Springs)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Aura Soma Lava(Lava Hot Springs)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Suites of Lava Hot Springs(Lava Hot Springs)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bristol Cabins(Lava Hot Springs)(Great Value!)
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveler rating
100
64
20
19
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
100
64
20
19
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfasthistoric hotelthe rivercorner roomrooms are largenice older hotelyogurtold buildingin townold worldcold cerealfirst floorthe staff was extremely friendlyhot poolsprivate hot springget awayair conditioning
Filter
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 217 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I stay at the Riverside everytime we need a sojourn driving from Wyoming to Montana, and when we just need a fun, relaxing getaway. The inn is delightfully quaint and elegant. The staff is accomodating and attentive. We have tried the massages (wonderful!) and taken advantage of the many special offers, most recently the "Thursday Night Date Night" package as we were on our way to Montana for a wedding. Our dinners in the Riverside restaurant were delicious and our waitress was hghly proficient and knowledgeable about wine choices. We had so much fun that we returned the following Sunday on our way back home. Having snacked on the drive, we weren't really hungry for dinner so we ordered a fine bottle of cabernet served on the upstairs porch/balcony where we enjoyed the sights and sounds of the river.

Unlike another historic inn in the area, the owners of the Riverside Inn appear to be reinvesting in modernizing the indoor hot tubs, and in general upkeep of the property. Thus they get my vote for best place to stay in Lava Hot Springs.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This was our 4th time staying at the Riverside and each time it only gets better from the excellent food to the massages! I got to know several of the work force this time and Randy was awesome at 6:30 in the morning as well as Cheyenne. We took friends up with us the last two times and they won't stay anywhere else.It really has it all!! We'll be back for sure!!

Room Tip: The "apartment" is a nice, big room to stay in if you can get it booked. It goes fast!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is a classic hotel, very much like it must have been at the turn of the last century.

Close to celebrating 100 years of business, this charmer may not be for those wishing to have room service, spotless modern furnishings and the maids turning down your bed with a mint on the pillow before your return from a night at the theater.

However, if you have an appreciation of history, enjoy soaking in natural hot springs water in private tubs to your heart's content, and love eating fantastic cuisine, the likes of which you WOULD find in those big city hotels, then this place is for you.

We had a rare chance to have a few kid-free days, so escaped to Lava Hot Springs and had a relaxing, romantic experience.

The hotel is, as I’ve said, much as it must have been in the early 1900s, with the exception of guests no longer needing to share a bathroom with others on the floor. In addition to in-room facilities, there are now TVs in each room, with screens having been added in 2010.

The private hot tubs, filled with natural mineral water from the local hot springs, were awesome. We were lucky to have visited mid-week, so no waiting. We would highly recommend a Sunday-Thursday time frame if you decide to stay.

We splurged and took advantage of the hotel’s in-house massage service. I must point out that Lava Hot Spring is fortunate to have these talented therapists. If they were closer, I would be a regular customer.

The food is, in a word, Marvelous! That this little resort community of ~450 is blessed with a chef with such talent and creativity is one of Idaho's hidden gems. The meal Mr. Thomas prepared was incredible. My wife, wisely, asked the Chef for his recommendation. She was thrilled with the seared Ahi. The salad was complex and flavorful and the Crème brûlée was out of this world. I opted for the Baby Back Ribs. They were full of flavor, moist and tender. The mashed potatoes were probably the best I've ever had. My only regret is that we decided to share desert. I wished I'd ordered my own Crème brûlée!

Bottom line: If you're looking for the Ritz Carlton, this is not for you. If you want to stay in a room where President T. Roosevelt slept many times, enjoy the replenishing therapy of a great massage and unbeatable natural hot springs water, and partake in some of the finest dining to be had between Denver and Seattle, then book a two- or three-night stay TODAY!

Room Tip: Each room has its own personality. When you climb the stairs to the front desk, leave the sterile, preformed concrete world behind and breathe in each and every squeak of those century-old timbers. Enjoy it for what it, because there aren't too many left.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonkMayfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed here in March and found the old hotel to be interesting and the staff to be very friendly. As an old hotel, it was somewhat noisey and there wasn't enough hot water to take a shower at 9am. The hotel has mineral tubs. One was outside and way too hot, by the time i found how to add cooler water, our reserved time was up. The inside tubs are in the basement, 2 are large enough for only 2 people and the 3rd is larger. All have to be reserved. There appear to be better places to enjoy the hot springs..

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank AKfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We are fre
The quent lava visitors as we have lived relatively close a few times. We decided to be thrifty on this visit and spend less than money than you spend at one of the nicer hotels. I would say the best part about this hotel is the staff and the breakfast. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast was excellent.
The rooms and the private hot pools did not really impress. The beds were too saggy for my liking and the private pools did not compare to the real thing at the large pools.
This place does have a lot of potential and could be a great historical hotel that adds another great place to visit in Lava Hot Springs, Idaho.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WesternTraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews