We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa
Ogden, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel is exactly what it advertises itself to be, a historical property with different types of rooms and PRIVATE mineral baths. My husband and I loved it. The staff was overly friendly and helpful without being intrusive and annoying. It is an older hotel and it states that. The reviews that were so negative actually prompted our stay. We will be back. The food was excellent we had steaks in the restaurant and the chef came table side to see if they were cooked to our liking, the weekend breakfasts were AWESOME. It was quiet and leisurely and that is what we were looking for. We also loved that the private tubs had sign up sheets so we could book our quiet time and not interfere with others. Stay here if you are looking for a quiet weekend away with you and your hubbie or wife.

Room Tip: Be sure to read the descriptions on the rooms. Some of them have private bathrooms and some have sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate22_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    53
    19
    19
    12
See reviews for
28
81
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midvale, Utah, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

These guys saved our weekend. Last room in town! Greeted by the chef @ 10 at night wondering if we wanted him to cook something for dinner before he left. A nice welcome smile from the nice check in lady and a nice thick towel and Robe for a half an hour in a private mineral tub, right before we discover that they have a bar in the basement near the tubs.The bar tender Jill rocks!! They have a lovely Prime Rib dinner on Saturday nights that is to die for. It was like home away from home with classy and cozy dining then a couple of beers and good company to boot. Thanks Riverside Hot Springs Inn.... We WILL be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lwhansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was my first time staying at this little hotel, and I have to say that I won't stay anywhere else! The staff ensured that I was completely taken care of, from the towels in my room to the amazing meal that I had in the restaurant. The private hot soaking mineral pools are to die for! I slept like a rock after my soak. I was very pleasantly surprised at their Continental Breakfast. They have a Pastry Chef on staff that makes all the pastries! So Good!! I loved the Chocolate Croissants!
If you are looking for a historic (100 years old), romantic, and charming place to stay, stay at The Riverside!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wanderlust_Woman42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bozeman
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

this is the third time my wife and I have come to stay at the Riverside Inn in Lava Hot Springs. The private hot tubs, the great food in the Portneuf Grill, and the amazing staff make this an amazing get away each time. I cannot recommend the Riverside enough.

Room Tip: 312 is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank todd h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

The food and menu was excellent. The hotel is in need of a complete update. It's a quaint old building, but the beds are HORRIBLE! The bed was so uncomfortable that I slept on the floor. Old linens, lousy towels, and the soaking rooms aren't very nice either. A lousy way to experience this great hot springs town for the first time. Can't tell you where is better, every place looks old and outdated.

Room Tip: Riverside rooms would be ideal - place is old and worn out. Loud heater, old blankets, old beds, ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingMan970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VT
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

The staff graciously welcomed us without a reservation after the original booking had ants, etc.
We rented the apartment for 2 nights. There is so much potential here to be tapped.
3 of the major appliances were broken and signs warning about their use needed to be replaced. The heating system was noisy but served the purpose of drowning out noises associated with historic buildings in need of rescuing . Plastic, out of season flowers in dining room aren't an asset.
Food was OK. At breakfast I asked about an egg white omelet . Cook doesn't like to do them. Had coffee. Excuse me, I'm the guest.
Front desk personnel were friendly and welcoming . They went out of their way when we had questions about the area.
Hopefully the owners can carry out their planned renovations. Their inn is one of the assets in Lava Hot Springs.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uvmshell51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
211 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

The rooms here are older, and musty. Historically, that's OK, but for quiet and non-allergenic sleep, it is NOT OK......the soaking pools are nice, but in ill repair, and rather barbarian in the plumbing....The food.....meh.....so their chef won an award. Fine. It still doesn't justify their prices. They are pet-friendly, but this facility needs a lot of work before I would ever call it classy or comfortable. A good dusting in the main room, for starters, and then taking those tacky tacky beer signs off the wall down in the lounge, ugh. Just not that swell of a place. And DON'T expect it to be kid friendly, and be prepared to go up and down endless stairs.

Room Tip: Another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taylor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricRiversideInn, Owner at Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Taylor & Janet,

We apologize that you did not enjoy your stay at the Riverside Inn in February 2012.

To address some of your concerns:

We are a 3 story hotel and elevators were not a luxury in 1914 and are listed on the National Historic Register. Yes, the hotel is more suitable for adults, thus our policy of youth over the age of 14 or by calling us in advance to make arrangements.

We are sorry you did not enjoy our food in the restaurant/lounge or decor.

Hopefully you will return to Lava Hot Springs and enjoy the beautiful town and water in the future.

Thank you for your comments and we will certainly work harder to improve our facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lava Hot Springs
0.1 mi away
Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs
Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs
#1 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aura Soma Lava
Aura Soma Lava
#4 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lava Hot Springs Inn
Lava Hot Springs Inn
#7 of 7 in Lava Hot Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lava Spa Motel & RV Park
Lava Spa Motel & RV Park
#5 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lava Hot Springs Suites
Lava Hot Springs Suites
#5 of 7 in Lava Hot Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Harkness Hotel
The Harkness Hotel
#1 of 1 in McCammon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa

Property: Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa
Address: 255 East Portneuf, Lava Hot Springs, ID 83246
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Lava Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lava Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa is a historic, full service adult boutique hotel, spa, restaurant & lounge located in downtown Lava Hot Springs. Featuring 18 guest rooms, onsite hot mineral springs & massage therapy, the acclaimed Portneuf Grille & Lounge which is open nightly for dinner, meeting facilities, free wifi & complimentary Continental breakfast. The Riverside features 24 hour staffing and service. The hotel is located within 2 blocks of the Foundation hot mineral soaking facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing