We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of city food with family hospitality”
Review of Syringa Cafe

Syringa Cafe
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Kooskia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Description: The Syringa Cafe is our onsite restaurant featuring Mediterranean and Northwest Regional fare with an emphasis on fresh, local ingredients. Savor homemade huckleberry pies, a variety of traditional entrees including fresh fish, meats and healthy salads or enjoy one of our Mediterranean specialties. Whatever your preference, your meal can be complemented by a delicious selection of wine and microbrews. Open seasonally
Restaurant details
Description: The Syringa Cafe is our onsite restaurant featuring Mediterranean and Northwest Regional fare with an emphasis on fresh, local ingredients. Savor homemade huckleberry pies, a variety of traditional entrees including fresh fish, meats and healthy salads or enjoy one of our Mediterranean specialties. Whatever your preference, your meal can be complemented by a delicious selection of wine and microbrews. Open seasonally
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed at the River Dance Lodge adjoining the cafe so ate there a lot. Keep in mind, our meals were part of the stay and dinners were for reservation-only. We spent a lot of time on the river so never made it to lunch.
Dinners included blackened, pan fried marinated salmon one night and lamb shank on another. All were delicious and the sides were fresh and plentiful. Not your average meatloaf and chicken steaks!
Had a small wine selection but extensive enough for us to find a perfect match for the dinners.
My only disappointment was that the dessert offering didn't include any of the huge blackberries that lined the parking lot.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter G, Manager at Syringa Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write this review! We appreciate the feedback and are glad that you enjoyed the dinners you had with us. Please keep in mind that our blackberry and huckleberry pies are on the lunch menu and we do serve them a couple nights during the week for our dinners. I'm sorry it wasn't on one of the nights you were dining with us!
We look forward to having you with us again!
Sincerely,

Rachel Householder
Lodge Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 59 of 61 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2014

Tripadvisor lists this place as closed but it is not. We just stopped by and they were busy getting it ready for the season.

We have stopped by over the years and through different owners. It is the first real place (after Lowell) open as you head West on US 12/Lolo Pass road. We often came by motorcycle and ate the home made pie, drank the coffee, looked out the windows at the river, hummingbirds and jays. Went out and picked blackberries by the road as a second dessert!

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank vintagetrailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

So how is fine dining defined? By the food? By the decor? It's hard to define the Syringa Cafe. The food is fine dining quality. But the decor is more roadside diner. The Syringa Cafe is the onsite restaurant of the Dancing River Lodge. We went for dinner and were seated in one of the booths along the front windows.

They have a preset 4 course dinner menu for $25. It is different each night of the week. Our evening it was an appetizer of fried green beans, a salad, and bison burgundy. The dessert was a chocolate torte. We had seen a sign outside advertising huckleberry pie and were wanting to try some. The waiter was very accommodating and substituted the pie for one of our desserts. All courses were delicious with excellent presentation.

They had an extensive wine list which we did not partake in.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank atreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is the perfect place to have a beer and a sandwich after fishing. Their homemade berry pie is not to be missed.

Thank Bret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Great service and wonderful food;) The selections for food and wine won't disappoint!

Thank laura w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Syringa Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Syringa Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing