We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top notch”
Review of Knob Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Knob Hill Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ketchum
Certificate of Excellence
new mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“top notch”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

great service and people at the front desk and management.....eager to please and with great followup....nice room with good value.....convenient.....
special hotel....the restaurant is even good.....you will be happy here

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank stuckers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew W, Operations Manager at Knob Hill Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your time at Knob Hill Inn.

Regards,

Andrew Wall
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    20
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
58
173
12
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, Dc Metro Area
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014

In August, we spent 6 days and 7 nights at this property in Ketchum, Idaho. The property is ideally situated; a very short, pleasant walk into the town center, easy access to numerous hiking and biking trails, and about an hour away from magnificent hiking in the Sawtooth hiking range. It was an ideal base from which to enjoy numerous outdoor activities.

We found the staff at the Knob Hill Inn to be warm and friendly, yet not overbearing. Everyone, whether they were passing through the dining room during breakfast, in the elevator, or at the front desk made us feel they were happy to have us as guests.

Inn staff did an exceptional job of answering our questions and meeting our requests. The example that most conveys our overall experience is this. A couple of days before an outdoor concert being held nearby, we asked if the hotel had a couple of lawn chairs we could borrow for the evening. The staff member replied, "If we don't have them, we'll get them.", and so they did.

We are already planning a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank M-E58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew W, Operations Manager at Knob Hill Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your glowing review! I am pleased to hear that our team members took great care of you during your time at Knob Hill Inn. We appreciate you staying with us and hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Andrew Wall
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Very nice hotel. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. What you would expect from a 5 star luxury resort but in a quaint Inn. Everything was perfect.

It seems they had Restoration Hardware do all the design and provide all the furniture so it is all very nice.

Room Tip: We had two different rooms. Both excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnobHillInn, General Manager at Knob Hill Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for staying with us! We pride ourselves on exceeding guest expectations and I am thrilled to hear we did just that during your stay! We hope to see you again soon!

Shannon Allen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Thank you to the staff at Knob Hill Inn for the incredible service during a wedding weekend. We were so grateful for everyone going above and beyond to make the experience as easy and seamless as possible.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alexandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnobHillInn, General Manager at Knob Hill Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for your review! I am so glad to hear the staff went above and beyond for you during your stay! We love hosting weddings and being a part of someone's big day! Come back and see us soon!

Shannon Allen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
2 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2014

do not book in hot months or stay on north side of hotel also restaurant very hard to book as aguest plu parking can be a big hassle at night when rest. is at peak rest. seems to actually run the hotel





Room Tip: stay on north side only
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Norman W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnobHillInn, General Manager at Knob Hill Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay. I apologize for the challenges you had with the heat and the parking during your time with us. We do not have AC in the hotel however all rooms have private balconies with screen doors, ceiling and floor fans and we do have small portable ac units that we can put the room upon request. The north facing rooms are cooler rooms and we are happy to accommodate those requests when you make your reservation. We do provide complimentary valet parking for all guest so that you do not have to worry about finding a spot during the busy restaurant hours. Again thank you for the feedback and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Don't visit the Inn if it's over 75 degree's they don't have a/c anywhere in the Hotel, too hot to sleep, too hot to have a drink at the bar. They will bring you a swamp cooler that sounds like a 747 taking off in your room. Inn is under staffed and it's a nice room with the hardest bed we've ever slept on.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Herb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew W, General Manager at Knob Hill Inn, responded to this review, June 29, 2015
Dear Herb B,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I apologize that you had a rough stay with us due to the lack of AC. We want all of our guests to have an exceptional experience at Knob Hill Inn, and you did not receive the type of stay we strive to provide.

We've been working on an AC solution for our building for some time now, but the concrete structure has posed some difficulty getting a quality soluition in place. I'm circling back to your review to inform you that we recently finished our AC install, and all of our guest rooms now have climate control. The rooms can get downright cold if you set the unit low enough, and you can control all of the settings from bed with a remote.

I hope you will come stay with us again and give us a chance to earn your loyalty back.

All the best,

Andrew Wall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel with amazing service. Rooms are lovely, spacious and well- appointed with great bed and bathroom; view of mountains toward Hemingway cemetery just breathtaking. Terrific restaurant in gorgeous garden setting, but make a reservation - very popular among locals!
The staff and service at KHI beyond fabulous- personal service not normally found in the US. Many standouts, but to name a few: Kyle who took our reservation, concierge Marie, Kyle who valet parked for dinner and had the best hiking suggestions, and the young man who drove us all around town.

As others have mentioned, hotel is walking distance to heart of ketchum but has a remote feeling, and the free shuttle service is a big plus.

Lastly, it was hot in July and the hotel could definitely use air conditioning in the guest rooms. Hopefully that will be addressed before next summer!


Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ketchum
0.9 mi away
Sun Valley Lodge
Sun Valley Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sun Valley
339 reviews
0.5 mi away
Limelight Hotel Ketchum
Limelight Hotel Ketchum
#3 of 10 in Ketchum
48 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Tyrolean Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Kentwood Lodge
0.4 mi away
Tamarack Lodge
Tamarack Lodge
#5 of 10 in Ketchum
173 reviews
11.4 mi away
Wood River Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knob Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knob Hill Inn

Property: Knob Hill Inn
Address: 960 North Main Street, PO Box 1327, Ketchum, ID 83340
Location: United States > Idaho > Ketchum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ketchum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Knob Hill Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience personalized service, and a warm and inviting European charm at the Knob Hill Inn, Sun Valley's premier boutique hotel. Generously sized guestrooms offer spectacular views of the surrounding mountains. And guests have preferred seating at The Grill at Knob Hill, Sun Valley's popular hot spot with ample seating for dining and socializing. Every stay includes: - Complimentary signature continental breakfast daily - 42" flat screen high-definition televisions in every room - Complimentary WiFi - Complimentary in-town shuttle serviceWithin walking distance to downtown Ketchum and close to all the amenities Sun Valley resort has to offer, the Knob Hill Inn is located in a peaceful setting with views of world-famous Bald Mountain, the majestic Smokey and Boulder Mountain ranges. You can also take advantage of our indoor heated pool, hot tub and sauna. Whether you're looking to discover memorable summer fun for your Sun Valley, Idaho vacation, or experience our winter wonderland at America's first destination ski resort, the Knob Hill Inn Sun Valley is your choice for the perfect getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Knob Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knob Hill Hotel Ketchum
Knob Hill Inn Ketchum, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing