We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel in an awesome town!”
Review of Knob Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Knob Hill Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ketchum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel very much. The hotel and guest rooms are very modern , clean and luxurious. Huge breakfast is included in room rate and was fabulous! Very close to downtown, but it was a little chilly so someone from the front desk dropped us off and picked us up after enjoying downtown Ketchum. We were there for the trailing of the sheep festival and this was a perfect location to enjoy the parade. Would love to visit this hotel again soon. Rooms are huge, and this is a nice place to relax for a while. They also have a beautiful restaurant. We didn't get a chance to try it, but it looked like a lot of locals enjoy it.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sengel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 355 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2013

We have stayed many times in the Sun Valley/Ketchum area but had yet to stay with the folks at the Knob Hill Inn. The staff was very friendly and helpful and more than willing to come get us from dinner with a free shuttle service they offer. We were taken on a quick tour of the hotel which included the pool/hot tub area. We used the pool area later and it was very relaxing as there were not many folks staying at the hotel during the slack time in Ketchum (we could imagine it getting a bit crowded during busier times). The room met our basic hotel criteria: clean, quiet and comfortable. The bathroom was quite large, and the room neatly appointed. What we didn't realize was that breakfast came with the room which turned out to be a real treat. There are iPads in the breakfast area which was a nice surprise versus the standard newspaper. The breakfast was really good, granola made in house as well as egg dish and coffee cups to go. Would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2Cougs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed at Knob Hill on a recommendation from Sun Valley local friends and were not disappointed. The staff can't be beat anywhere! In fact we enjoyed it so much that we're spending 6 nights there over Thanksgiving. There is so much to like about it---besides the staff, the rooms are very comfortable, the breakfast is exceptional (thanks to "chef Fernando), the shuttle service to Ketchum restaurants (an outstanding extra in our opinion), They really understand how to treat guests!

Room Tip: We liked looking North.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

My wife and I have stayed in many fine places around the country but our experience at Knob Hill was what all the others were aspiring too. Beautiful views, tasteful decoration, convenient location, and amazingly helpful staff. The continental breakfast was so good that we skipped breakfast at the Kneadery and Cristina's (both amazing and regulars for us) and just stayed in. We loved the wood fireplaces throughout the building and the pool/hot tub indoor/outdoor setup. Never been served by a more helpful staff, this is our new go to place in Sun Valley!

Room Tip: Rooms facing north have great views of Galena Summit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnobHillInn, General Manager at Knob Hill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you for your review! I am so happy to hear that you had an amazing stay and enjoyed all that we have to offer! Our breakfast is considered a continental, but as you mention it is so much more than that and is a highlight for our guests! We look forward to hosting you again very soon!

Thanks,

Shannon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Just returned from a quick "escape" to Sun Valley. Our stay at the Knob Hill Inn was outstanding. Gracious staff anticipated our needs - even though they were in their slack time. The room had a fireplace - all ready to light - and was very well appointed and amazingly clean. Robes, slippers, sparkling barware...very cozy. Appreciated Marie and Michael who supplied endless information and found great restaurants for us. We were disappointed that the in-house restaurant was closed for a break, but did not lack for good food in Ketchum and the breakfast had tremendous variety and both hot and cold. Very relaxing and quiet stay.

Room Tip: We loved the fireplace suite and because it was a "slack" time, rates were lower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ewemt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnobHillInn, General Manager at Knob Hill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thanks for your recent stay! Slack time is a great time to visit because the prices are lower but our offerings and services stay the same! Plus it feels like your own private resort! Not to mention there are deals all over town at the shops and restaurants!
Come and see us again soon!

Thanks,

Shannon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

You won't be able to find a better place to stay in Sun Valley than Knob Hill Inn..we were pleasantly
surprised to find the Inn being operated like a European bed and breakfast, from the moment
we stepped up to check-in, the beautifully remodeled modern rooms, the sauna, pool and hot tub, complimentary shuttle from town (although it is an easy walk to all of downtown Ketchum); and the staff that made sure our stay was more than just a night in a hotel in a resort town. We have stayed many times in Sun Valley in almost all of the available accommodations...Knob Hill Inn is the best by far for superior rooms, facility, services and staff. What a pleasant surprise! Thank you Knob Hill...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

My husband and I decided to take a weekend trip up to Sun Valley and booked two nights at Knob Hill. We can't say enough good things about this Inn. I personally am a total clean freak and this hotel was the place for me! The room was tastefully renovated, spotless and extremely spacious. I loved how they gave you bottled water in the room as well. The staff was so friendly and always remembered our names. The breakfast each morning was gourmet and they always seemed to have some type of refreshment and pastry at the front desk when we came and went. I can honestly say this is by far my best hotel stay I have ever experienced. I'm usually very uncomfortable at hotels and I felt totally at home here. We will be staying here again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnobHillInn, General Manager at Knob Hill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

WOW! What an amazing review to receive- we are very honored! Thank you so much for staying with us and we can't wait to see you again very soon!

Thanks,

Shannon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ketchum
0.5 mi away
Limelight Hotel Ketchum
Limelight Hotel Ketchum
#3 of 10 in Ketchum
105 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sun Valley Lodge
Sun Valley Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sun Valley
366 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Tyrolean Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Kentwood Lodge
0.4 mi away
Tamarack Lodge
Tamarack Lodge
#5 of 10 in Ketchum
186 reviews
11.4 mi away
Wood River Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knob Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knob Hill Inn

Address: 960 North Main Street, PO Box 1327, Ketchum, ID 83340
Location: United States > Idaho > Ketchum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ketchum
Price Range: $309 - $431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Knob Hill Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience personalized service, and a warm and inviting European charm at the Knob Hill Inn, Sun Valley's premier boutique hotel. Generously sized guestrooms offer spectacular views of the surrounding mountains. And guests have preferred seating at The Grill at Knob Hill, Sun Valley's popular hot spot with ample seating for dining and socializing. Every stay includes: - Complimentary signature continental breakfast daily - 42" flat screen high-definition televisions in every room - Complimentary WiFi - Complimentary in-town shuttle serviceWithin walking distance to downtown Ketchum and close to all the amenities Sun Valley resort has to offer, the Knob Hill Inn is located in a peaceful setting with views of world-famous Bald Mountain, the majestic Smokey and Boulder Mountain ranges. You can also take advantage of our indoor heated pool, hot tub and sauna. Whether you're looking to discover memorable summer fun for your Sun Valley, Idaho vacation, or experience our winter wonderland at America's first destination ski resort, the Knob Hill Inn Sun Valley is your choice for the perfect getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Knob Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knob Hill Hotel Ketchum
Knob Hill Inn Ketchum, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing