We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Small Inn”
Review of Knob Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Knob Hill Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ketchum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed at Knob Hill on a recommendation from Sun Valley local friends and were not disappointed. The staff can't be beat anywhere! In fact we enjoyed it so much that we're spending 6 nights there over Thanksgiving. There is so much to like about it---besides the staff, the rooms are very comfortable, the breakfast is exceptional (thanks to "chef Fernando), the shuttle service to Ketchum restaurants (an outstanding extra in our opinion), They really understand how to treat guests!

Room Tip: We liked looking North.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
There are newer reviews for Knob Hill Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 340 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2013

My wife and I have stayed in many fine places around the country but our experience at Knob Hill was what all the others were aspiring too. Beautiful views, tasteful decoration, convenient location, and amazingly helpful staff. The continental breakfast was so good that we skipped breakfast at the Kneadery and Cristina's (both amazing and regulars for us) and just stayed in. We loved the wood fireplaces throughout the building and the pool/hot tub indoor/outdoor setup. Never been served by a more helpful staff, this is our new go to place in Sun Valley!

Room Tip: Rooms facing north have great views of Galena Summit
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnobHillInn, General Manager at Knob Hill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you for your review! I am so happy to hear that you had an amazing stay and enjoyed all that we have to offer! Our breakfast is considered a continental, but as you mention it is so much more than that and is a highlight for our guests! We look forward to hosting you again very soon!

Thanks,

Shannon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Just returned from a quick "escape" to Sun Valley. Our stay at the Knob Hill Inn was outstanding. Gracious staff anticipated our needs - even though they were in their slack time. The room had a fireplace - all ready to light - and was very well appointed and amazingly clean. Robes, slippers, sparkling barware...very cozy. Appreciated Marie and Michael who supplied endless information and found great restaurants for us. We were disappointed that the in-house restaurant was closed for a break, but did not lack for good food in Ketchum and the breakfast had tremendous variety and both hot and cold. Very relaxing and quiet stay.

Room Tip: We loved the fireplace suite and because it was a "slack" time, rates were lower.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ewemt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnobHillInn, General Manager at Knob Hill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thanks for your recent stay! Slack time is a great time to visit because the prices are lower but our offerings and services stay the same! Plus it feels like your own private resort! Not to mention there are deals all over town at the shops and restaurants!
Come and see us again soon!

Thanks,

Shannon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

You won't be able to find a better place to stay in Sun Valley than Knob Hill Inn..we were pleasantly
surprised to find the Inn being operated like a European bed and breakfast, from the moment
we stepped up to check-in, the beautifully remodeled modern rooms, the sauna, pool and hot tub, complimentary shuttle from town (although it is an easy walk to all of downtown Ketchum); and the staff that made sure our stay was more than just a night in a hotel in a resort town. We have stayed many times in Sun Valley in almost all of the available accommodations...Knob Hill Inn is the best by far for superior rooms, facility, services and staff. What a pleasant surprise! Thank you Knob Hill...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

My husband and I decided to take a weekend trip up to Sun Valley and booked two nights at Knob Hill. We can't say enough good things about this Inn. I personally am a total clean freak and this hotel was the place for me! The room was tastefully renovated, spotless and extremely spacious. I loved how they gave you bottled water in the room as well. The staff was so friendly and always remembered our names. The breakfast each morning was gourmet and they always seemed to have some type of refreshment and pastry at the front desk when we came and went. I can honestly say this is by far my best hotel stay I have ever experienced. I'm usually very uncomfortable at hotels and I felt totally at home here. We will be staying here again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnobHillInn, General Manager at Knob Hill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

WOW! What an amazing review to receive- we are very honored! Thank you so much for staying with us and we can't wait to see you again very soon!

Thanks,

Shannon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We just returned from a get-a-way at the Knob Hill Inn. This was a wonderful property, great restaurant, and the staff was absolutely wonderful! The whole experience was just great. The restaurant was only open the first night that we were there as they were closing for slack so we had dinner there that night. It was wonderful! The continental breakfast the next morning was great, as well! (We didn't try the pancake machine, but we should have. I have never seen one!) Our room was immaculate, very, very comfortable. The bathroom was huge! We had a corner room with windows on two sides, great light! I just can't say enough about the staff. Only as an example of their kindness, we left without the map of the city and then I wanted to find a particular shop. We went back after the map, and the manager offered to drive us to the shop if we couldn't find it. What kind of service is that??? Absolutely wonderful! Everyone was friendly and helpful!

Room Tip: I think any room there would be wonderful!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnobHillInn, General Manager at Knob Hill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for staying with us! I am happy to hear you had a great stay. Our staff focuses on personalized service, so I am glad to hear that the staff went above and beyond for you! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Thanks,

Shannon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We wanted to get out of Boise for a quick weekend getaway, so we came to Ketchum to see the Trailing of the Sheep. We booked a stay at the Knob Hill Inn last minute, and while the Trailing of the Sheep was a slight disappointment, our stay at Knob Hill was not! It was the best part of the trip! We brought our two year old daughter too, who especially loved swimming in the pool. We were able to walk to dinner downtown and then walk back to the hotel for an after dinner swim. The suite was so elegant and comfy- it was so nice to relax in front of the fireplace. The marble bathroom was gorgeous and the shampoos and soaps from L'Occitane en Provence were a wonderful bonus. The beds were so spacious and comfortable, we didn't want to wake up in the morning. It was an added treat when we found out Ernest Hemingway was buried right outside our window!

Room Tip: The suites are a bit of a splurge but worth it when traveling with kids.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnobHillInn, General Manager at Knob Hill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thanks for your recent stay! I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that your daughter enjoyed the pool!! It's an easy weekend trip over from Boise so come and see us anytime!

Thanks,

Shannon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ketchum
0.9 mi away
Sun Valley Lodge
Sun Valley Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sun Valley
356 reviews
0.5 mi away
Limelight Hotel Ketchum
Limelight Hotel Ketchum
#3 of 10 in Ketchum
87 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Kentwood Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Tyrolean Lodge
0.4 mi away
Tamarack Lodge
Tamarack Lodge
#5 of 10 in Ketchum
182 reviews
11.4 mi away
Wood River Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knob Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knob Hill Inn

Address: 960 North Main Street, PO Box 1327, Ketchum, ID 83340
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Ketchum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ketchum
Price Range: $221 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Knob Hill Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience personalized service, and a warm and inviting European charm at the Knob Hill Inn, Sun Valley's premier boutique hotel. Generously sized guestrooms offer spectacular views of the surrounding mountains. And guests have preferred seating at The Grill at Knob Hill, Sun Valley's popular hot spot with ample seating for dining and socializing. Every stay includes: - Complimentary signature continental breakfast daily - 42" flat screen high-definition televisions in every room - Complimentary WiFi - Complimentary in-town shuttle serviceWithin walking distance to downtown Ketchum and close to all the amenities Sun Valley resort has to offer, the Knob Hill Inn is located in a peaceful setting with views of world-famous Bald Mountain, the majestic Smokey and Boulder Mountain ranges. You can also take advantage of our indoor heated pool, hot tub and sauna. Whether you're looking to discover memorable summer fun for your Sun Valley, Idaho vacation, or experience our winter wonderland at America's first destination ski resort, the Knob Hill Inn Sun Valley is your choice for the perfect getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Knob Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knob Hill Hotel Ketchum
Knob Hill Inn Ketchum, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing