We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I had heard many recommendations - my expectations were exceeded!”
Review of Knob Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Knob Hill Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ketchum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My only regret about the experience we had on the night of 6/23/2013 @ the Knob Hill Inn in Ketchum, ID was that we were only there for 1 night!
I arrived with 3 of my business associates to host a key customer and their team for a sales achievement award. Everything from the reservation process to event planning services offered by The Grill was exceptional.
We hosted 24 guests - many of whom were locals - and found the actual service, hospitality, ambiance and especially the food ALL to be exceptional.
We will definitely be back as Knob Hill Inn and the larger Sun Valley is indeed a special place!

Room Tip: Balcony rooms on 2nd floor offer an exceptional view and access to the outdoors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMcElroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnobHillInn, General Manager at Knob Hill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Thank you for your recent stay! We hope you can come back soon and stay a little longer! There's too much to do and see for just one night! See you in Sun Valley soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 348 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at the Knob Hill Inn for a Sun Valley wedding. Our suite was large, beautifully furnished, up-to-date and quiet. A wonderful breakfast started every day. The pool/hot tub were great. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kurt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We love Sun Valley and have been back repeatedly for years. For many of those years we have considered the Knob Hill Inn to be the premier spot to stay and we were concerned when there was a recent ownership change. The great news is that the Knob Hill is still the only place to stay and has become even better. Great rooms and views, very helpful staff, and the new bar vibe in the lobby is great.
Don't be fooled by the hype about the Lodge (which should be one of America's great hotels--but IS NOT. The Knob Hill Inn is the real deal in Sun Valley.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dela520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnobHillInn, General Manager at Knob Hill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you so much for your recent stay with us! We are happy to hear that you continue to choose the Knob Hill Inn as your home away from home when you visit Sun Valley! Our new owners have been very dedicated to improving all aspects of the hotel from the newly remodeled guest rooms to the addition of a full bar to the focus on a high level of service- all in an effort to create the best possible guest experience! I am so glad that you were pleased with your stay and look forward to hosting you again very soon!

Thanks!

Shannon Allen
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had a wonderful experience, the room was amazing and very comfortable. We had dinner our first night, first class, the menu was outstanding and ambience with waterfall and garden. Service was very attentive. We found ourselves wanting to come back to the hotel, after exploring ketchum, after our hike, there was no place nicer. The breakfast is amazing! Well managed! Well done we will return!
Cheryl Papke

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CL P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnobHillInn, General Manager at Knob Hill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank you so much for your recent stay at the Knob Hill Inn! We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience and look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Thanks,

Shannon Allen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

My husband booked a couple nights at Knob Hill Inn to celebrate our 25th anniversary. We stayed on a Monday and Tuesday night during "slack" (Sun Valley's term for off season). As luck would have it we were the only couple in the hotel (a total fluke) and often one of just a few people in the restaurants in town. I thought the staff might scale back service for just one couple but to the contrary, Kim, Andrew and the rest of the staff bent over backwards to make us comfortable. Even the delicious breakfast buffet was as complete for us as it would have been for a much larger group. To top that off, the chef asked if he could make a hot dish just for us. In addition, our room had a beautiful view and was very spacious. I'd go back anytime. But especially during slack!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the gardens and the cemetery have a lovely view of the mountain. The rooms on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank letsgo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnobHillInn, General Manager at Knob Hill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank you for your review! We are so happy to hear that you had a wonderful time at the hotel and that it was better than expected! We strive to provide an exceptional guest experience no matter the time of year and it makes me very proud of our amazing staff to know that it was noticed and enjoyed by you during your stay!


We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Shannon Allen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

stayed at knob hill for 5 nights with my 12 year old son. Great renovated room, top restaurant, very good buffet breakfast. What made the stay was the top notch service. they gave us everything we asked for with a smile of their faces from a late check out, to shuttling us and picking up from the mountain with no wait, to storing our skis, housekeeping kept the rooms spotless. would strongly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank llr60745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Ask for it You get it.
Try all the rest find knob hill the best.
People are wonderful food is excellent and rooms are large and very clean.
Robbie Don Andrew Shannon Kim and Maria are all so accommodating.
Short of buckling your ski boot they do everything for you.
Absolutely memorable.
Great people!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rustam13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ketchum
0.9 mi away
Sun Valley Lodge
Sun Valley Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sun Valley
361 reviews
0.5 mi away
Limelight Hotel Ketchum
Limelight Hotel Ketchum
#3 of 10 in Ketchum
99 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Tyrolean Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Kentwood Lodge
11.4 mi away
Wood River Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Tamarack Lodge
Tamarack Lodge
#5 of 10 in Ketchum
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knob Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knob Hill Inn

Address: 960 North Main Street, PO Box 1327, Ketchum, ID 83340
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Ketchum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ketchum
Price Range: $242 - $525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Knob Hill Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience personalized service, and a warm and inviting European charm at the Knob Hill Inn, Sun Valley's premier boutique hotel. Generously sized guestrooms offer spectacular views of the surrounding mountains. And guests have preferred seating at The Grill at Knob Hill, Sun Valley's popular hot spot with ample seating for dining and socializing. Every stay includes: - Complimentary signature continental breakfast daily - 42" flat screen high-definition televisions in every room - Complimentary WiFi - Complimentary in-town shuttle serviceWithin walking distance to downtown Ketchum and close to all the amenities Sun Valley resort has to offer, the Knob Hill Inn is located in a peaceful setting with views of world-famous Bald Mountain, the majestic Smokey and Boulder Mountain ranges. You can also take advantage of our indoor heated pool, hot tub and sauna. Whether you're looking to discover memorable summer fun for your Sun Valley, Idaho vacation, or experience our winter wonderland at America's first destination ski resort, the Knob Hill Inn Sun Valley is your choice for the perfect getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Knob Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knob Hill Hotel Ketchum
Knob Hill Inn Ketchum, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing