We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Knob Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Knob Hill Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ketchum
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Highly Recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

The entire staff provides a Five Star level of friendly service! The accomodations are lovely and the restaurant is one of the best in the Ketchum/Sun Valley area, wonderful high-end food. We'll definitely be back and will be sure to recommend the Inn to our family and friends. Sincerely, couple from San Francisco.

Room Tip: Room with fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    20
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
58
170
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hunter, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Working in the hospitality industry for 37 years, i am not easily impressed. My resent stay at Knob Hill in Ketchum exceeded my expectations. The overall property was very well taken care of, the room was spacious and very comfortable. Breakfast was a big plus ,with fresh fruits and pastries along with a daily quiche or pancakes. Dinner at the Knob Hill is not to be missed. What made our stay so memorable was the wonderful staff. From the time we were picked up at the airport till the time we were dropped back off everyone without exception went out of there way to make sure we enjoyed our stay. I would like to thank each and every one on staff by name but i'm afraid of leaving someone out. So thank you Knob Hill ,you sure made a father and son from New York feel very welcome. Ed Sullivan

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sullyHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

It's the little things in life that make a difference. From the incredible breakfast (fresh sliced pineapple, oranges, grapefruits, authentic European pastries, real bread from a local bakery, turkey sausages, egg omelette cups, Starbucks coffee, etc.), to an intelligent selection of morning news, to afternoon cookies, a hot tub, ski storage, and an outstanding restaurant, we will without question stay again. We frequent the Sun Valley area, and are thrilled with our new find. Without being intrusive, the staff extends first class hospitality in the details.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeighBois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnobHillInn, General Manager at Knob Hill Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent stay! Our staff is enthusiastic about providing personalized service and creating an incredible guest experience, so I was thrilled to read your review!! We look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

What an amazing stay! Absolute comfort In every way, very well appointed accommodations, The BEST restuarant in the area and wine list, peace and serenity and exceptional service! I have never experienced such incredible over all bliss while spending a week at luxury, boutique property .The management and staff is what made our stay memorable, they are all so genuinely friendly and fun, we will definitely be back! Special thank you to Robbie who made us feel as though he was our personal valet and concierge. John and Jolie at The Grill for your generosity and awesome laughs, Shannon, Andrew, Marie, Kristen and the entire staff! Your hospitality and service was a pleasure to experience! Now, to paraphrase many of the brief conversations we had with the retired skiers we encountered on the chair lift ride- they would ask us " are you enjoying yourselves"? We would respond with enthusiasm " yes" and they would all end with, smiling "don't tell anyone"! That's how we feel about the Knob Hill Inn, don't tell anyone, it is the best kept secret!

Minnesota

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 55025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer Island, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We just got back from a three night getaway and were thrilled to find Knob Hill Inn. We stayed in a fireplace room, which was very large, with beautiful views of Baldy, and enjoyed a fire in our room each night. The staff was incredible--from being met at the airport with waters and granola bars, to a wonderful tour of the Inn at check-in, to the cookies in the lobby after returning from skiing. The restuarant at the Inn, The Grill at Knob Hill, was the very best dining experience we've had in Sun Valley. Have the fried chicken! The popovers with honey butter are the ultimate welcome. We really enjoyed sitting at the bar in the lobby and getting to know other guests and employees of the Inn. This place is very special, we will be back very soon!!!

Room Tip: Splurge for the fireplace room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowe5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona Del Mar, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

So when you come to a ski resort to stay you prepare yourself for mediocre hotels at high prices, service that is palpably less important to the staff than the conditions on the mountain, and a certain 'you are on your own' attitude from all involved.

Prepare to be pleasantly surprised.

Stayed at the Inn for four nights over MLK weekend. To a person, the staff was professional and went out of its way to be helpful. The room was very large, tastefully decorated (no tacky ski paraphernalia here), quiet, and functional. The bathroom was also very nice with L'Occitane amenities. Special touches include cookies in the afternoon and truffles on checkout. The ability to walk into Ketchum was also terrific.

All of this for less than 1/2 the Sun Valley Lodge.

Place is great - suggest you stay before the price reflects the value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDMTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnobHillInn, General Manager at Knob Hill Inn, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! It was a pleasure to have you stay with us during your trip to Sun Valley and we are so happy to hear you had such a great experience. We look forward to hosting you again very soon!!

Thanks,

Shannon Allen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Amazing service and beautiful hotel. Rooms are huge and very well appointed. Super high quality HD Television with tons of HD Channels. Huge bath area with high end bath products. Hugh soaking tub with separate shower. Super comfortable bed.

Room Tip: All rooms are very quiet, large and luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ketchum
0.9 mi away
Sun Valley Lodge
Sun Valley Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sun Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.5 mi away
Limelight Hotel Ketchum
Limelight Hotel Ketchum
#3 of 10 in Ketchum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tyrolean Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tamarack Lodge
Tamarack Lodge
#5 of 10 in Ketchum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kentwood Lodge
11.4 mi away
Wood River Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knob Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knob Hill Inn

Property: Knob Hill Inn
Address: 960 North Main Street, PO Box 1327, Ketchum, ID 83340
Location: United States > Idaho > Ketchum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ketchum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Knob Hill Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience personalized service, and a warm and inviting European charm at the Knob Hill Inn, Sun Valley's premier boutique hotel. Generously sized guestrooms offer spectacular views of the surrounding mountains. And guests have preferred seating at The Grill at Knob Hill, Sun Valley's popular hot spot with ample seating for dining and socializing. Every stay includes: - Complimentary signature continental breakfast daily - 42" flat screen high-definition televisions in every room - Complimentary WiFi - Complimentary in-town shuttle serviceWithin walking distance to downtown Ketchum and close to all the amenities Sun Valley resort has to offer, the Knob Hill Inn is located in a peaceful setting with views of world-famous Bald Mountain, the majestic Smokey and Boulder Mountain ranges. You can also take advantage of our indoor heated pool, hot tub and sauna. Whether you're looking to discover memorable summer fun for your Sun Valley, Idaho vacation, or experience our winter wonderland at America's first destination ski resort, the Knob Hill Inn Sun Valley is your choice for the perfect getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knob Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knob Hill Hotel Ketchum
Knob Hill Inn Ketchum, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing