We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"THE" place to stay in Ketchum”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Kentwood Lodge
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Ketchum
Certificate of Excellence
Tucker, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"THE" place to stay in Ketchum”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

If you're looking for THE place to stay in Ketchum where you can walk to the restaurants, stores, and Mt. Baldy's gondola, pet the horses at Sun Valley stables, and leave your car parked, then Best Western Kentwood is the answer to your question of "where should I stay?" If you can get a room with a balcony even better! Vicky and Joseph at the front desk were so helpful and accommodating. We can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: We had a room with a balcony on the back side of the hotel with a great view - it was also maybe a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSKentwoodLodge, Manager at Best Western Plus Kentwood Lodge, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you for your helpful review to our future guests. You have described our location and hotel very well and we really appreciate that you feel we are: The place to stay. That means a lot to us. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    103
    22
    10
    5
See reviews for
61
153
19
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Park your car and walk or bike to everything..Clean.Quiet.Comfy..And the staff is friendly and helpful too..I've been going to Sunvalley for about fifteen years and it was the 1st[and only]place I stayed..After a night of fun at all the nearby bar/ restaurants,you have the Kneadery a block away for the best breakfast in town..A lot of times you'll spot a celeb or 2 hav'n breakfast there..

Room Tip: The suites are sweet..But all the rooms are nice,,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jefferyleedavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSKentwoodLodge, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kentwood Lodge, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you for your sweet review,your compliments and loyalty are greatly appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, WA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in early August, in a lovely, newly redecorated large room with a small balcony at the front of the hotel. The clerk at the front desk was very welcoming and informative about downtown Ketchum. The lobby is quite small, but there are a few charming features on the first floor: the duck decoys that float in the indoor swimming pool, and the wonderful covered parking that shades cars from the sun. There are also lockers for snow skis and nice coin-operated laundry facilities.

Our room was well-lit, and had a handy alcove with bar sink, a 4-cup coffeemaker, a mini fridge and a microwave. There were also two bench-like areas for suitcases – much nicer than the fold-out racks. The king bed was superbly comfortable, accented with a Pendleton-style fleece blanket. The furniture was Western rustic, and quite handsome; lighting was excellent. The oversized showerhead in the bathroom was a luxe touch.

Breakfast is not included, but Ketchum has a number of good choices within walking distance. And, the hotel gives out coupons for $5 off per person at the café next door. It has delicious breakfast wraps and bowls; try the one with smoked trout, scrambled eggs and red onions. Scrumptious!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GHgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSKentwoodLodge, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kentwood Lodge, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you so much for the fantastic review! You have stated it quite well and I am sure future guests will be able to imagine their stay with us by your wonderful descriptions. We are very appreciative of your generous compliments and hope to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at this facility on August 26. Joseph at the front desk was very pleasant and helpful. Check-in was quick and easy. Our room was comfortable and nicely decorated. Our tiny balcony was a perfect spot for a glass of wine while recovering from a long day on the road. Wireless internet connection was easy. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NanGS_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSKentwoodLodge, Manager at Best Western Plus Kentwood Lodge, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
We are very pleased you had a wonderful experience with us and a comfortable stay. I am happy to pass on your nice compliment to Joseph,and both he and I appreciate it as well. We hope to be that perfect spot for you once again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
200 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

I had checked into the Tamarak Lodge as it had the highest rating from TA. My gut was shakey when I got there; checked in, went to room, immediately returned key and left. Fortunately there were openings here. Very quiet, comfortable, computer available, great location. This hotel is a great choice.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jad16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSKentwoodLodge, Manager at Best Western Plus Kentwood Lodge, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you for making a choice in staying with us,we are really glad you had a better experience and had a comfortable stay! We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

My office hosted a two-day board meeting at this hotel. We rented the conference room and 26 sleeping rooms. We had several miscommunications with the front desk staff which resulted in the entire event being cancelled (by them) and rescheduled (by us). Three sleeping rooms were rescheduled for the night before the reservation, then marked as no-shows, so that when three of us arrived we had no reservations. The manager was incredibly rude and demanded to speak to several people in our party to accuse us of deceiving her. She refused to apologize for her desk staff misunderstanding what we had tried to tell them, even when we apologized for being unclear. Unbelievably bad customer service. We will never return. I found a much nicer place down the road and we will go there in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSKentwoodLodge, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kentwood Lodge, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
On behalf of our entire team and myself,I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a great experience for our guests. In the planning of the meeting,it was implemented by the Executive Assistant of the Foundation,then cancelled by one of your Board Members letting us know he would let us know when it would be rescheduled. The day after this,you called and stepped in to reschedule it,which I helped do.You had not known why he had cancelled it. In the planning of this meeting we had at least four different people give us plans,changes,and demands. We tried to accommodate the different needs of these different individuals who were all doing so for the same one day meeting. In regards to the three sleeping rooms for you and two other staff members,these rooms were held awaiting your arrival even though your arrival date was unclear. As the Communication Director, you offered for me to visit with the other 2 staff members you arrived with,and I obliged. I did not demand to speak to them,and I listened as you had them tell me their story.
We provided a great meeting space with an excellent review by you on the catering of the event by our on site restuarant,Wrap City Cafe. Your companies guests,(which we had 10 reservations of Board members,and 5 of staff members,most of who reserved online with no communication that they were coming as a group for a meeting with us), complimented our comfortable and clean guest rooms and were pleased with how we accommodated their extra needs and requests during their stay.
We appreciated the Foundation having their board meeting with us,and we apologize once again for any miscommunications that occured.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaysville, Utah
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Kentwood completely messed up our reservations and then instead of calling us to correct it they just cancelled it so when we arrived they just shrugged and said "sorry." They said they didn't have our number, but they had called us when we were making the reservation, so that couldn't have been true. We were disappointed in their organization, lack of follow through and that they didn't even accept the blame when I had them recorded on my voicemail! We ended up finding the last room in Ketchum at Pennay's condos. We were so glad! For the same price we had a much bigger, nicer room with a full kitchen, more ammenities and easy access to biking trails, the ski lodge, and the river for fly fishing. AND just 3 blocks from downtown Ketchum. We're sure glad they saved us because Kentwood really could have messed up our trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amyg54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSKentwoodLodge, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kentwood Lodge, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
We are sorry for the confusion and we do care. That's why we tried to call; as a courtesy to our guests. We had a new employee who did not list your phone number,once she called in the beginning,as we found out when we tried to contact you on the dates of your arrival. We were concerned and so we held the reservation for a day &1/2 after the arrival day came and went with out any contact,I don't know how many hotels that would do that if they didn't care. At that point we didn't hold it any longer. As far as 15 other guests that had a same experience? I think this is questionable. As future guests can see on travel sites, we have been listed #1 in the area,with exceptional reviews. Once again we're sorry,and we are glad to hear Pennay's condo's was able to take care of you and you enjoyed your stay in the Sun Valley area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ketchum
0.3 mi away
Best Western Tyrolean Lodge
0.0 mi away
Limelight Hotel Ketchum
Limelight Hotel Ketchum
#3 of 10 in Ketchum
49 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tamarack Lodge
Tamarack Lodge
#5 of 10 in Ketchum
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Knob Hill Inn
Knob Hill Inn
#1 of 10 in Ketchum
327 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sun Valley Lodge
Sun Valley Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sun Valley
341 reviews
10.9 mi away
Wood River Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Kentwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Kentwood Lodge

Property: Best Western Plus Kentwood Lodge
Address: 180 South Main Street, PO Box 2172, Ketchum, ID 83340 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Kentwood Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Ketchum
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Ketchum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Kentwood Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Location in town! Steps away from dining, dancing, theatre, shopping in the heart of Ketchum, Sun Valley's place to be. All rooms are Non-smoking,spacious,and comfortable with Deluxe pillow top beds and triple sheeting. Remodled all guest room bathrooms are now finished with custom alder wood cabinetry and granite. 42" LCD TVs are in all rooms and WIFI is free. Fireplaces, balconies, in-room spas, kitchen suites with an extended area complete with kitchen amenities are available. Honeymoon suite has a red heart-shaped jacuzzi spa, fireplace, double headed shower & bidet! We offer our guests a $5.00 Value at the Wrap City Cafe onsite restaurant,with qualifying rates. Pets, bikes, skis, snowboards are Not allowed in the rooms. We do have free ski lockers to help accommodate. Some covered parking is available. Mt. Views are spectacular, being only 7 blocks away from Mt. Baldy for your enjoyment. Free Local bus thru town,River Run Ski Plaza at Mt. Baldy&Dollar Mtn.We are certified in Best Western's Ultra Clean program, and have been awarded by Best Western Int. 3 Best of the Best Awards. This past year we have earned Chairman's Awards, signifying being in the top 5% of all Best Westerns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Kentwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Kentwood Hotel Ketchum
Best Western Ketchum
Ketchum Best Western
Best Western Kentwood Hotel
Best Western Plus Kentwood Lodge Ketchum, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing