We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty but that's about it.”
Review of Trail Creek Cabin

Trail Creek Cabin
Ranked #41 of 78 Restaurants in Ketchum
Price range: $16 - $29
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Sun Valley Road
Description: A romantic hideaway since 1937, Trail Creek Cabin is a must Sun Valley dining adventure. Sleighs depart for the restaurant from the village near the Sun Valley Inn during the ski season, and you may also drive. The seasonal menu has a western flare with items including locally raised beef, Idaho Trout, baby back ribs and the Hemingway meat loaf. All complimented by a great wine list and a full bar.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Pretty but that's about it.”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I'll make this short:
Pros: Beautiful scenery if you sit by the window, nice atmosphere, we had a good waitress.
Cons: food is ok - for the prices I'd expect the food to be at least good. We arrived and there were no other guests at the restaurant - we didn't have a reservation and the host still made us feel like he was doing us a huge favor by giving us a table.
Overall - we don't think we will be returning.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    13
    8
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good, but make reservations”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We visited there midweek just after Labor Day, knowing the area not to be crowded, and even though the place was almost empty, they still expected reservations. When we said we did not have one, they seemed very put out by our misstep, which ended up making us feel unwelcome. They "found us a table" on the patio by the door, and our waitress was very welcoming and nice, but the host fellow needs to learn how to not be so stuffy to his customers. The food was delicious, we were not very hungry due to a late lunch, but my roasted beet salad was a perfect sized serving, and delicious with fresh and local red and yellow beets. My husband ordered the sliders, and was pleasantly surprised by the size and taste as this was meant to only be an appetizer. We had a wonderful time once we made it past the initial check-station treatment. Next time, we will make the reservations and avoid the icy reception.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank IdahoTraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Cozy intimate atmosphere, delicious food”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Four of us enjoyed a really tasty and interesting meal after an early season day of snow showers. No outside tables today, way too cold, but the interior was warm and comfortable, also rather dark and the service was attentive and prompt. No population pressure today, we're in slack season in late September, and there were plenty of servers to cover the 50% of tables occupied in our dining room. The other room seemed full. The wine and beer list is fairly limited but we found a very reasonable Snake River Riesling we very much enjoyed. We started with two market salads, which are different every day, today including roasted pears, squash, pecans, and a nice variety of baby lettuce, an enormous beet salad, and a tasty, creamy cup of butternut squash soup. For entrees we chose today's special, a meltingly rich lamb shank atop creamy mashed potatoes and crisp green beans, two meat loaves, justifiably famous combinations of ground bison, ground lamb, and bison bacon, plus more, and a steelhead trout, served with a topping of tomatoes and olives. They were all large portions and were excellent examples of locally grown products. For dessert, a berry shortcake with rosewater ice cream (smelled like perfume and tasted unlike anything we'd ever had before) and two Turkish pots de creme, rich and solid puddings spiced with cinnamon and cardamom, with a dollop of whipped cream and mint leaves. That pot de creme tasted like the very best of fall and the Thanksgiving season. The cabin was warm and cozy and welcoming on a chilly night, also dim enough to make reading the menu an adventure. We had a wonderful meal and skilled, professional service, and we'll come back again to try the elk steak and the planked salmon. Hope they have that pot de creme again, thought we were too full for dessert but it was absolutely extraordinary.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rcatesby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Amazing atmosphere, delicious food!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

During the summer months, you can ride in a horse-drawn wagon to this restaurant and during the winter months, you can take a sleigh there. You also have the option to just drive there, but the wagon ride really added to the experience. It really does feel like a cozy cabin and the food is so good! The only thing I would change is the outrageous amount of time it took to be served. We were there for two hours and had to gobble our food down so we didn't spend the entire night there. I think that this is just to add to the relaxing atmosphere, but at some point it just got frustrating. Other than that, I would highly recommend this restaurant. I would also suggest that you definitely make a reservation ahead of time because it's on the small/intimate side. You also have the option of eating outside on the patio or inside the cabin. Both seemed nice; we ate inside and had a good experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had a lovely dinner at the Trail Creek Cabin. The setting is perfect. I had the meat loaf which was the amazing. Wonderful flavors and a very big portion! My daughter ordered the roast chicken and practically licked the plate! The service was a bit on the slow side. I think our waiter was spread a bit thin that nice. He was very nice and helpful but just not there too much! I would eat at this restaurant again

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trail Creek Cabin also viewed

 

Been to Trail Creek Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing