We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service”
Review of Trail Creek Cabin

Trail Creek Cabin
Ranked #41 of 78 Restaurants in Ketchum
Price range: $16 - $29
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Sun Valley Road
Description: A romantic hideaway since 1937, Trail Creek Cabin is a must Sun Valley dining adventure. Sleighs depart for the restaurant from the village near the Sun Valley Inn during the ski season, and you may also drive. The seasonal menu has a western flare with items including locally raised beef, Idaho Trout, baby back ribs and the Hemingway meat loaf. All complimented by a great wine list and a full bar.
Huntsville
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is a fun place to visit. I went with a group and we cross-country skied in and back. Would have been less scary if the moon had been full.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank empresski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    13
    8
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot but spotty service and food”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Absolutely lovely ambience especially eating outdoors and watching the sun set over the mountains. The downside is they offer only three entrees for dinner so you would think they could do all of them superbly. Had the fresh fish, wonderful. Too many of our party of 16 had to have their sirloin steaks returned because they were overdone, almost inexcusable in the west.
They were gracious but that interferes with the flow of the evening when food has to be returned.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunvalleyresort, Manager at Trail Creek Cabin, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Diana B

Thank you very much for your feedback. We appreciate your business and we are pleased that you chose to showcase our beautiful Trail Creek facility to your large group.

We have made many changes while upgrading our restaurants this summer, and we have had primarily affirmative comments and compliments on our group menu; unfortunately your experience was to the contrary and we will certainly use your concerns to rectify the matter promptly.

Only with solid feedback can any restaurant mature and improve. We appreciate your remarks and will respond accordingly.

Sincerely,
Natalia Tekiela
Director of Restaurants
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Valley, ID
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A tourist haven”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is such a beautiful setting -- one of Sun Valley resort's best but the food is inconsistent. Go for their happy hour. Great prices and decent food.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sunvalleyjodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunvalleyresort, Manager at Trail Creek Cabin, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Sunvalleyjodi,

Thank you for letting us know about your most recent experience at Trail Creek Cabin. We will continue to work on improving our consistency in order to ensure every guest has great experience every time they dine with us. I hope you will join us again so that you can see these improvements for yourself.

Sincerely,

Natalia Tekiela
Director of Restaurants
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Valley, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“This is why you came to Sun Valley!”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Spectacular views in all directions, gorgeous landscaping and flowers, horse drawn sleigh rides to the restaurant in winter and horse drawn wagons in the summer. Huge white tents on the grounds for weddings and special occasions. Take a walk around the ounds and bring the kids. It is cowboy chic. Dining and cocktails outside in the summer. The food is well prepared and tasty but the the real 5 stars is the setting.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank burgessca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A Sun Valley Requirement”
Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

In winter the guest get a sleigh ride to this log cabin restaurant. In summer eat outside and enjoy the beautiful view. The food is traditional American. Service is friendly. So eat here and realize a tradition that is older than Vail, Aspen, or any other manufactored ski town. This is authentic northwest log cabin dinning at its best.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1Racer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trail Creek Cabin also viewed

 

Been to Trail Creek Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing