We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solo gal with my dog”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Tyrolean Lodge
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Ketchum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Really felt at ease here as I was traveling alone with my dog. Clean, dog friendly place with polite staff. Good location, easy parking. I will return!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lanny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quadro1, General Manager at Best Western Tyrolean Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

We are glad you had a great time. We are pet friendly and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (437)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

383 - 389 of 437 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2012

We had a mini-vacation in Sun Valley where we stayed at the BW Tyrolean Lodge. Our room was clean and comfortable - with a great king bed, and a sliding door that opened to a shared deck area. Our room faced the mountain. It's not the newest property in town, but for our needs - it was perfect.

The breakfast was perfect for carbo-loading for a day of activities. 4 different cereals, bagels, breads, English muffins, waffles, fresh whole fruit, and other items were all available. They had a tv on in the continental breakfast room tuned to the Tour de France! Cool! We were there to be active, and this motivated us to ride hard!

The staff seemed genuinely interested in our visit. Tom, Mary and Guido were all helpful with our stay.

After a day of activities, we soaked in the pool and hot tub. It was great!

The lodge is about a 3 minute walk to the river run lifts and about five minutes from Main Street, Ketchum.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slckiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quadro1, General Manager at Best Western Tyrolean Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

We are very glad you enjoyed your visit at our hotel; we are always pleased when our guests have a great time in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Neat decor. Met our needs for a short trip. The location is VERY convenient to Sun Valley Skiing and town...pretty much walk everywhere you need to go.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank DavidVonZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

great value located with in walking distance to the river run ski lift. older but clean and well kept. a nice breakfast is included which adds to the value

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We've stayed at this property twice now, back to back years. It's a great value considering other accommodation options in the area. Very clean, a more than sufficient breakfast included, ample parking and the unique decor make this place a good choice! They could do with a bit of sound proofing as you can hear what's going on in each room from the hallways, but that is relatively minor. We will be back I'm sure!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mountainmamamitri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Stayed here in a king room for one night in a ski trip. The hotel is older with painted panel decor that is nice for a ski hotel, but certainly isn't modern and sleek. But they have racks for your ski gear in the rooms. The rooms are large and well maintained. I found free wifi, but not sure if it was from the hotel. Odd thing about my room was that it had a very nice ceramic tile shower but no bathtub. Paying attention to the details, they have great beds, neither to soft nor hard, and nice quality towels.
Location is a couple of minutes from the heart of downtown Ketchum, either a short drive or bus ride.
The big deal is the parking lot for the River Run base of Bald Mountain is across the street from the hotel. Excellent for us skiers. And the price beats pretty much everything else in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tvlohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2011

Great little place to stay. Fabalous bed, with crisp sheets and fluffy down comforter. Very clean with nice towels and quiet. Bathroom is a little small. Floors are laminate, with are a little chilly in the winter. Will stay again. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piper0127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ketchum
1.5 mi away
Sun Valley Lodge
Sun Valley Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sun Valley
362 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Kentwood Lodge
0.5 mi away
Tamarack Lodge
Tamarack Lodge
#5 of 10 in Ketchum
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Limelight Hotel Ketchum
Limelight Hotel Ketchum
#3 of 10 in Ketchum
102 reviews
0.8 mi away
Knob Hill Inn
Knob Hill Inn
#1 of 10 in Ketchum
351 reviews
10.7 mi away
Wood River Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Tyrolean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Tyrolean Lodge

Address: 260 Cottonwood St., Ketchum, ID 83340 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Tyrolean Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Ketchum
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Ketchum
Price Range: $120 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Tyrolean Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tyrolean Lodge has the best location in Ketchum. This beautiful Austrian style Lodge is nestled in the Sawtooth Mountains and located within walking distance to the base of the World Famous Bald Mountain River Run Lodge. Situated in a quiet residential neighborhood with breathtaking Mountain View Rooms. You are just a few steps from the bike path, and yet a ten minute walk puts you in the heart of downtown Ketchum. Featuring shopping, art galleries, dining, dancing, nightlife, many yearly festivals and sporting competitions. Surrounded by the Sawtooth National Forest, you will find that hiking, biking, golfing, fishing, horseback riding and rafting are all within your reach. Reflecting the active outdoor lifestyle of the Sun Valley/Ketchum area. Our hotel incorporates today's amenities like free WIFI in room fridges and 42" flat screen TV's with DirectTV programing and HBO movie channels, while maintaining the original Austrian decor. We invite you to step back into the classic, old-world charm of the BEST WESTERN Tyrolean Lodge. We look forward to visiting with you and your family on your next trip to the Sun Valley/Ketchum area. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Tyrolean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tyrolean Hotel Ketchum
Best Western Ketchum
Ketchum Best Western
Best Western Tyrolean Lodge Ketchum, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing