We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome Oasis”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sun Valley Wine Company
Ranked #32 of 79 Restaurants in Ketchum
Cuisines: Wine Bar, American
Dining options: Drinks, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, Serves Alcohol
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
87 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Welcome Oasis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

During Slack Season, not all restaurants are open so I was very happy to find the Sun Valley Wine Company open. There is a huge metal mottle of wine on the side walk, then you walk up one flight of stairs. The staff was polite and found me a nice seat on the patio. The Malbec they selected was just right. The roasted butternut squash soup left a little to be desired, but the Caprese salad was very good. Ice tea was great. Will go again next time in town.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 3elizabethb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    9
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Huge Wine Selection, Helpful Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Perfect spot to enjoy a glass of wine. Our wives were shopping so my buddy and I headed to "the wine shop" for a drink. Mid-Sunday afternoon during ski season so the place was empty. We each had a glass of wine, seated in the deep and comfortable leather furniture around the fireplace, with views of Bald Mountain just above the roof-line of the neighboring building. It's not always that peaceful, but always good regardless of how many customers are in the room. Wines by the glass can be sampled so you really can get just the right taste you’re wanting. Snacks and food is always well prepared and tasty. Drink in or purchase from the wide selection for take home.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed-Idaho-USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
307 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Good Selection of Wine with Cozy Fireplace”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

We have had mixed experiences going to the Wine Company over the past several years. A few years back we stopped going because the owner/proprietor was clearly favoring his local friends (ie, telling us they were out of appetizers and then producing a full array for friends arriving later). We decided to give it a try again this year and the service was a bit better. Still good selection of wine and an improved (and available!) appetizer menu. My husband consistently finds wines to purchase at competitive price from Wine Spectator's Top 100 list.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MeAgain8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Level Contributor
132 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Really special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I love the SV Wine Company. Light lunch selections are standard and tasty.Wines by the glass or hundreds of bottles to choose from to enjoy for a small corkage charge. Wonderful fireplace and private deck. Service is always excellent. Atmosphere is always fun and very enjoyable.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A charming find ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

When we were too late to have lunch at the Kneadery, they suggested the S.V. Wine Company, where we found lots of wine ... and lots of charm. The manager was extremely helpful and friendly. The lunch suggestions were perfect and we ended up splitting a pizza and salad accompanied by lovely wine. I'd definitely recommend stopping by here any time of the day!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LuvTravel925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sun Valley Wine Company also viewed

 

Been to Sun Valley Wine Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing