We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great bread and even better dessert”
Review of Ketchum Grill

Ketchum Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Ketchum Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 78 Restaurants in Ketchum
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 5th Street
Transit: Kart bus stop is two blocks. Get off at the Elephants Perch stop.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Good food, great bread and even better dessert”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This looks like a place where the “locals eat” (always a good sign). A casual and unassuming ambiance with good food. We started with homemade bread (two kinds) that was possibly the best bread I have ever tasted. Then, my husband had a salad that “quickly vanished from his plate.” I had the prosciutto wrapped prawns… very tasty. We then proceeded to the Lamb Shank that literally just fell of the bone and was paired with tomato polenta and broccoli that was perfectly cooked and flavored.

The best was the dessert. It was difficult to choose from the extensive menu but we finally decided on the warm chocolate truffle cake with homemade mint chocolate chip ice cream… OMG! Don’t leave without eating this.

The service was great and we will definitely return.

Note: The bell staff at the Sun Valley Lodge runs a complementary service that will take you to the restaurant and pick you up when you are finished.

PS. We ate here twice (midweek) and it was full both times... so, make a reservation.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    73
    22
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“overall a little disappointed”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This restaurant has one of the most beautiful approaches at night, set on the side of a street that iwas filled with lit Christmas trees, surrounded by snow. The restaurant itself has a cosy ambience. We ordered the meatloaf and the duck, with merlot, both of which were okay, the vegetables were adequate, the apple pie same, and the coffees had no flavour. We found the staff to be impersonal, efficient but disengaged, we were somewhat disengaged ourselves about the Ketchum Grill!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank albertst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Family Friendly”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Ketchum Grill has a very nice selection of ebtrees at reasonable prices. The wait staff was extremely pleasant and attentive. They were all very good in looking out for our young grand daughter

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry98027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Late night treat”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Enjoyed a late night dinner here over the holidays. I had the burger which tasted excellent. I also tried several other dishes which all tasted good. I was planning to share the creme brûlée but ended up eating it all myself. I craved it for the rest of the trip (and even thought to call in a to-go order for it but thought that was too over the top). Would for sure go again for dessert and coffee.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutherlin, Oregon, United States
1 review
“One of the last of the "Old Sun Valley" eateries”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Rustic, funky, and definitely "old Sun Valley". The food is consistently good and so is the service. Louie's and Warm Springs Ranch are gone but Ketchum Grill is thriving. If you want to dine in a genuine old ski town restaurant try eating here. You'll definitely enjoy it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seaweeble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ketchum Grill also viewed

 

Been to Ketchum Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing