We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not very good”
Review of Boca - CLOSED

Boca
Cuisines: Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Ketchum is adjacent to Sun Valley. Many tourists refer to Ketchum as Sun Valley, so it is appropriate to list this restaurant with two city names: Kechum and Sun Valley
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Boca is not a good restaurant. I ordered an appetizer, main course, and desert, all three were defective. I started out with fries, ordered crisp, they came out limp and over salted, then my main course was loaded with garlic, then ordered a hot fudge sunday and the fudge came out room temperature. Three bad experiences, somebody is not managing the restaurant very well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank highstandards00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca K, Manager at Boca, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

I would like to apologize for your poor experience at Boca. We strive to give the best possible service and serve the highest quality food and drink choices possible. Boca is known for bold and exciting flavors, Our hand-cut russet and sweet potato fries should not be limp, but they are lovingly tossed in a house made seasoning mix of salt, pepper, chili powder, and other flavorful additions, plus they are accompanied by our very popular Boca sauce. Many of our dishes include garlic as an ingredient to add to our distinctive flavor profiles. For most dishes we can adjust the amount of garlic as a patron desires. Our homemade fudge sauce is used as a room temperature garnish on our desserts, most famously on our broiled banana split. We don't actually have a hot fudge sundae, on our menu. Unfortunately, it sounds as though your server missed the "hot" description on your special order. We hope that you will give us another chance, as we want everyone who walks through the door to have a "knock your socks off" Boca experience. Thank you so much for your valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 22 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012

come in for a drink and tapas, or have a full meal. Varied menu and wine list (certainly not only Spanish) and friendly, helpful staff. The bar is divided from the restaurant, so even if the room is crowded, it is possible to have a conversation. Reservations recommended during the high season.

Thank Peggy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca K, Manager at Boca, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your Boca experience. We do strive to offer a variety of dining styles; tapas style, and more traditional, and/or a great place to enjoy a delicious cocktail and meet up with friends in a very fun and lively atmosphere. Come for a visit apres ski to warm up this winter!
Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

There is a variety of dishes to choose from. The service is good. The restaurant is nicely decorated and very comfortable.

Thank 79Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca K, Manager at Boca, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Thank you so much for visiting! We are happy that you enjoyed yourself, and greatly appreciate the review. See you next time. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We visited Boca on a Friday evening, although the place was not terribly busy.
Our waiter passed us by many many times during a 5-10 minute wait without ever greeting us. He finally took our drink order, which he said he would put right in. Instead he proceeded to take the orders of a 6 and 4 person table before putting our order in. He did this many times during the evening. I did try to catch the Maitre d' s eye several times, with no success.
In spite of our server, food was quite good. The avocado arugula salad was excellent, as was the steak special. The Chicken Tortilla soup was so-so.
I had been very excited to try this place since I had heard that it was opened by the people who used to have Il Naso.
There are so many great dining options in Ketchum that I doubt I will return here soon, given the service. Too bad, otherwise I would have returned for the salad alone!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank carztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca K, Manager at Boca, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you very much for your honest feedback. As a new restaurant we really value constructive comments that allow us to grow and improve. We are pleased you enjoyed the food, and apologetic that the service did not meet your expectations. We understand that Sun Valley has many wonderful dining venues to choose from, but hopefully you will make it back our way and we can fulfill your experience on all levels. Until next time Cheers!
Boca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Nice ambiance, beautifully decorated, and very pleasant place just to hang out. Truly a new addition to culinary Kechum/ Sun Valley. Richard

Thank rhagglof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca K, Manager at Boca, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Richard,
We are glad you made it to boca, and enjoyed the atmosphere and your over all experience.
Please come back and hang out anytime. We look forward to your return :)
Boca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boca also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing