We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bowl of Soul!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of java

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
java
Ranked #2 of 4 Coffee & Tea in Ketchum
Cuisines: Cafe, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
179 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Bowl of Soul!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

Java is always our first stop when we arrive in Sun Valley! Their trademark "Bowl of Soul" is the best bowl of coffee I've ever had! Java has great breakfasts including avocado on toast and poached eggs. I've never tried their pastries, but they all look delicious! It can get very crowded,but it is worth the wait in line.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    8
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Washington, NY
Level Contributor
96 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in ketchum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

We love sun valley and every time we come part of what we look forward to is a bowl of soul at jJava! Breakfast options are aplenty and all delicious. Go!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank drdkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bowls of Soul, Eggs & Toast, Bagels & Cream Cheese Heaven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

The Eggs & Toast are awesome, best toast & raspberry jelly. The confetti eggs are awesome with a tortilla on the side. The hippie in a bowl is out of this world OR order it "dirty" which mean with bacon. You can get the hippie with or without tortilla. Bagels & cream cheese are my kids most favorite item on menu. The muffins are outrageous but not low calorie. The sour cream raspberry muffin is awesome if you want to indulge. Can't go wrong.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Valley, Idaho
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Java used to be fun...but the service is not good and the food is just so-so. I would rather go to another coffee house in Ketchum. I wIsh Todd would up his game and get the ice-cream stand going in the summer with actually good gelato and ice-cream. It is so mediocre.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank sweetie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
183 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Best coffee in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

I love the pottery bowl, called a Bowl of soul, delicious mocha coffee with a real dollop of whipped cream, not out of a can, doused with nutmeg ,cinnamon and chocolate

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank AnnaLast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed java also viewed

 

Been to java? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing