We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beyond disappointed!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Tamarack Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tamarack Lodge
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Ketchum
Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beyond disappointed!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2009

My husband and I had stayed here for our anniversary in April and had a pleasant experience. However, on this visit, it was the worst hotel experience I can remember having. It was my husbands birthday and we checked in at 3PM. Immediately we could hear very loud stomping coming from the room above us. I called the office and told them. They said there were only 2 adults NO children staying in that room. We left and went to dinner and when we came back at about 9PM the stomping was still going on. I called and complained again and then found out there was approximately 3 adults and 3 kids in the room. The office called them and within minutes we had a knock at our door. It was one of the kids. The young child tried to hide but I could see her anyway, I just shut the door and thought hopefully they had been asked to leave. Moments later we had another very loud knock on the door and it was a woman who proceeded to scream at us for shutting the door on the child who knocked and then hid. WTH? Anyway, the woman threatened violence. We asked for the front desk person to call the police. While she was very sweet and knew we were not in the wrong she asked if we would change rooms. Apparently we had no other choice. The new room reeked of cigarettes, the beds were the worst , very bouncy!(also very smelly) and the bathroom was very dirty. We were not offered any compensation. I strongly suggest avoiding this place.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzq9769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    59
    26
    10
    10
See reviews for
40
68
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2009

Tamarack Lodge was a great place to stay and the employees went out of their way to provide excellent service. Staff was eager to help with recommendations, requests and all of our questions. The location is perfect and the rooms were a great value.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seattledaisy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Tennessee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2009

When we check in the room, we notice the sink was very dirty. No problem, washed it out ourselves. Next morning at 7 a.m.; after begin blasted awake twice by noisy neighbors with less than adequate sound proofing, we found out quickly why the sink was coated with what we now know is soap scum. Our noisy neighbor above us shower flooded our sink and out into the floor and carpet. The flood coated everything we had on the counter with the dirty shower drain water. We called the front desk; but no one shows up to clean up. At check out we complained but not even a discount on the room was offered.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colden
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2009

I made my reservation using Lonely Planet recommendation. Found the room lovely, huge in fact. Staff great; helpful. Bicycles available upon reservation. Pool & Spa excellent. Great value. Would stay again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judyjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2008

We made reservations to stay the night before a family function.(with a special rate) When we arrived my wife noticed an odor in the room. I took my son to the pool to swim. The smell turned out to be food left by a previous guest 5 days before. Also, when I returned from the pool I noticed the toilet had urine and toilet paper in it from the previous guest. we did notify the front desk and they cleaned the bathroom with sanitizer, (I just had assumed this would have been done before checking in).

We decided we would stay another day but would like another room. The next day my wife went to the office to see about another room, we checked another room and found it to be not much better. My wife tried to speak with the gal at the front desk as my wife is trying to be curtious due to my son being present, the gal was very unprofessional and started yelling at my wife and told my wife to get out of the motel.

Overall it was not a great experiance and would not stay again.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank hlmc17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2007

We were booked on the 3rd floor. This lodge has no elevator and no valet service. I was not told this at the time of booking. I suggest people who have problems climbing stairs with luggage not book. The carpet in the room had big stains and had an odor. Of the four staff members I encountered, two were friendly and helpful, two were not helpful and answered questions in a rude manner. Mangement made no effort to address my concerns and was rather rude herself. Room was large and clean, but furniture was old. My overall expierence at this hotel made my trip less pleasant and was definitely not worth the price charged.

  • Liked — Not much.
  • Disliked — The Staff and the lack of elevators .
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DOCUMENTSPLUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2006

There are many pricey hotels in this area, and we settled on this one after a lot of internet research. Our standard king room ($139) was very large and clean, with fridge, coffeemaker, and microwave (and ski racks for winter visitors). There was a spa and an indoor pool.
Location is right in Ketchum, within easy walking distance to everything.
We would definitely stay here again, but would ask for one of the rooms off the interior courtyard, as our deck view was an alley with parking and traffic.

  • Liked — Large nice room
  • Disliked — Deck view, Early maid
  • Tips/Secrets — Recommend room on the inner courtyard
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank lesbriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ketchum
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tyrolean Lodge
0.9 mi away
Sun Valley Lodge
Sun Valley Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sun Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Limelight Hotel Ketchum
Limelight Hotel Ketchum
#3 of 10 in Ketchum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kentwood Lodge
0.4 mi away
Knob Hill Inn
Knob Hill Inn
#1 of 10 in Ketchum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
11.1 mi away
Wood River Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarack Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack Lodge

Property: Tamarack Lodge
Address: 291 N. Walnut Ave., Ketchum, ID 83340
Location: United States > Idaho > Ketchum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Ketchum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tamarack Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tamarack Lodge looks forward to your visit to the Sun Valley area welcoming you with beautiful spacious rooms, comfort, unmatched hospitality, combined with unparalleled location all yours in the heart of downtown Ketchum, with all the comforts of home. The property also has a beautifully landscaped courtyard, a wonderfully relaxing outdoor hot tub with a great mountain view and a year-round indoor heated pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tamarack Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack Lodge Ketchum, Idaho
Tamarack Hotel Ketchum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing