We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor customer service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tamarack Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tamarack Lodge
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Ketchum
Friendsville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor customer service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

Overall the room was comfortable and very convenient to the bus line to the ski resort and to all stores and restaurants in Ketchum. With the exception of one (older female) employee at the front desk, the customer service was rude. When asked for help with transportation, locating a restaurant and general information I was met with indifference and the feeling that I was imposing. Thinking maybe this was a Ketchum or Idaho attitude I brushed it off but then found that all other shops, restaurants, and businesses I dealt with, that my experiences were overwhelmingly positive.

I would definitely return to Ketchum for the beautiful location and leisure opportunities but would NOT return to the Tamarack Lodge.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MollyKnoxville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    59
    26
    10
    10
See reviews for
40
67
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
freemont
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

We checked in yesterday and felt like writing a review because of the fantastic view. I am sitting in my room looking out at the ski mountain after a great day of skiing. I can;t believe quaility of room that we recieved. We have been to Sun Valley in the past years and were excited to come back. The staff has been great and I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are planning to stay in Ketchum. One of the best things is that you are literally in the middle of town and everything is in walking distance which is great during the winter. We parked our car and have walked everywhere. Off to the Hot Tub watching the snow fall....Jeff

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view...they are outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

This was my first visit to Sun Valley and I stayed here last weekend with a few friends and had a blast! The rooms were large and comfortable and the staff was amazing!! They were extremely friendly and very accommodating and didn't hold it against us when we changed the reservations a few times. I was really impressed with the location right in the middle of everything! Best part? The fireplace!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

The hotel is in the best location in the heart of Ketchum - walking distance to everything. The Tullys breakfast added to the reasonable cost of the room. The staff was friendly and informative and the room was clean. We had a great view of Baldy from our room - with a balcony to sit out and enjoy the view. We will stay here again on our next visit.

Room Tip: Get a room on the end on the third floor for the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pattyh131SV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

I grew up going to Sun Valley and now that I have a family I am realizing what an investment that can be. Lodging can be incredibly expensive and there are not many options for people that are budget conscience. A Friend recommended the Tamarack Lodge and we could not have had a better experience. Huge Rooms, super clean and very affordable. We are planning to go back next year and I would recommend this place without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seattlfamilytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pendleton, Oregon
Level Contributor
110 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

We stayed here a couple of nights and enjoyed our stay. We had a queen fireplace room with a sofa, microwave, coffee maker and refrigerator. Sliding door opened into back courtyard. We were on the ground floor. 2nd and 3rd floors had balcony. We stayed here because they allowed our shihtzu (for an extra $25).
We used the outdoor hot tub, but were unable to swim in the indoor pool - it was freezing. Very clean - a nice packet of lotions, shampoo, sunscreen etc. given with check in. Also included coffee and muffin at Tulleys across the street for ONE day. Great location, close to restaurants and shops. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ORCon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

My husband was working in Ketchum for two weeks so I went along. Tamarack Lodge is very conveniently located. We could walk to just about everything. The room was spacious and quiet. We have since stayed two more times. Really nice place and the staff was so helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IdahoSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ketchum
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tyrolean Lodge
1.0 mi away
Sun Valley Lodge
Sun Valley Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sun Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.4 mi away
Knob Hill Inn
Knob Hill Inn
#1 of 10 in Ketchum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kentwood Lodge
0.2 mi away
Limelight Hotel Ketchum
Limelight Hotel Ketchum
#4 of 10 in Ketchum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
11.1 mi away
Wood River Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarack Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack Lodge

Property: Tamarack Lodge
Address: 291 N. Walnut Ave., Ketchum, ID 83340
Location: United States > Idaho > Ketchum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Ketchum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tamarack Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tamarack Lodge looks forward to your visit to the Sun Valley area welcoming you with beautiful spacious rooms, comfort, unmatched hospitality, combined with unparalleled location all yours in the heart of downtown Ketchum, with all the comforts of home. The property also has a beautifully landscaped courtyard, a wonderfully relaxing outdoor hot tub with a great mountain view and a year-round indoor heated pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Tamarack Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack Lodge Ketchum, Idaho
Tamarack Hotel Ketchum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing