We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Silver Mountain Resort Lodging
Reviewed August 17, 2009

We stayed in a one bedroom unit on the 3rd floor. The unit was like a small apartment with a great kitchen that was fully stocked with everything you needed to cook meals (granite countertops, even!). Everything was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Even the sofa bed in the living area was comfortable for the kids. The lodge is a condo time share, but the staff never bother you to invest. Each unit is individually owned, but our unit was great. I peeked into other units and they all looked the same as far as decor, so that is great as the quality of the furniture was superior to any other place I have stayed at.

The kids (6 and 11) enjoyed the indoor water park very much. The Flowrider was a hit for all, with all of us able to body surf. The staff at the waterpark was great and very friendly. It is smaller than the Great Wolf Lodge's waterpark, but the kids didn't seem to mind.

The other activities here in the summer (winter is skiing) is the gondola ride to the mountain. It leaves directly from the lodge and is a wonderful ride. We went for the bar-b-que at the top and really enjoyed the meal (get one of the ribs and one of the chicken and share!). They also had disk golf and geocaching available at the top, but the weather was not cooperating for us so we just enjoyed the scenery. We also did a mine tour at the Crystal Gold Mine. It was a little pricey ($42.00 family) but we enjoyed it anyway. Got to pan for "gold" and could hardly pull my husband away. Great priced gifts at their gift shop. We might have to come back in the winter and try skiing!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lake_Tapps_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
There are newer reviews for Silver Mountain Resort Lodging
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 178 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2009

Just got back from taking three of my grandsons to Silver Mountain Star Lodge. We rented the Pricey Loft room. Worth every penny of it. It was a wonderful visit wished we would of had more time to let the boys play the second day, but had to get back.

Room was incredible and staff were wonderful. Buildings are a little hard to find, but you need to look a the main door to each building it is labeled.

Cannot wait to take my granddaughter!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lthomas1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2009

Had a great time visiting the family while staying at Morning Star Lodge. Spent the whole day at the water park and there was never a dull moment. I do plan on staying there again this spring.

The only thing I will do different is I will stay longer!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shadowcomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2009

Finding the room is close to impossible. None of the buildings are numbered. After a 15 minute search with ski's and bags we found the condo unit....facing the I 90 freeway(NOISY). It was a handicapped accessible unit with counters, etc. for people in wheelchairs, trouble is we both are tall upright people. We were given another unit that took literally another 15 minutes to find. You need a key card to enter buildings, elevators and parking lot and they deactivate themselves frequently. The unit was FILTHY. Dog hair everywhere, 2 packages of cigarettes and frozen coffee cups on the balconey, 26 cents and filth on the kitchen floor. Another call to the front desk and they acted like I chose this unit and I was the problem. They sent 3 maids to clean and when we returned later the condo was no different except the 26 cents was missing and the balconey was cleaned. We gave up and cleaned the rest of the mess. We never used the waterpark and using treated water at this place wasn't an option. We came to the conclusion that management is poor or doesn't exist. From the dog waste on pathways and the overflowing garbage dumpsters just outside the Lobby and Condo buildings shows a lack of oversight and care. Even if they offered a free lodging we will never stay at the Morningstar Lodge again.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank rbooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2009

We were in North Idaho visiting family (and a new grand baby!) and we had brought all of our ski gear for some extra get away fun time at one of the local ski mountains. I found a great deal online for a 2 night ski/stay package for 2 at the Sliver Mountain Morning Star Lodge in Kellogg, ID ( an old, small, rustic, historic silver mining town) and thought we would try it. WOW! What a GREAT place! Are you kidding me!!?? Freeway all the way!! Take one exit and you are in the parking lot, there! Done!

We were there by 1:00 and the friendly desk staff let us check in early since our room was ready and waiting for us. The rooms are AMAZING; spotless, beautifully furnished and even the budget studio has a kitchenette with plates, silverware, sink, fridge, dishwasher and microwave not to mention cleaning supplies! Oh, did I say GREAT rooms!!?? You can enter and exit the lodge with your room key from other doors without passing the front desk at all. The package included 2 night's stay for 2, 2 day lift tickets for 2, a private ski locker with a FREE laundry, (YES, I did say that !!) for all your gear and admission to the 'little' indoor water park! Wow!

The water park after skiing was a blast.( Be sure to ride the tubes and especially the Big Blue!) There are age appropriate locations for the whole family!! The staff was amazingly helpful. The lodge site has a convenience store, mountain gear store, a pizza parlor, eateries, bars (inside the waterpark, too). The food was wonderful and everything, right down to the wine and drinks, was stunningly well priced. There were steaming outdoor hot tubs, fire pits with chairs for just hanging out and a sense of a new destination resort about to bust wide open at any minute.

(Oh, I also noticed that they are open in the summer with mountain bikes and all.) Back to the winter review....

The mountain itself is not huge, however, it is challenging enough for anyone and has some beginner runs that are easily accessible. However, be advised, a Black Diamond rating is not to be taken lightly at Silver Mountain! Take a Blue run and discover some of those wicked hidden Blacks busting off the sides. Oh, did I mention the AMAZING gondola that takes you to the ski slopes? (Included in the price as well!) and a slope side ski in/ski out gondola hut with a great food and bar just steps from the lift. The mountain closes early on the weekdays but has night skiing on the weekend. The sun dips below the mountains and it gets icy fast, so be sure to take advantage of the morning sunrise ski slopes and the compact board park is not to be missed.

This laid back little gem is a hidden, undiscovered, unpretentious hot spot that we loved!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ClassAct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2009

Deceptive advertising. Built and run by fifth graders. High prices for lack of service and comforts. 100 gallon garden tubs in condos only have 40 gallon or 50 gallon hot water heaters, so hot baths are impossible. Managements excuse? "Each unit is individually owned, so we don't have control over many features...". Seriously, they knowingly sold us a $300/night hot tub suite with a non-functioning hot tub! Unacceptable. Period. Cold water and air in the waterpark, watched many blue-lipped kids shivering uncontrollably, including ours (5 & 7 yrs old). Drunks drinking beers in the Lazy River, not very family friendly, unless your an alcoholic parent with no regard to health, safety, or common courtesy. Drunks playing smash-face on the FlowRider was amusing for adults, but frightening for younger folks. Cars parked at random throughout the lot, some taking up to three spaces, and parked in loading/fire zones entire weekend. Make-your-own-rules (Read: DUI) parking system. Great. All buildings are separate, so you must go outside (brrr, this is a ski-resort in Idaho with a waterpark, right?) to get to front desk, restaurant, water park, hot tubs, gondola, etc. Nice upscale image is presented, but nothing actually WORKS as advertised. Except the ski area. This is where they started, and thankfully, adults still run the mountain. So ski Silver Mountain (great staff, amenities, and service!!!), but stay somewhere better but cheaper (Best Western 50 feet across the street.) Not as pretty, but a MUCH better value (at least what you pay for actually works instead of paying for good looking stuff that doesn't work). For a family friendly indoor waterpark, go to Triple Play in Cour'd'Alene for warm water and a warm room, all attached together (with a free breakfast to boot!). It's a Holiday Inn Hotel, which means it has central hot water that never runs out, unlike each individual condo in Morningstar Lodge that has it's own undersized water heater(warmer?) and other "unique" features. And good luck getting any kind of service from the staff at Morningstar Lodge. After all, they "don't own the units," they "just manage them." We'll be heading to Mt. Bachelor next time we want a REAL condo ON the ski slopes, Wolf Creek Lodge when we want the best family friendly indoor waterpark, and Triple Play combined with 49 Degrees North for both warm water fun and great skiing in the same affordable weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ntrinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2009

Stayed in a 1bd for 3 nights. The condo is very upscale and well stocked. Location can't be better for skiing and the kids loved the water park. The front desk was a was not to helpful, wouldn't allow a 1 hour late check out on a Monday. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Kellogg though, its worth the extra money. We visited the Baymont next door and wouldn't consider staying there, it smelled bad and is a dump.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolynschut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kellogg
0.2 mi away
FairBridge Inn & Suites Kellogg
10.4 mi away
Wallace Inn
Wallace Inn
#1 of 3 in Wallace
359 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Stardust Motel
The Stardust Motel
#2 of 3 in Wallace
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
The Brooks Hotel
The Brooks Hotel
#3 of 3 in Wallace
35 reviews
0.4 mi away
Trail Motel
Trail Motel
#2 of 2 in Kellogg
33 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Maison sur le Hill
La Maison sur le Hill
#1 of 2 in Kellogg
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Mountain Resort Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Mountain Resort Lodging

Address: 610 Bunker Ave, Silver Mountain Resort's Gondola Village, Kellogg, ID 83837-2200
Location: United States > Idaho > Kellogg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Kellogg
Price Range: $172 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Mountain Resort Lodging 3*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our year-round resort is conveniently located in Kellogg, Idaho just off I-90, 70 miles east of Spokane and 30 miles east of Coeur d'Alene. Home to some of the best skiing and snowboarding in the Northwest, Galena Ridge Golf Course and Silver Rapids, Idaho's largest indoor waterpark. At Silver, the family fun never ends whether you enjoy snow tubing, skiing or snowboarding during the winter months or golfing, mountain biking, hiking, gondola rides or a variety of family activities during the summer. Make Morning Star Lodge the base-camp for your next family adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Silver Mountain Resort Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Mountain Morning Star Hotel Kellogg
Silver Mountain Resort Lodging Kellogg, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing