We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Talk about overpriced! NO WIFI..disappointing restaurant.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Silver Mountain Resort Lodging
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We were driing through and were caught late in the day with no reservations. As this was the only place with vacancy within a 20 mile radius we were stuck. What a disappointing experience..they only restaurant was Noah's Canteen..it's basically a burger joint but the prices and menu descriptions lead you to believe you are getting something a lot nicer. We almost cried when they set down the depressing looking meails in front of us. The check-in staff were actually teenage robots. The room was difficult to find (thank goodness it was July and not January) and our card keys did not work in the outer door so we had to wait for someone to come along to let us in. I don't remember the last hotel I stayed where they didn't have WIFI, free or for a fee but this place does not have it. There is no insulation between units so we got to experience Girls Weekend next door. Said enough?

Room Tip: Don't choose a room.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
There are newer reviews for Silver Mountain Resort Lodging
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 178 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012

Myself, wife and 3 year old son stayed for 5 nights in August 2012. On check in we were met by a very helpful and courteous staff who told us about the resort and gave us our waterpark passes, even though we were early and our suite wasn't ready.

The waterpark is great! It is limited to hotel guests only so there were no lines except for the flow rider surf machine which was very popular. It has a lazy river, 3 large slides and 2 smaller kids slides and a toddler area. It was great for a three year old but I can see how teens may get bored.

Our suite was nice, large, with a nice kitchen and laundry. The bed was new and it was a nice, abit smaller balcony.

On the weekends you can go up the gondola to sightsee or mountain bike. Was a little miffed that the book in the room had the times it ran wrong.

All in all we had a great trip, but it wasn't perfect....

CONS:

Cleaning staff didn't clean anything, they only emptied the garbage.

On Saturday night we had a bunch of rowdy drunk young kids above us. Security had to be called. Seriously who comes to a family resort to party hardy?!?!?

It's a good 30 mins from Coeur D'Alane so unless you just do stuff there you will be doing alot of driving, through a mountain pass no less.

PROS:

Super friendly staff at desk, waterpark, gondola.

Everything is pretty darn new.

Waterpark is included and only available to hotel guests.

I would deffinatley recommend this resort to families!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeoJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

If you are traveling to Northern Idaho in Summer with your children, you would be well-served to base yourself at Silver Mountain Resort in Kellogg, Idaho. There are activities for the entire families as well as for grown-ups and children to do their own things. We went without our children and were emotionally torn during the trip: we knew that they would have LOVED being there and we wanted to share that. We also were truly enjoying the activities by ourselves.

As soon as we arrived, we rented bikes from Silver Mountain Sports and pedaled out to the Trail of the Coeur D’Alenes. The Trail is an almost 75 mile-long, flat bike trail where the train tracks once were. They ripped out the rails and paved it over and created one of the nation’s premier Rails to Trails experiences. Once we passed the non-scenic town of Smelterville, it was like going from Kansas to Oz: Technicolor scenery with each vista being more beautiful than the last. We were constantly gasping -- at the beauty of the lakes, meadows, and farms and the fact that we passed maybe 7 people on our two-hour ride. Some of those passers-by carried fishing rods on their backs. That’s the wonder of Idaho: it’s gorgeous and even in high season, no one is there.

If you go with kids, they will be freaking out (in a great way) over the water park. There are rides, a lazy river, surf lessons and hot tubs in an adults only section.

You can get the best breakfast for miles at the Mountain Cafe -- don't be in a rush, it takes a while. It's worth it.

For my complete review, go to http://bit.ly/MaMGRc There are videos and more photos. We really had a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingmomid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We booked a room so my son could play at the water park. The room was large, very clean, and smelled good. The room came with a mini kitchen that included plates, silverware, coffee cups, wine glasses, and a dish washer. There are gas BBQ's available by the hot tubs. They also light several of the fire pits around the resorts at night. There are several games to play outside like volleyball, checkers, ping pong, teetherball, and many more. Restaurants right at the resort that are excellent. Very per friendly too.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guf57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Our bi annual girls week end was spent at this facility. Check in was easy, but the staff was curt ant cold. The one bedroom that we had chosen was furnished with all amenities. The kitchen was very easy to cook in, had a full sized refrigerator, dishwasher and microwave. There was a gas fireplace in the living room and the unit had two televisions. The flat screen above the fireplace was very good, but the bedroom one is old fashioned. We could not get the DVD player to work and had to call front desk. They sent a very knowledgeable person up rather quickly.

When we called to get additional blankets and pillows, they acted as if we had bothered them. I liked the bathroom. I have never seen such a large room in a timeshare condo. There are two separate sinks and a huge bathtub. This was very useful.

We stayed two nights, but didn't go to the water park. Just walking by the facility, the smell of the chlorine was overwhelming. There were lots of people walking by our 2nd floor unit to go into the park. Lots of little children and babies with diapers.

The second night we watched a steady stream of teen agers walk by with suitcases and pillows. Didn't know how many, but found out during the night there must have been hundreds of them. (Sounded like that anyway). At 10:48 p.m., I called the front desk to ask if they could stop the noise. The kids were outside our room below us and then there were others that were running up and down the halls, they were on our floor and the floor above. The front desk young man said he couldn't do anything about it right then since he was all alone, but would come up as soon as he could. Nothing. The kids continued until 2:30 in the morning. This is not a pleasant way to spend a night.

When I talked with Kelly at the desk the next morning, she at least listened and apologized for the church group that was staying at the place. She offered 50% off the cost for that night. That was a start.

Room Tip: We were in C unit on the second floor close to the water park. A bit noisy and no view of anything...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ravenlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Highs: Attentive, friendly lifeguards; short lines (if any) for the "good" rides; Flo Rider.
Lows: Air temp was a bit cool; lack of unfried food at concession stands; I-90 noise at night (see room tips).

Our family of 5 stayed in a one-bedroom condo (with loft) on a Tuesday night for about $440 total, incl. tax. A bit on the high side, even including water park admission for two days. All the kids slept in the loft and we had a private master suite. The lofts are nice but oddly narrow; they cram a lot of furniture in so it felt a bit cramped. A complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast would have made this a good value.

We arrived in the afternoon and tired the kids out with a 2-hour waterpark session. Went to find dinner in town at 7 pm (see my review of The Broken Wheel, where we ate). Not many places off-resort that were open. Weird.

We went back to the waterpark at 10 the next day and played until 1. The FLo Rider wave machine was fun to watch, fun to boogie board on. Definitely tighten up your bathing suit if you try this one; I had a partial "uniform malfunction" that was embarassing, especially since the people in the bar have a full-on frontal view of you.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor of Building D and the trucks on I-90 could easily be heard at night. If y...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YakimaClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in a one bedroom condo. It was plenty spacious for our family of five and we made good use of the full kitchen. The kids played their little hearts out in the water and crashed every night making it fun for us too! The only complaint is the staff. Talk about crabby! Yikes.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ajcarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kellogg
0.2 mi away
FairBridge Inn & Suites Kellogg
10.4 mi away
Wallace Inn
Wallace Inn
#1 of 3 in Wallace
360 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Stardust Motel
The Stardust Motel
#2 of 3 in Wallace
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
The Brooks Hotel
The Brooks Hotel
#3 of 3 in Wallace
36 reviews
0.4 mi away
Trail Motel
Trail Motel
#2 of 2 in Kellogg
33 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Maison sur le Hill
La Maison sur le Hill
#1 of 2 in Kellogg
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Mountain Resort Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Mountain Resort Lodging

Address: 610 Bunker Ave, Silver Mountain Resort's Gondola Village, Kellogg, ID 83837-2200
Location: United States > Idaho > Kellogg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Kellogg
Price Range: $172 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Mountain Resort Lodging 3*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our year-round resort is conveniently located in Kellogg, Idaho just off I-90, 70 miles east of Spokane and 30 miles east of Coeur d'Alene. Home to some of the best skiing and snowboarding in the Northwest, Galena Ridge Golf Course and Silver Rapids, Idaho's largest indoor waterpark. At Silver, the family fun never ends whether you enjoy snow tubing, skiing or snowboarding during the winter months or golfing, mountain biking, hiking, gondola rides or a variety of family activities during the summer. Make Morning Star Lodge the base-camp for your next family adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Silver Mountain Resort Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Mountain Morning Star Hotel Kellogg
Silver Mountain Resort Lodging Kellogg, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing