We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fishing Lodge”
Review of TroutHunter

TroutHunter
Ranked #2 of 26 Restaurants in Island Park
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Fishing Lodge”
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Stayed for a week of fishing with 3 friends. Beautiful location on the banks of Henry's Fork. Rooms are large and nicely appointed in a western theme. Bathrooms appear brand new with tiled floor and shower. Most rooms overlook the river, with a large continuous balcony on the second floor. WiFi is good. TVs pretty small, but who comes here to watch TV. These is a modest amount of noise intrusion from adjacent rooms, could have used better soundproofing in construction. Food is quite good and fishing guides are excellent. Fishing/Lodging packages offer an excellent value. Currently the lodge serves both as a fishing lodge and a local gathering point for bar patrons. Plans to develop an adjacent property as a bar should allow for this location to refine it's focus on the restaurant and lodging activities.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bmwTN66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    35
    9
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Go for the fishing, return for the food.”
Reviewed September 10, 2011

I have been going to the Trouthunter Lodge every year for the past 6 or 7 years and a big part of the reason I return is the restaurant. We all know that fishing can be hit or miss, but the food here is consistently amazing. They serve breakfast, lunch and dinner. It is very family friendly; the kids can run around on the lawn while you sit on the patio and watch the sunset. Later in the evening the place transforms into one of the best “trout bars” in the country. If you are a fly fisherman, you simply must experience an evening here. I was there only two months ago and I miss it already!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flytofish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved it so much, ate there 2 nights in a row!!”
Reviewed August 10, 2011

My wife and I made the trip from Jackson Hole, where there are so many excellent restaurants. Trouthunter was so excellent. Seafood pasta and the quail were awesome, and the sunset over the Henry's fork wasn't so shabby either!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank davisthepiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A magical place on a true test of a river”
Reviewed August 4, 2011

I stayed with a friend and had an amazing time. The BEST guides in the businnes, attentive staff and GREAT food due to a new chef. Very reasonably priced and the go to bar in Island Park. Its a no brainer. Stay there!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank flyfisherman09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great and fresh salad with a wonderful view.”
Reviewed August 21, 2010

We were passing through Island Park and saw all the cars in the parking lot, usually a sign of good food. We took our chances and found that the food, service and view from the patio to be very pleasant and satisfying. I had their wonderful beet and grilled chicken salad and my husband had portabello mushroom sandwich. Our waitress was very pleasant and efficient.
We are planning to do some snowmobiling in the area and will surely be back for some wonderful food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BMWmotorcyclewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TroutHunter also viewed

 

Been to TroutHunter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing