We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never will return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sawtelle Mountain Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Island Park
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We have been here three times.
Rooms are limited space.
Air conditioner was broke. Three fans to cool us were not sufficient.
The sink was a foot from the bed, very hard to wash your hands.
on there ad said they have pool and hot tub. Both broke!!! They kept telling us
it would b fixed the next day. Finding out pool and hot tub been broke for three months.
Hotel lady was going to charge us extra space in the camp area because she thought
are family was different that us that had lined up the camping fee.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
There are newer reviews for Sawtelle Mountain Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

137 - 143 of 186 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2011

This was one of the smallest two-queen rooms we stayed in. The hanging rack couldn't be used because the table was under it, and the table couldn't be moved because there was no where else for it to go. The sink was right next to the door - you couldn't open the door to the room if someone was at the sink.

There was a strange smell - we pinpointed it to a mildew smell from the tub drain. I mentioned it three times to management but it was not taken care of.

Office hours were 8AM to 8 PM, which was inconvenient; several times we needed something after 8PM and could not reach anyone.

The pool and hottub were not working the whole time we were there. The day we wanted to check out the office person was 15 minutes late; we couldn't get checked out until 8:30 which threw off our travel plans.

On the website and on the phone they said they were 20 minutes from the west entrance of Yellowstone. They are not - they are 20 MILES from Yellowstone, which was 30-35 minutes. We will not go back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaryLynne7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

I was never treated better at any other place that I have ever stayed at. I was there for 10 nights in July this year, and I will be back when I get back out in that area again. It was great, and close the Yellowstone Park. I really enjoyed my stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ra1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We got there and checked in ,in the evening. We opened the door.... It was a mess. They didn't clean from the people from the night before. Both beds were slept in and towels on the floor. We left and ate across the way. When we got back I had pulled the sheets back and lifted the pilows by the head board checking for bed bugs instead I found blood stains on the side of the mattress and on the floor. The lady at the front desk didn't refund or even discount the rate for the housekeping mishap. Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tipywos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

A good alternative to west yellowstone, if you are willing to drive 20 or 25 miles south/west. But no one local answers the phone in the evening, so don't expect directions, get directions before 6pm.

Room Tip: get directions early!
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tractor3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

We were hoping to use hot tub and pool only to find out after driving 10 hours that both were broken down and we had booked 4 nights. Bed felt like sleeping on cardboard too. We cancelled and still got charged for the first night after clerk said "Youd leave because of no pool or hot tub"? After driving 10 hours-seriously how could anyone ask that question?

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoteluser_1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Sawtelle Mountain Resort - sounds great - doesn't it? We stayed there for 3 days to tour Yellowstone. Now mind you, we are not picky or germaphobic, however the place is just plain dingy. Dust all over the tv, dirty old bedspread, the place is a hotel trailer. There are screws in the bathroom walls and trailer type ceilings in the closet. We asked about wifi - "oh no - only in the lobby". okay, we asked about the hot tub - "oh it's broken and needs to be replaced". okay. we asked why we only had 1 tv station which was FX, "satellite company hasn't fixed it yet", okay, we asked about the ice machine, "oh that thing never works right". The attitude at the front desk was so rude. The last night I said "Is the tv service back on?" she said: "nope - sorry". with an almost snotty attitude. For three nights the cost was 223.00 with tax and we also booked it online. The shower was pitiful and not clean looking. The water temperature constantly changed from severe hot to cold. Lovely. There was no chair in the tiny sad room. It was either sit on the bed or floor. My husband and I are older and with an old lumpy, thin bed - you needed something to sit on for these tired old bones. I think I could have tolerated nothing working, but with the attitudes of the front desk personnel, that was the pudding on the cake. Also, the flourescent lighting in the room flickered if you had it on. We had to keep them off. The personnel said "we've changed them already". Our door didn't work correctly. Sometimes you had to go get the master key to open it. They admitted it never worked right. The swimming pool was working - WOW - we went and looked and it was cloudy - ewwww. Didn't want to go in that water. The restaurant was not open - nowhere really to eat.

Please - go somewhere else. The back pains and other issues were not worth the lower price.

Sawtelle Mountain Resort. I think they meant trailer resort-ish!!

Room Tip: Try Super 8 or Motel 6 if you are on budget!
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chatycath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Island Park
11.2 mi away
Angler's Lodge
Angler's Lodge
#2 of 4 in Island Park
101 reviews
14.5 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
787 reviews
14.5 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Timbers Condominiums at Island Park
14.5 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
716 reviews
14.6 mi away
Days Inn West Yellowstone
Days Inn West Yellowstone
#20 of 39 in West Yellowstone
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawtelle Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawtelle Mountain Resort

Address: 4133 Quakie Ln, Island Park, ID 83429-5501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Island Park
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Island Park
Price Range: $140 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sawtelle Mountain Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sawtelle Mountain Resort offers room to fit any size and any budget. From a Single room to large 25 person groups. We have luxury family cabins for a party of 22 fully furnished. We have a large park for reunions with an indoor swimming pool, and spa. We have rentals of canoes and mountain bikes also. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Sawtelle Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawtelle Mountain Hotel Island Park
Sawtelle Mountain Resort Island Park, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing