We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveler rating
47
32
15
7
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
32
15
7
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverfishyellowstone parkwest entrancehoneymoon suitea bit overpricedtwo queen bedsfirst floorlog cabinminute drivelodgeidahopillowscookfireplacemt
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 116 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2018

We loved the view. We had the end room so I'd say a much better view than the middle units. The beds and pillows were not the best but all 4 of us slept ok and didn't wake up in pain. The front desk staff didn't seem very forwardly interactive for this smaller venue, which I'd expect a bit more of. It definitely was overpriced for the room, staff and amenities, but being so convenient to Yellowstone West entrance is how they charge so much. Their restaurant has a great menu and we ate here two nights and enjoyed both meals, but pricey, however was vacation so we expect paying a bit more when traveling. WiFi doesn't work hardly at all in rooms, you have to sit in lobby to get decent signal, and don't bother getting their complimentary breakfast unless you just want a waffle. We saw two waffle irons and a bowl of shelled eggs that I have no idea what that was for, and you had to hunt someone down to ask, so we found somewhere else nearby to eat.

Room Tip: End room has better view. Loud creaky floors so upstairs would be less noise.
  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank missbecca13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenifer B, Guest Relations Manager at Angler's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all your feedback.
Wifi is the thorn in my side up here, but it's the mountains and wifi is spotty at every single location up here. It's natures fault...lol.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2018

Stayed here on a bicycle tour. Friendly staff and an OK restaurant in the building. Roomy rooms and acceptable furnishings but very noisy. Shower water from adjacent rooms was a roar and every footstep could be heard. Good WiFi. Breakfast OK but there was no milk for cereals, etc. Very pricey but the entire area is a seasonal one so don't expect a good value this close to Yellowstone Park or such good fishing.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betterisbetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenifer B, Guest Relations Manager at Angler's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2018 via mobile

We have stayed at Angler’s Lodge over the past 10 years or so on our way to utah from Montana several times a year as it sits right at half way between Billings and Provo and it sits on Henrys Fork river. We stayed twice this week. We have seen many changes at this property over the years and our opinion today is that it probably needs new owners.
The property is ok but needs updating and after owning a small motel for several years myself It’s easy to see that the owners here have unfortunately lost interest these days.
We met the owners several times and they are the nicest people but seem to have lost interest in running the hotel as it probably should be run.
This is not a negative review as I believe the property is quite booked in the summer months and has many great reviews as you’ll see, it also has had difficulties keeping staff probably because of its slightly isolated position.
I know the restaurant has been opened and closed many times again due to keeping staff.
The owner does live right close to the property so it’s not like there’s no one there but at least in the winter months your on your own.

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
10  Thank Montanaaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2017

Prepaid three nights, but left after two!

I just wish we'd read the reviews first - don’t know where to start with the many wrong things about our stay here. Some people might call the Angler’s Rest quirky; I say the management just couldn’t care less. So many little things that individually a real hotelier might tolerate, but finally all accumulating into an avalanche of overpriced amateurism! We moved rooms after our first night, but the second night was barely any better.

Why was the bed mattress more than three feet six inches off the floor, so high you’re actually afraid of falling out of bed?! Why were the sink plugs incapable of allowing water to escape? (They were broken, but no-one had ever bothered to check them). Why is all the plumbing so old and noisy it can be heard in adjacent rooms? Why was it almost impossible to regulate the shower water-flow & temperature? Why could we hear the guests in the next-door room frolicking in their hot tub, after 10pm at night? Why is the insulation so bad you can hear other guests speaking and walking around their rooms, opening and closing drawers & closets? Why was the security door-chain broken on each bedroom? Why even bother having one (not two individual) poor bedside lights, that it’s impossible to even read a book by? Why did we – and other guests - need Alan Turing (Google him) just to work the TV remote control? Why was ice for the guest rooms just heaped into an outside bin, rather than from a proper dispenser?
Also we were warned it was only continental breakfast - but without any croissant or bread rolls??? Fair enough, but the food was extremely sparse, we had to ask for cutlery and the butter was solid frozen lumps that even a knife wouldn’t initially penetrate. Then there was no jelly, peanut butter or marmalade. We told there was none available - because they were still awaiting a truck delivery!!! Really?? On Idaho Highway 20, not even in winter, but during September! That was "The End", even though we knew we’d be losing our money, we checked out after two nights, even though we’d already paid for three.

Believe it or not, checking out a day early made my partner and I feel really happy, it was such a relief to leave! I suggest the owner actually spends some nights in the rooms, observing all that gone wrong over the years. People don’t pay money to hotels, and then tolerate less comfort than in their own homes.

On the upside, the view of the river was spectacular – but the Almighty was responsible for that, nothing to do with the Angler’s Lodge!

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank ScottishBoxcarRiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenifer B, Guest Relations Manager at Angler's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was unpleasant. Although it's been almost a year since your stay i'd like to let you know, and anyone reading this review that we take all reviews seriously and work hard to fix any issues our guests find. So here it is a year later and I'd like to take a moment to tell you what we've done.
First of all the crazy high bed....we tossed that in the burn pile. It was the only bed in the entire hotel that tall. We bought it because of the the beautiful hand carved bear bed posts, but rest assured no one will ever have to climb up it again.
Sink plugs have been replaced.
The plumbing is not something we've ever had a complaint about, but have looked into.
We have worked on the water flow and temps of water and have had no further complaints.
Security door chain's in all rooms have been checked and replaced if needed.
lights are in working order, many new and brighter.
The TV was an ongoing issue last year but has been fixed with new receivers and remotes.
Ice machine has and always has been up to code, that is a matter of preference, but we are okay on that one.
Continental breakfast at the time was due to a chef leaving. It was temporary, and much better now.
I think you'll find that all complaints you've listed have been taken seriously and corrected. There is always room for improvement and we strive to be the best we can be.
I would like to give you and other guests staying anywhere a bit of advice. When you have a bad hotel experience ask to talk to a manager at the time of your stay. Insist on it. I can't speak for every hotel and every manager, but at the Anglers Lodge our managers are dedicated to helping our guests have a fantastic experience. We appreciate the opportunity to correct any problems at the time the problem arises. We want your stay with us to be positive, but we cannot do our very best job unless we are alerted to issues as the occur. Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2017

We didn't get to stay here but we ate breakfast and spent several hours on their lovely deck. The food was very good and the wait staff was pleasant. This would be our first choice to stay if we return to Island park.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank reformguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews