We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a GREAT RESTAURANT!!!!!”

Boondocks Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in Island Park
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Description: We are closed for the fall as of Oct 14th to prepare for the coming winter! Thank you all for a great season!
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Seriously....in the middle of nowhere!!! Out in the boondocks of Island Park, Idaho sits this wonderful, family owned and operated restaurant. Delicious food and baked goods along with fantastic service and local stories.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank edieungar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackfrito, Owner at Boondocks Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind review of Boondocks! We really enjoyed meeting you folks and are glad you found Boondocks! Take care....have a great winter! Thanks again, the Boondocks crew- Doyle family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 148 of 163 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2012

Locally owned, well run establishment by some downhome folks-a real find. Read the other reviews, they are spot on, I'm just confirming it. We ate at the restaurant one night and picked up carry-out another night. It was that good.

Thank MarkWood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackfrito, Owner at Boondocks Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Thank you! We are glad you enjoyed Boondocks...we try hard to cook fresh food at a decent price and are happy you took the time to give us a review! Thanks again, hope to see you back someday, the Doyle family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Cash only! The food is out of this world delicious and fresh. We had the million dollar salad, popcorn shrimp and $2 lemonade with free refills!! We will definitely come back. Zach, our horse guide at Eagle Rodge recommended the place and he was right on. Soooo good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank passion8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackfrito, Owner at Boondocks Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Thank you so much for your enthusiasm for Boondocks! It is customers like you who make it all worthwhile. We are glad you had a good time and Thanks again for taking the time to give us a shout out! Hope to see you back, the Doyle family and crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

If you are staying in the Island Park area or just passing through, a stop at Boondocks is a must! We enjoyed a dinner of trout and the thai salad on the patio on a lovely summer evening, and we could not have asked for a more perfect dinner. The food was fresh, delicious, and affordable--this is a charming little place for a wonderful meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank planplan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackfrito, Owner at Boondocks Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Thank you for your very nice review of our family restaurant! The Thai salad was a new addition to the menu and we kept improving it until we thought the home-made dressing had just the right amounts of fresh ginger, garlic, and sesame oil! So glad you liked it! Thanks again for taking the time to give us a great review, hope to see you back in the Boondocks! The Doyle family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We drove 30 minutes to try this place and it was worth it! The place is out there, but the food was great!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Henderson435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackfrito, Owner at Boondocks Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Wow..Thank you for the great review! It was fun to read how Boondocks appears from the "other side" of the counter! The reason it is so strange is at first it was only the two of us (Pat and Nancy) in the kitchen and we would cook and prep food until someone (usually a local) came in ... they would just holler out an order to us in the back and then go take a seat. This was the system which worked after we finished building and decorating the structure ourselves. Since we are off the beaten track it was a local hang out and people knew Pat was frequently alone in there...times have changed and we probably will go to "full service" next summer! We just had our 5th Boondocks Birthday! Thanks again for taking the time to write such a wonderful, entertaining review...it was a treat to read and folks like you are what makes it all worthwhile! Glad you found us, the Doyle family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boondocks Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Boondocks Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing