We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ponds Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Eagle Ridge Adventures(Island Park)(Great Value!)
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
River Lodge(Island Park)
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Angler's Lodge(Island Park)(Great Value!)
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Super 8 West Yellowstone(West Yellowstone)
$187
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel(West Yellowstone)(Great Value!)
$270
$243
Official Website
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Trouthunter Lodge(Island Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveler rating
27
13
4
6
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
13
4
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspoolscabindrivekeyutahgasfishing
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 58 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2009

We took our small children on a trip to Yellowstone and surrounding areas. Ponds lodge was perfect for families. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and has choices that my kids enjoyed and a great selection for my wife and me. The kids played in the Buffalo River which was a few steps from our cabin. It is a shallow, slow moving river that was perfect for kids to wade in and explore.

The staff was helpful and the service was great.

There are several Yellowstone quality wonders to visit within just a couple of miles of Ponds Lodge including Upper and Lower Mesa Falls and Big Springs. The kids loved feeding the fish in the crystal clear pools of Big Springs. Bring plenty of quarters to buy fish food!

The trip was truly relaxing, which is not at all common when traveling with kids. We loved waking up in the morning with the cabin windows open and listening to all of the bird calls in the morning stillness. We can't wait to go back again next summer.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boisefamily7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2009

The cabin we stayed in was brand new, modern, and clean. We were there for a snowmobile trip and enjoyed Pond's Lodge and our accomodations thoroughly. We expected cabins to be like the ones the other reviewers complained about. Our group is not yuppies so we didn't care, we were there to recreate, and the accomodations are secondary, so we were very pleasantly surprised to stay in a new log home with 3 bedrooms, 3 baths, and a full kitchen.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MT_SnoMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2008

Worst place I have ever stayed. Cabins were being demolished but they were renting them out until right before bulldoozing them down. When I complained they refused to make it right. There were safety hazards and black mold in the shower. Even though they are building new cabins, I suggest never doing business with people who would let someone stay in such a place and then actually charge money for it.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank shirgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PondsOwner, owner at Ponds Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2009

None of these cabins are being rented anymore because they have all been sold. This particular review was written by a woman who had the option to stay in a new cabin and chose not too because of the price difference. Since her stay we have added more brand new cabins, a smoker in the restaurant and a day spa. The lodge itself is 86 years old and is a historic landmark in this part of Idaho. Every year we are updating and upgrading as necessary. The Lodge has a timeless feel to it and we try to keep it in its original form as much as possible. Our website is also being updated to include pictures of the new cabins and ammenities

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2008

Rustic? What a joke. Its no wonder the Pond's Lodge's website doesn't actually show photos of the cabins. They know that no one would stay if it did. Rustic usually means minimalistic water and power. Rustic here means not fit for human use. We attempted to stay in cabin #4, but ran for the hills very quickly. The cabin itself was "clean" - no dirt, no bugs seen. Unfortunately, it is falling apart on the outside and the inside.

Bathroom - Toilet so close to the wall that you have to sit sideways. Door has no latch, you prop it open with a wood block, and prop it closed with the same block. The mold on the floor under the sink was a nice design touch. The floor is falling away from the walls towards the kitchen (to the right of the bathroom). Light in the bathroom doesn't work (changing the bulb didn't do the trick). Toilet flush handle was not attached to anything inside of the toilet. One good thing - the water heater worked.

Kitchen - Falling off of the cabin. The fridge made this terrible buzzing sound. Holes in the floor were covered with rug, I almost fell in it. Floor and walls are separating. The floor was very wimpy and unsafe, I would not recommend stepping on it, when I did it sunk down several inches and never felt solid. Stove/oven was dirty, but stove top worked. Light in here also did not work, again changing the bulb didn't do it.

Bedroom - Holes in the carpet. Bed appeared to be clean and made, although outer most sheet was dirty.

Staff - "nice" but useless. Check in process was smooth and quick, although the girl looked at the wrong dates several times and assured me that they didn't have the reservation. Luckily while shuffling through the pages, I caught a glimpse of our name. After viewing the cabin, we went back to complain about the shape it was in. Girl admitted she had never been in any of the cabins, and that next year (2009 possibly) they were going to tear them all down if they didn't sell them. When asked for a light so we could see the toilet in the dark, she refused. Bailing procedure was smooth and quick. Girl acted like people deciding not to stay is a frequent occurrence, and she basically shrugged as answers to everything.

Ponds as a whole - They are currently in the process of trying to sell the crappy cabins and supposedly build new ones and perhaps a subdivision. I can see why the other cabins haven't been sold. From what we saw, they were all in shambles. Many of them had plastic on the there missing sides and roofs ect. Ours had the insulation coming out the bottom, no step to get into it, the door would hardly open and there were large holes in the siding. Out back there was a muddy "trench" and the electrical panel was wide open.

5  Thank BoiseBronco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PondsOwner, Owner at Ponds Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2009

Upon arrival of these particular guests, there was clear understanding that they preferred to stay in a less expensive, older cabin. All conditions were communicated. Also, they brought 2 large dogs with them (unannounced) and when asked to pay the pet deposit after staying in the cabin for 3 days with no complaints, became unreasonable. The older cabins have all been sold and are no longer being rented. We have newly construction cabins, and the cabins that have remained have been completely renovated. Some guests prefer to stay in an economical, comfortable, renovated cabin - and others prefer to stay in a brand new yet still cost effective upgraded cabin depending on their trip.
To summarize this experience for these guests- everything was clear and communicated from the beginning and because of a pet deposit, we have a negative review. Our website is currently being updated with pictures of the new cabins and updated information about the lodge and its ammenities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Les responsables vous donnerons se que vous voulez. TOUT est PARFAIT
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews