We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do NOT stay here!!”
Review of Ponds Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Island Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ponds Lodge
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do NOT stay here!!”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

My wife and I reserved a room for 3 nights while we were visiting Yellowstone National Park. The morning after the first night, we got a call regarding a family member in critical condition and had to rush back to Seattle. Carl wasn't available when we checked out, however we were told that we would be reimbursed for the other 2 nights as soon as he came in. Four days later and Carl hasn't even had the courtesy to call. We've called 5 times, and left 3 voice mails, but have consistently been told that he is not available. Based on their vague answers, it's all too obvious that the front staff are lying for him. He hides behind his employees in order to avoid people who have legitimate complaints and will not reimburse people even when they have a family emergency. He's a coward and has no class.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    11
    3
    6
    7
See reviews for
22
10
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

The whole place has gone under a huge overhaul and no expense was spared, the bar, restaurant, and all the cabins are awesome, we were fortunate enough to have one with a hot tub, we went river rafting during the day, it was a great place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

As a group of five traveling to Yellowstone, our camping accommodations fell through at the last minute due to weather. We scrambled to find a place to stay that very same evening and called several places. Each tried to take advantage of us by claiming we were booking at the last minute and thus needed to pay more. We finally called Ponds Lodge and they were more than accommodating. Despite having no vacancy, they offered us a cabin undergoing renovation for a discounted price since we were in such a difficult situation. Everything you need is contained onsite: gas, food, convenience store... truly a great place. Should I return to Yellowstone in the future there is no doubt I will stay at Ponds Lodge again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, CA
Level Contributor
187 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were tired of getting ripped off by motels in West Yellowstone, so we decided to stay in the Island Park area about a half hour down the highway. We paid $75 for a king room, which is a great deal compared to the high prices in West Yellowstone. There were four rooms in each "cabin" building. The room had pleasant western décor. The room contained a king bed, a nightstand with lamp, a storage unit with flat screen TV and DVD player, a ceiling fan, and a heater. That's all. There were no chairs to sit on! That was annoying, since there was room for a couple of chairs. There was no closet, no luggage rack, little storage, no desk or table, no bathtub (shower only), no tissues, no included breakfast, no hair dryer, no towel rack, not even a clock! The shower head was good, and there was plenty of hot water. The bathroom had decent counter space, but it was very poorly lit. The room was not very well lit, either. The bed was comfortable. A noisy family took the room next to us, and we could hear every word they said. We had a nice breakfast in the Ponds Lodge restaurant, but we had to pay for it. What it boils down to is: if you really want to save money and don't mind the bare-bones nature of this place, go for it. I don't think I'd want to stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 4 Joyful Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardnerville
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful place. Just the perfect little cabins out in the woods. Clean and cozy everything in the area that you need. The beds are very comfortable. Was on a motorcycle trip and it sets your mind at ease knowing your Harley is right there in front of the door.
The price is o reasonable you feel that the check in girl made a mistake. But after double checking she was right. What a still will return and return again.




Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Rented a 4 Br for 3 days. Spacious, completely stocked with kitchen gear. Immaculate. At under $300 a night, great place for a large family or a group of fishermen. Staff most accommodating. If you are ever up that way, give it serious consideration.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minerjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We recently rented a Cabin at Pond's Lodge for a fishing trip. The place was fantastic, I believe it was Cabin 33. Everything was new and clean, and we were astounded at how reasonably priced it was. If you're headed up that way I can't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldDredger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Island Park
6.6 mi away
Sawtelle Mountain Resort
Sawtelle Mountain Resort
#1 of 4 in Island Park
158 reviews
20.3 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
732 reviews
6.6 mi away
Timbers Condominiums at Island Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Angler's Lodge
Angler's Lodge
#2 of 4 in Island Park
94 reviews
20.3 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#1 of 39 in West Yellowstone
683 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Drift Lodge
The Drift Lodge
#11 of 13 in Island Park
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponds Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponds Lodge

Property: Ponds Lodge
Address: U.S. Highway 20, Island Park, ID 83429
Location: United States > Idaho > Island Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Island Park
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Ponds Hotel Island Park
Ponds Lodge Island Park, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing