We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Happy Repeat Visitors”
Review of Old Irwin Lodge

Old Irwin Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Irwin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Irwin Lodge
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have stayed at The Old Irwin Lodge 3 times as a base for fishing and sightseeing, and have always enjoyed our stay. The Bed and Breakfast lodge is superb and the rooms are immaculate. Dick and Debby Bottomley are very friendly, helpful and fun to be around. Their meals are wonderful. We now have advance reservations to go back twice next year to fish, sightsee and relax again. We can definitely highly recommend them and their inn. They are an exceptional husband and wife who run an exceptional B & B.
Karen and Jerry

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJSanDieg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 13 of 13 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was our first visit to the United States (from Malawi) and Old Irwin Lodge was outstanding for the sheer comfort, graciousness, and tranquility, and the truly delicious meals, but most of all for the kindness and hospitality of Dick and Debby.
I was particularly touched by Debby and Dick so freely agreeing to produce breakfast an hour earlier than usual so that we could make an early start for our next destination.
Long after we left, Debby remembered to send us the recipe for her wonderful Acini de Pepe Spinach soup. I could continue with many other acts of kindness and consideration which made this lovely lodge so special to us. We are supremely grateful for this wonderful memory.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The Old Irwin Lodge is a very lovely rustic and western style lodge in the valley. But it is all modern and updated! The rooms were impeccably clean and the bathrooms are all updated. Decorated with tons of stuffed animals, it really makes you feel like you are in the old west! The Lodge is away from the main road so it is very nice and peaceful. Dick and Debby were most definitely one of the highlights! They were so incredibly hospitable, awaiting our late arrival with a very friendly welcome. When we left we felt as thought we had known them forever! The meals were incredible, Debby does an amazing job in the kitchen and Dick kept us very entertained at mealtimes. Make sure that you eat dinner there at least one night and say hello to Rudy the friendly lab!
Honestly, there really isnt much in the area to do. If you plan to fish, or go horseback riding, be sure to make advance plans. However, the lodge is so relaxing and peaceful, I would be happy to just read in their cosy living room or enjoy some sun on the patio. Jackson is a pretty easy hourish drive away and makes for a nice day out. Victor is also a little drive away and is a nice place to go for lunch.
Would we come back? Absolutely! The lodge is so comfortable and homey, the hosts could not be more warm and hospitable and the location is so tranquil and peaceful!

Room Tip: We stayed in the snake river suite, the loft was a perfect space for an additional person. Unlike ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbug2688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

This is a gem of an inn, relatively new to area and geared for adults seeing luxurious hospitality. I had the opportunity to stay here over the memorial weekend for a flyfishing vacation with my cousin and we were delighted at the warmth and earnestness of the owner and his family. This is a spacious small hotel, painstakingly assembled in log construction, with separate quarters offering privacy, some private deck areas and incredible views. The interior has many cozy nooks and a central meeting area with roaring fireplace. Not to be missed is the diorama overlooking the room, built on the former cabins roof. The furnishing and decor are top notch and geared for those who can appreciate them historically and esthetically. The lodge serves a full breakfast tailored to your tastes, and four course evening dinners are offered at a very affordable cost. In fact, the whole stay is surprisingly affordable for the quality of service and accommodations.
The lodge would be an excellent choice for outdoorsmen, romantic couples, executive retreats, small adult gatherings, and photographic and art naturalists.

Room Tip: corner suites with privat fireplace and deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank topgum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

Although we only arrived late at night, we felt welcomed from the very first minute. Our flight to Jackson Hole was delayed and we had to eat something on the way. So it was 23:20 at night when we finally arrived at the lodge. But Sean and Bridget had waited patiently for our arrival. Our Suite was wonderful. Very tasteful, wonderful woodwork, great bed, very clean, and with a nice little patio to watch the sun go down.
Breakfast was just great, dinner on Saturday night just great with our names printed on the menue card.
Sean gave us very helpful suggestions about what to do during the day at Teton National Park. We followed all of them and had a wonderful day. Unfortunately we had to leave after 2 nights because the Lodge was fully booked. I would go back there any time again whenever we come back to Idaho.
Birgit and Pierre from Germany

Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank PB2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Old Irwin Lodge over Valentine's Day weekend this year, and we can't possibly say enough good about our stay.

We were welcomed Friday by Dick, the lodge owner. We were immediately struck by the beauty of the building and the surrounding landscape - pictures simply can't do it justice. The decor is very tasteful - perfect for a romantic getaway, but still Western enough for a summer fishing trip.

The Yellowstone suite was amazing. The giant vaulted ceiling, amazing natural wood finish, and the natural stone fireplace caught our attention first, followed by the artistic color scheme and the other nuances which made the room so charming. The room was completely spotless, bathroom included. The bubble tub in the bathroom was glorious after a day of skiing! The refrigerator was kept stocked with a variety of beer and iced tea, and the innkeeper had chocolates and a bottle of sparkling cider waiting for us.

Friday's dinner was spectacular - crab cakes for starters, sweetheart salad and incredible bread, filet mignon with Port reduction, roasted red potatoes, and grilled asparagus, followed by French apple pie a la mode with champagne and coffee. We had a window table overlooking the amazing scenery of Swan Valley. The table service was top-notch. This could easily be the best restaurant in the area, and even if you have other accommodations, I heartily recommend contacting the Lodge for dinner reservations. Saturday's dinner (pork tenderloin with peach sauce) was accompanied by live fiddle/bluegrass Valentine's Day music - very entertaining. Breakfast was excellent as well - the Eggs Benedict are wonderful.

I would go back anytime. Their prices are very reasonable considering the value received. I spent considerable time looking for a good B&B in the MT/ID area and this was perfect! The concierge service provided us with discount vouchers for our ski trip on Saturday as well. The staff truly puts maximum effort into making the stay perfect and personalizing the service.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bfpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Irwin Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Irwin Lodge

Address: 1591 Old Irwin Lodge, P.O. Box 187, Irwin, ID 83428
Location: United States > Idaho > Irwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Irwin
Price Range: $159 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Irwin Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Irwin Lodge is a premier destination Lodge located in beautiful Swan Valley, Idaho. On the fringe of Grand Teton and Yellowstone National Parks, many guests make Old Irwin Lodge their starting and ending points as they explore these magnificent national tresures. For fishing enthusiasts, the Lodge is located near the South Fork of the Snake River; home to world class fly-fishing. Fantastic views of the Caribou Mountains and its wildlife are right outside your window. We hope you come stay and relax at the Old Irwin Lodge! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing